We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family pub but suffers from rough customers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ferry Boat Inn

Ferry Boat Inn
Ranked #599 of 1,403 Restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family pub but suffers from rough customers”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The ferry boat is on the river in the little village of Stoke Bardolph.

The village can suffer from unpleasant smells from a local animal food factory.

The pub is a nice old building which sometimes floods. It has a garden with kids swings and slides etc and a 'wacky warehouse' (paid entry).

Food is very cheap and typical pub grub so ok.

Unfortunately this attracts a bit of a rough crowd, a lot of whom smoke so if you don't like that give it a swerve.

Overall ok.

Helpful?
Thank RosscoPColtraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    35
    16
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“good food, at a cheap price”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

visited this place 4 times now, great for familys like ourselves with young children, good priced food, and good outside areas for the kids to play whilst waiting for food, the staff all seem ok, i have had 3 really nice meals, unfortunately on our last visit on easter sunday, my meal was served within 10 minutes and was the worst meal ever, it seemed to be a reheated burger which was that bad it actually made me ill that night. i dont know if we will return here again now after that, even so i have rated this as VERY GOOD, due to the last meal which i had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank son1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mr weston”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

we visited this pub on 21st April when I first approach the bar to ask for a menu the barman seemed rude when I asked for menu! We then ordered our meal but there were 4 of us and admitted the orders didn't go in together but my husband was waiting for a soup which came out at the same time as the meal when he complained he was very rude!!! not bad when he had over £50 of our money over the bar plus half way through the meal he came to clean up the table next to us which he used a very strong cleaning fluid which was very affensive while you are eating would not return!!! Don't go there

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Gary W

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Ferry Boat Inn with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over cooked food and zero customer service”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I visited the ferryboat today. It was relatively quiet. We ordered our food the starter came and was very nice. Our mains however were terrible we ordered two mixed grills one medium one medium well. Both were well done!luke warm and tasteless. My partners egg was severely under cooked was like goo! Tried to get someones attention but failed. We sat for 45 minutes and no one came to clear our plates or ask if everything was ok. On a whole we definitely wont be visiting this place again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trisha4929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Nice Food but place needs a good clean outside”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We called in here while sailing down the river and saw the pub on the side and thought we would stop for a drink and some lunch. Not as easy as you would expect, there is a mooring area but nowhere to actually tie up your boat, we ended up tying up to a tree. For a very small investment they could make it so much more accessible by having some rings screwed into the mooring areas. We nearly carried on going but decided to give it a go. The food inside was of a good standard, no complaints there at all, the staff were ok and the tables were all clean and ready for use.

The ladies toilets had no locks on them and no paper so they obviously don't have much in the way of standards in that area which does make me question what are the standards of hygiene like throughout the rest of the establishment. The outside looks drab and dreary and every window is covered in cobwebs and dirt. C'mon, how much effort is needed to wash a few windows once in a while, put some effort into this place and I am sure that it will attract a lot more regular custom from passing river trade, us boaters are always on the lookout for a nice place to moor up and have a refreshing drink. I am not sure we will call in again even though we will be passing by there quite frequently.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferry Boat Inn also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
West Bridgford, Nottingham
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Ilkeston, Derbyshire
Beeston, Nottingham
 

Been to Ferry Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing