We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy but comfy”
Review of St James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St James Hotel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in its previous incarnation (the Rutland Square). Since then it has been given a complete makeover as a rather trendy 'boutique' property (there is a big suite on the top floor that celebrities visiting Nottingham like to use - Bob Geldorf last week). The lobby and bar area are amazingly decorated, the breakfast room is all white. Upstairs the rooms have been refurbished, but remain the same size (which means rather small for the standard rooms), though adequate for a short stay. Someone boobed in the bathroom, where the sink curvature prevents the toilet lid/seat from staying up. As others have said its close to Market Sq, but a stiff uphill climb . Plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood. Friendly staff. The boiler failed on our last night, so no hot water in the morning (but it was one of the hottest days of the year, so perhaps a cold shower was a good idea). They did give us a partial refund.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms seem to be smallerthan the een numbered on the other side of the corridor. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miketap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback, it's good to see you had an enjoyable stay with us. Now the refurb is complete we will be undertaking a full snagging process which will include items such as the toilet seat in certain rooms as you have mentioned.

Please accept my apology for the lack of hot water the morning you departed, it was an issue beyond our control.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I last stayed in this hotel when it was the Rutland Square Hotel. To say it has had a makeover is a massive understatement. The entrance hall is spectacular. The bling is toned down in the bedrooms, which are clean, fresh, and pleasing. The bed was firm and the linen good quality. Toiletries were provided as was a spray of perfumed sleeping potion. WiFi was free throughout. I didn't take any meals, so can't comment on the dining room. Location is central. A slight niggle is that my room was above a generator which hummed until midnight. I didn't hear it when the window was closed, but I would have liked some air in the room overnight. I got a good price via a booking site and so I felt I had a superb bargain. I would recommend this hotel to tourists and business people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments. We have had a few reviews now from guests who knew the hotel under its previous guise and everyone has been genuinely amazed at the transformation.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

St. James hotel is probably one of the best situated in Nottingham as its literally a 5 minute walk from the town square centre. it's surrounded by pubs and eateries as well as nightclubs of various descriptions, it's genuinely a perfect location.

When me and my partner arrived there was some apprehension as we are a same sex couple which can always prove a little bit interesting. No dramas, no fuss which is always pleasant to see. Pleasant receptionist informed us we had been upgraded completely free of charge and handed over the room key, told us it was on floor 4.

The lobby and the restaurant area are incredibly well decorated. Though the facility isn't huge, it's tastefully designed and feels considerably more up market than the price we paid would suggest. When you go upstairs to the floors of rooms it feels slightly less up market as the corridors are narrow and a little dark. It's partially the fault of being a grade listed building but it's something to take note of as it does affect the way the hotel feels.

When we found the room and entered we were both very much surprised. The decorating is tasteful and pleasant, the bed was a good size and very comfortable. The upgrade extends the room outward and provides a little seating area; the extra space was definitely worth it. I suspect normal rooms could be considered on the small size but again this can't be that surprising given the age of the building. The bathroom was well equipped with all sorts of complimentary items. A tasteful tea set as well as a nespresso coffee machine was placed on the desk that bordered the room near one side of the bed. All in all they'd thought of everything possible in the room and it was a genuinely pleasant place to sit.

There are only two criticisms I could level against the room which is why I have given a 4 star rating rather than 5. Since the building is the age it is and design the rooms are not air conditioned. In normal circumstances this would be perfectly fine but at the time of writing the heatwave we are suffering was felt. They'd helpfully placed a fairly powerful fan in the room but a fan can only do so much. The other little teeny tiny niggle is that there was some slightly shoddy paintwork near the door, looked like someone had slipped. Genuine nit picking there a you barely notice it though.

All in all I would gladly stay there again and was thoroughly impressed. Both I and my partner loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. When they arent busy they have a habit of upgrading your room, we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ciaran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Kieran

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am really glad to see we were able to upgrade your room and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do visit us again when you are next in town.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

A group of friends stayed for a night. The room was nice and clean. Decor was stylish and fresh. The room was a little hot but had a pedestal fan provided. Breakfast in the morning was buffet style, very tasty and fresh. Staff were pleasant. The location was great for heading in to the city centre and is walkable from the train station. Recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Adam

Thanks for taking your time to leave your comments, I am glad to see you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to St James in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The location is great - within walking distance of the train or bus stations and very near the castle and restaurants. The front desk staff did a fast and efficient check in and out. The bed was comfortable, but the room was very small as you could not turn the desk chair even sideways between the bed and desk.The bathroom was OK with the exception of the toilet paper holders jabbing you in the side, no hand soap and poor lighting near the mirror. There was no air conditioning - which I am sure is not a problem on most occasions - but was hot with only a floor fan in the room. The 19" tv had very poor selections, no sports channel or news channel. the wifi was good and free. The bar area was boring. The fake fire on the tvs was part of the eclectic theme for the boutique hotel - which included some pretty crazy looking decorations around the lobby.

Improve the tv choices/screen size, include hand soap, move the toilet paper holder, and look at the desk chair size.

The highlight of this hotel is the breakfast and especially the breakfast staff. The presentation of the food was the best I have ever encountered. The food was very good - including pineapple juice! The staff there was very hospitable and happy to help with any request. The highlight of my stay was the breakfast staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank engineer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We certainly acknowledge that our Crash Pads are small in size and hence they are priced accordingly to give the cost conscious traveller a cost effective option with all the same amenities such as complimentary water, free WIFI, Hypnos double bed, tea/coffee making facilities etc that you will find in all our room types.

We are currently looking into the channel selection on the TV's which currently features all the Freeview channels.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the quality of our breakfast offering and the service you received.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a difference a year makes!. We have stayed at St James Hotel (used to be Rutland Hotel) for the past 5 years - our husbands go to Cricket and us girls shop. The tired, but clean Rutland has been transformed into a very stylish modern boutique hotel. The staff, who have always been helpful and friendly are even more so,( would make a mention of Garry in the Breakfast room, what a helpful guy, nothing was too much trouble. ) The Breakfast and specials were definitely 5 star. Our room was very modern, 5 ft bed, immaculate bathroom and even lavender spray for the pillow which was a really nice touch. This is a very friendly hotel and someone has paid a lot of attention to the detail of the newly made over St James' Hotel and it shows.

Parking is easy and if you want to shop, walk down the hill and there you are in a super friendly town with great shops.
This is a lovely hotel in a quiet position, yet close to the shops and restaurants and I highly recommend - and we will be back next year.
The only reason I didnt give the hotel a 5 rating( and I so wanted to) was that we had rooms on floors 5 and 6 and they were so hot.(it was a very hot and sunny weather when we were there) and yes a fan was provided in one room and the other had aircon, but you cant sleep with these on and the windows were difficult to get to and open.

Room Tip: A good room would be to ( in hot weather) avoid rooms on floors 5 and 6 which are in the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annienairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Annie

It's great that you have been able to experience the hotel both pre and post refurbishment to witness the transformation that has taken place.

Thank you very much for all your kind words and I will make sure Gary is aware of his special mention.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed just one night for my granddaughters graduation. Room was clean, comfortable and very stylishly decorated. There was even a perfumed spray for your pillow to help you sleep. Staff were helpful and friendly. There was a wide choice of breakfast foods with self service continental and the option of full English. My only concern was that the bacon was somewhat dried up. I would certainly stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Gordon

Thank you for your comments, I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile in terms of complimentary sleep spray and water in every room.

I will pass on your comment regarding the bacon to our Chef!

Kind regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 41 in Nottingham
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing