We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Hotel”
Review of St James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St James Hotel
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed just one night for my granddaughters graduation. Room was clean, comfortable and very stylishly decorated. There was even a perfumed spray for your pillow to help you sleep. Staff were helpful and friendly. There was a wide choice of breakfast foods with self service continental and the option of full English. My only concern was that the bacon was somewhat dried up. I would certainly stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Gordon

Thank you for your comments, I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile in terms of complimentary sleep spray and water in every room.

I will pass on your comment regarding the bacon to our Chef!

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Attended my son,s wedding reception at the Hotel and also stayed overnight. I must say the attention to detail for the wedding reception was outstanding and no issue was a problem. My granddaughter who had travelled from Melbourne Australia with the family for the wedding, was not happy with her meal and a suitable replacement was presented very quickly with no fuss and produced a smiley face!
The Hotel decor was very new and a modern design. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast choice was very extensive and the staff were excellent, particularly the receptionist whom I believe originated from Grasse, France.
Well done St James Hotel, I would have no hesitation in recommending any visitor to Nottingham to try it and enjoy the experience for themselves.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the Hotel would probably be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Thomas

Ob behalf of all the team at St James I would like to thank you very much for your kind words, they are very much appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your experience of the hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had two night stay at St. James Hotel. Check in was very efficient & staff very polite. Dropped luggage to our rooms. Bedrooms were very clean & comfortable. We went to bar for food. Service was very slow & there was a lot of confusion as to whether the kitchen was open for food or not.
Breakfast was ok. Grill Food was cold & very greasy. Good variety of cereals & pastries.
Hotel decor is very modern, up to date & different to the typical hotel look.
The hotel is in a great location with shops, restaurants, bus stops & services only few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and I am glad you had a comfortable stay with us.

Please accept my apology if you found the cooked breakfast offering to be greasy, the vast majority of comments relating to breakfast have been very positive over the past few months. I will certainly pass on your comments to our Chef.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had the St James as our wedding venue after being massively let down by our original one. Pat and Gary couldn't do enough for us to make our day very special. The rooms are lovely and service and food was spot on. Gary stayed til the last person went to bed just as he said he would....I think it was 2.30 am - and yes that was us!

I would highly recommend the St James in Nottingham. And we will most definitely be back.

Pat and Gary, you did the hotel, yourselves and us very proud.

Elaine Crawford (Scotney)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean-Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Elaine

I am really glad we were able to help you out after the issues with your previous venue and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which I will ensure is passed to the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Simple over night stay turned out to be an excellent choice.
Staff were friendly, very helpful and really professional.
Bar & breakfast area pleasant and clean.
Single rooms were just what I would expect, bathroom and bed linen were spotlessly clean.
Excellent vaue!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 195five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest

Your comments are very much appreciated. Please do come and see us again when you are next in town.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed two nights in standard double room. Good hotel for price with breakfast. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Foyer and bar very good decor. Room had been refurbished but have to agree with other review positioning of toilet an issue as was the toilet seat in room 416. A definite squash whilst sitting on the toilet. Shower very powerful. No view from bedroom at all, just backs of buildings but didn't come for picturesque view. All is ok with hotel if you literally need somewhere to crash for the night as we did. Not luxury for relaxing in room but it served our purpose. Great location though for seeing Nottingham.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Sue

Thank you very much for your comments, it's good to see that you had a comfortable stay with us and we hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent a night at St James Hotel. Easy parking, near to castle, easy walk into town for shopping. Near to three good resteraunts. Newly refurbished. Good value for money. Free glass of wine in bar. Breakfast good. We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Madeleine

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £55 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing