We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Nottingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Nottingham
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place in Nottingham”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Park Plaza. It was central to all things. Wasy to get to my office, easy to see the sights and close to many pubs! The people were super nice and the amenities were great. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your review
I am pleased to hear that you that you enjoyed your stay in the Hotel and enjoyed its location. Its great to here you found the team to be friendly and that you will be staying with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    588
    368
    214
    138
See reviews for
185
663
98
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

park plaza is in a great location just a five minute walk and you are in the centre of the city full of shops, bars and places to eat and drink! The hotel itself is modern, clean welcoming and the staff are so helpful and approachable. You get reduced parking in the ncp across the road. Rooms are spacious and have all your needs, tea making facilities a stocked fridge tv ,wifi, clean towels and bathroom and comfortable bed. Could not fault this hotel and breakfast was very good with ample choice. If I had to pick fault it would be that there was no toilet brush!! enjoyed our stay there immensely and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your review
It was pleasing to read your review of our Hotel and to know that you enjoyed our faculties. It is also nice to share your kind words about the team where you found them to be helpful and approachable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon
Kind Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for one night, and have to say I was disappointed. Lady at reception spoke so quickly and with such a strong accent, we had to ask her to keep repeating everything. Room was small although bathroom was nice. Out look from room on floor 6 was of a building site! Bed was comfortable but just felt whole look of the hotel was a bit shabby. Hall carpets were dirty and furniture in our room was marked and a bit scuffed. I would say the room was clean, but I wouldn't have wanted to stay longer than a night. Breakfast was good, but not outstanding and again felt the restaurant needed a bit of t.l.c. I do feel this hotel is trying very hard to be modern and chic, but the standard isn't quite there. I wouldn't recommend this hotel, as I feel in Nottingham there are better hotels which offer better value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superbabe381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay and our Hotel did not live up to your expectations in terms of product we are awaiting for our capital plan to be approved and we hope to be able to rectify the concerns you raised in your review.
I do hope that you felt our service was a positive experience and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future
Kind Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We used this hotel for a business meeting as our usual hotel was booked up and this is the other option for our client. As a couple travelling for business and both working, we sometimes book a suite to give us both space to work at the same time. We were allocated a large suite which did indeed give us plenty of space, but sadly not great space.
The bathroom door did not close due to the handle being broken. There was both a bath and a shower - great - but no properly hot water in either on any day of our stay. A separate "extra" loo was nice - but it should have a handbasin too.
The heating was strange - we did manage to get the two rooms warm - but it was a noisy process! And we never got the bathroom warm, which coupled with the lukewarm water was not a joy.
The sofas in the second room were pretty solid - we both jolted as we sat down first time. I think they would pull out to make sofabeds in a family room - which would probably work very well (we've travelled a lot with kids) - but to sit on as sofas were fairly dire.
We paid for a package with internet and "treats" - and yes, it was nice to have some wine and nibbles, but I'd rather have had hot water!
It was also fairly noisy at night unfortunately, although it was nice to be able to open the windows if we had needed to, one would not have left them open unless a very sound sleeper! The room was also near the lifts, which I had been concerned about, but that didn't seem to be too bad.
Breakfast was OK - standard for this type of hotel.
So all in all, I won't be transferring from our usual hotel - sorry.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMJ630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am very sorry to hear your review of our Hotel; I will certainly be looking into the review with our team and actioning these points appropriately.
We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Should you wish to discuss your review further then please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Firstly let me state I am not a picky reviewer, I have happily stayed in all sorts of hotels and B&Bs at various prices.
I stayed with the Park Plaza six years ago and found it to be rather pleasent, I booked directly and feel this may make a difference.

I booked this stay via booking.com, unfortunately I had a bereavement, and booking.com I booked it on a Sunday Morning and the bereavement happened literally within 30 mins after, I wanted to let the hotel know asap and I have to say when I explained the situation to the booking.com advisor they were very helpful and attempted to negotiate an alternative date or a refund Firstly there reservations manager wasn't working that day so the time element was lost, and the booking.com advisor would have to wait until Monday to speak to someone who was capable of handling the booking.

As promised he tried and I got an email on Monday saying despite several attempts Park Plaza refused any refunds or amendments, I emailed park plaza directly and was told because I ticked a box theres nothing I could do. Then the money was taken directly from my account anyway so that was the end of that.

I arrived the reception the staff were welcoming, though there was a queue.
The room was a little cramped and extremely stuffy, the aircon only blew warm air so we were forced to open the windows. The bed was very comfortable and an a chiller and wine glasses were provided which is a handy idea and the ice machines provided a nice touch.

Earplugs were provided but that did not drown out the noise of the drunks outside or the lift going up and down all night long, even when we shut the windows the noise was awful. we both got 2 hours sleep the room was literally above the drunken alley full of fights.

The Breakfast option was £15.50 for a continental which I feel is a bit steep, particularly when the competition in the local area is so good, we just headed out.The restaurant was Latin which didn't really appeal. Wifi is provided but you have to yet again ring for a code, it would be better if the code is provided in your room.

I was disappointed with our stay before and after our arrival mostly due to the location of the room,

Room Tip: Stay at the Brittania ! If you HAVE to stay hear make sure you are NOT near the alley ! you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsjojustjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review
I am very sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay at Park Plaza Nottingham I understand you have been in touch with our Reservations department. We have many flexible options to book rooms at our Hotel and unfortunately we were unable to or change your booking due to the terms and conditions you agreed.
I am pleased to hear that you were able to stay with us in the end and found the Reception team to be friendly it’s also nice to hear you found the beds to be comfortable you liked the ease of getting your own Ice from the machine nearby.
I do hope that you will stay with us again and that you choose to dine in our award winning and Rosette Restaurant. I have added to your booking that you require a room on the opposite side of the building.
Kind Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Loved this hotel, amazing large spacious room with king size bed where I wouldn't have touched the other guest lol it was that big!
Bathroom absolutely massive,only downside is the frosted door which is a little see through,so not really private!
We got a high floor room so less noisy. Breakfast was included,we paid £85 for an upgraded room with breakfast and breakfast was awesome,lots of choice.
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room...worth it for the extra space and king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k3lk3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you liked our Hotel and you took advantage to upgrade your room too and receive the extra benefits.
It’s great to know that you enjoyed the variety at Breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again.
Kind Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Sunday 12th November as we were going to Rock City to see Gary Numan in concert. First impressions are good and the reception staff are very efficient, the receptionist found my booking from lastminute.com in a few seconds as they had not forwarded the booking to the Park Plaza.
We had a superior room on the 3rd floor, the windows overlooked the main dual carriageway outside. Yes, there was some road noise but it wasn't a problem, and the ear plugs supplied in the room were not needed. The room was spacious, clean and well laid out. Good king sized bed, plenty of power sockets, iron and ironing board and a mini bar. Wifi was available in the room but I didn't need it.
The breakfast in the Chino Latino restaurant was very good, the range of hot food was superb - the sausages were excellent.There was a selection of pastries, fruit, cold meats and juices. They also have a decent toaster as well.
We got a discount on the parking as we had parked in the St James Street car park, so parking for 24hrs was £9.00. For a one night stay in Nottingham this hotel was ideal, I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If road noise is a problem, then ask for room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the front desk team to be efficient in dealing with your Reservations via Lastminute.com. Thank you for your great comments about our Breakfast I will share your comments with them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Nottingham

Property: Park Plaza Nottingham
Address: 41 Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6GD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nottingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing