We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room service ever. Parking is a pain. Smoking rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Nottingham
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best room service ever. Parking is a pain. Smoking rooms.”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Had superior room on a good deal, smoking room. In the middle of the one way system, a real pain if you don't know the city. Set the sat-nav for St James car park, the hotel is opposite. Room service for the PanAsian restaurant on-site was excellent. Standard RS menu is very boring and LDL laden. Room service breakfast with excessive rom charge was late and not good value. Superior room on first floor, next to the very noisy air conditioners on the roof outside. Hotel must be aware because on my 2nd night, there were earplugs provided!
Nice touch - chocs, and nibbles provided on arrival, shame they weren't either cleared away or replaced for the second night.
Efficient reception. In room wifi expensive, but free with purchase of a drink in reception area. I had a reduced rate.

Room Tip: Rooms good, if you manage to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BloodSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Room service from our award winning Chino Latino Restaurant.

We do offer a Valet Parking service as well as the option to park at the NCP, our guests can pull up their car on St James Street and a Valet driver will be available to park your car in a privately owned car park.

We are one of the very few Hotels who offer smoking rooms in Nottingham I am pleased that you were glad to have one although they are all located on the first floor.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    591
    375
    215
    141
See reviews for
186
670
99
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stay from Sunday, 13 January 2013 - 14 January 2013. Room 414:
Outdoor temperature in Nottingham around 0 degree Celsius - inside room temperature very similar to that.
Nearby the bed I noticed two pairs of ear plugs - not knowing what that could mean. When it came to sleep I learnt the lesson.

Very noisy room (main road, windows obviously not closing air tightly). More noise even occurred from the air condition fan - which stopped from time to time and needed to be switched on manually from time to time again.
I decided not to use ear plugs. I had to get up early and I needed to hear the sound of my alarm clock.

Bathroom was not connected to AC - taking a shower was really a challenge.
During the next day AC was operated permanently at 30 degrees Celsius (a hotel's spare card needed to be inserted into the room's main electric device) - the bathroom still was cold.
If you like adventure trips - stay at Park Plaza Nottingham.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was sorry to hear that you did have a great stay with us due to the temperature and location of room.
During the winter months we have made every effort to make our guests feel comfortable and warm. By doing this we have been pre-carding bedrooms on occasions when it is so cold outside so that our rooms are much warmer upon arrival. I am sorry if this was not the case for you on your first night and I hope that your second night was more comfortable as you mentioned you left the key in all day.
In terms of the allocation of room, please contact me directly as you did not find this room to be suitable for you. I can update you details to ensure you get a quieter location on your next stay.
Kind Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Room was spacious and clean, with good shower and easily controlled room temperature. Location very central. good variety at breakfast. also has gym on site which was good enough for short. Will use again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the hotel. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our modern and spacious bedrooms as well as our breakfast and our facilities.
As you enjoyed the location as well I trust we will be seeing you again.
Once again thank for your review
Best wishes
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Well located and well presented. Near to trams links. Large room/ large en-suite with clean towels and plenty of hot water. Very clean and remarkably quite considering city centre location. No actual parking at the hotel but valet availble and there is subsidised 24 hour parking availble in a secure car par literally 50 meters away. Staff are polite, courteous and happy to help.

My only (hypercritical) criticism. Old style TV, no freeview. That aside still highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imelda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your lovely review
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel and you found the Hotel to be in a good location and the staff to be courteous and polite.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon.
Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Paid 65 got a basic room as was working in Nottingham
Hotel is on maid Marian way, don't drive too fast as if you miss it you'll have to go all the way down to broad marsh roundabout to come back
No parking. When checking in you have to put the car on hazards on a busy dual carriageway and hope you don't get a ticket
Valet offered at 15 quid expensive but easy they also discount on the local ncp 8 quid I think per 24 hours
Didn't eat there as my rate was room only they seem to plug their restaurant a lot no idea how good or bad it is
Room
Tiny really small. I could have touched either side of the room walls from lying in the bed
A little dated, old tv and curtains that didn't work too well there was a really annoying gap in the window so the room was freezing
Saying thattherecwas a air con and heater that worked a treat the pillows were awesome and I had a great sleep
Complimentary ear buds I was next to the lift shaft and never needed then which I was surprised about as I normally get really over sensitive over stuff like that but it was not an issue
Overall a great location but if I was on a romantic stay or with a partner it would have been far to small and dated - lone male travellers fine and check in out was gone although out could have been quicker

O yea one more thing
The bathroom room was about 12 inches from the end of my bed, not a problem but the bathroom door was made of frosted glass - so early morning light came right through and shon on me waking me up from a great night sleep pretty stupid design considering there are black out blinds on the window but no protection on the bathroom door - so it cancels each other out

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your review
It is fair to stay we have some rooms smaller than others. Just a tip if you stay with us again, although it is tricky to pull up outside because of the bus lane restrictions you can always pull into St James street for the Valet service which is easier and you will feel less rushed.
I am please you found the room to of a comfortable temperature and the pillows were comfortable.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon.
Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Good location, got a good deal through LateRooms (half price - to be fair wouldn't have liked to have paid £90), nice big room and modern bathroom with free shower gel/shampoo. Shame about the noise from the street, but that comes with the location I suppose! Minibar extremely overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirteen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your review
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and you found the location of the Hotel to be good and the rooms to be spacious. We can’t hide the fact that we are a city centre Hotel and can incur some noise from the streets nearby. When booking with us again please request for a quiet location and we will endeavour to meet your needs.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon.
Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids UK
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The Good:
Reduced price parking at local NCP Multi Storey (Cost £17.43 for 2 days)
Food at evening event
Bar - great atmosphere
Service - friendly & professional
Meeting facilities - good rooms and coffee & snacks outside
The Bad:
Car Park is across a dual carriageway. I know Nottingham quite well, but it is not easy to find. Put 'Rutland Street' in the sat nav and you will get to it. Although discounted, I still resent paying to park when I stay at a hotel.
Bedroom had no proper cutains, just the net ones and I think when you have the lights on people can see in, so that felt uncomfortable even though I was on a higher floor.
Although the bathroom was nice enough, the room was nothing special at all.
There is a building site next to the hotel, so it is a bit of a mess there at the moment

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities at the Hotel and you found the team to be friendly and professional.
I am sorry to hear that you struggled to find the NCP car park; we do offer a valet service a driver is available until 10pm to take away your car to a privately owned secure car park charges of £15 per night do apply so the NCP is the cheaper option.
in terms of the curtains some guests think we do not have curtains, only net in the room but we do in fact have black out curtains at the back of the net curtains.
There is a building site next to the hotel at present which is causing no disruption to guests at present, the positive to this is that once the project is complete we will inherited some parking of our own for the Hotel.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon.
Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.1 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#18 of 49 in Nottingham
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Nottingham

Property: Park Plaza Nottingham
Address: 41 Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6GD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nottingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing