We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room to improve”
Review of St James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St James Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Room to improve”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Checked in around 6 pm and there was a relatively long line with only one person at the front desk. Finally another person showed up to take care of the check in process. A group of us went to the bar for a drink. When we were ready to pay the bill, no service person was around. The bar tender was no where in sight.
The room was average on the small size. The hotel does not seem to be geared for business traveller. Breakfast was buffet style and there were enough severs to handle the breakfast period.

WiFi was spotty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FYL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. Please accept my apology for the delay you experienced in paying your bar bill. Unfortunately we had a member of staff absent on the day in question which did leave us a little short-staffed in the bar.

We do hope to see you again on your next trip to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    235
    131
    36
    20
See reviews for
74
231
63
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and wish we could have stayed longer, great location, friendly helpful reception staff, room on 5th floor was lovely, great decor and lovely comfy bed as for the towels they were the biggest and fluffiest ever!. Breakfast was great continental/full English buffet all you could want and more! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Emma

Your comments are very much appreciated and we hope to see you with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Even though I booked the hotel at the last moment, was given a lovely room although the view of the multi storey car park was not the best, closed the curtains and enjoyed the room. Spend some time in the bar the staff are friendly ordered dinner in the bar had an excellent meal even the chef asked if I was happy with my meal. Good value for money have made another booking for two nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurf186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for leaving your comments, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a stag party. Having been on a number of packaged stag parties in the past, I am alwasy a bit dubious about the standard of the hotel included. St James' was up there as one of the best I have ever staryed at. Individual rooms (crash pads!) were clean, comfortable and more than sufficient to help cure my hangover!

The staff were friendly whenever I had to interact with them (check-in, borrowing an iron, being served in the bar, etc!). And I found the breakfast to be a of a good standard - everything from cooked breakfast to cereal to continental. If you can not find something you like then you don't deserve to eat breakfast!

Would recommend for anyone wanting to stay in Notttingham. It is walking distance to the town centre and if you are going out of town, reception will knfly organise you a taxi!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ShedwinMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for leaving your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We checked in quite late as we had attended a wedding earlier in the day. We had only booked the room an hour before arrival over the phone but the receptionist showed no recognition of speaking with us. We checked in and asked where was nearby that we could go for a drink and she gave us a few directions. The room was small but comfortable, decor is a relaxing colour but not done to the best standard. We put our things in the room and headed straight out.
On our return, as we had such a long day, we pretty much just went straight to bed. I slept ok considering how hard the mattress was. When I woke in the morning I thought that the bottom sheet wasn't very comfortable, then thought nothing more of it until I was getting ready and noticed that there was actually no bottom sheet on the bed at all! We had actually slept on a dirty mattress protector!!!!! We hadn't noticed the night before as we had switched the light off to climb into bed, and why would you think to check?!?!
Upon checking out the receptionist asked if everything had been ok to which I replied actually no.......
I explained the problem and she uncomfortably apologised and said she would speak to housekeeping, which is no help to me when I've come for a nice night away and slept in a dirty bed - Disgusting!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynseyloula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Lynsey

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

With regards to your comments relating the sheet on your bed, when our housekeeping team came to service your room after your departure they did also notice that the mattress protector was visible. On inspecting the duvet it would appear that on getting into bed after returning from the wedding you had peeled back the bed sheet along with the duvet and had therefore slept on the mattress protector. You have my guarantee that there was definitely a sheet on your bed.

I very much hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Recently renovated in central Nottingham location. Aspiring to compete with more chic hotels. Curious silver and purple decor combination but don't let put you off. Staff helpful and accommodating. Booked via Laterooms so keenly priced. Many thanks.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenWaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the St James on your next visit to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

2nd stay at this hotel,although it has been renamed and refurbished since the 1st occasion. Easy to find with parking at £8 a night next door. Our room was spacious and stylish. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very close to Nottingham Castle and 5 minutes walk from the Old Market Square and Lacemarket. Ample buffet breakfast . Would be happy to stay here again. Some rooms overlook a multi-storey car park which is lit all night. Suspect they can see you as easily as you can see them.

Room Tip: Request not overlooking multi-storey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hepzibah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar S, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments, I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your second stay with us. We hope you will make it a 3rd stay next time you are visiting Nottingham.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 49 in Nottingham
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Property: St James Hotel
Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing