We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chaotic breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Nottingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Plaza Nottingham
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chaotic breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Good location, perfect for shopping and enjoying a lively night out at Nottingham. Room very clean good quality bedding and excellent comfort and bathroom. However breakfast was expensive and very busy, we felt rushed, tea arrived too late, no sausages and cramped tables. Good choice if it had been fully stocked.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
I appreciate your feedback regarding our Breakfast and regret to hear that it did not meet our usual high standards. I have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage Manager to address with the team how they can conduct the Buffet more efficiently at busy times.
We do hope that you will stay with us again with the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    559
    355
    203
    126
See reviews for
169
615
92
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

5 minutes walk from Market Square and restaurants/bars. Modern exterior and helpful and polite staff. Room was on the 9th floor and very quiet even though the hotel is on a main road. Bed was comfy and there was ironing board, iron, tea making facilities and toiletries. Breakfast was really good,cooked breakfast, cereals, pastries and fruits. One of Nottingham's better hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. It’s nice to hear feedback especially when a competitor is mentioned. I will share your review with the team to show they are doing a great job.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was a very pleasant stay, good sizes twin room, clean with good power shower. The reason I have not given it 5* is because I do believe there could be improvements with the breakfast, in particular the quality of the sausages. However, if you are fortunate enough to be welcomed by Janet for breakfast you are assured of outstanding customer service, especially if she sees you have a physical disability.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor. It’s great to know that you had a very pleasant experience with us. I will share your feedback with Janet and ensure she is rewarded for a job well done.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the not too distant future

Kind Regards

Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The staff were very efficient and helpful. The hotel nice, big room. The breakfast was excellent.
The hotel had a modern feel. Although next to busy road it was quiet. It had air con. I'd use again. Top marks!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write on Trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and I will share your comments with the team.

We look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind Regards

Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent a weekend in Nottingham as my sister was attending a conference at the University. Our friend who lives locally recommend the hotel and I booked it online for a very reasonable price. The hotel was very central to restaurants, bars, Castle and Uni. The staff were helpful and friendly. We would just recommend the beds to be a bit firmer! We had a good stay though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 23leahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall experience at the Hotel and found the team to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind Regards

Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Park Plaza in Nottingham on a surprise birthday treat for my boyfriends birthday, visiting the Glee Comedy Club. The hotel staff were professional and friendly and our stay overall was lovely. The room we stayed in was on the older part of the hotel, it was large and clean but could do with a little TLC. We stayed in an executive Kingroom so I can't imagine we would of been happy with a standard double. The breakfast was amazing, lots of variety and a taste fry up with hashbrowns!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind review about your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and you had a great Breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards

Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

So first up I booked an 'Executive King room' - so I'd expect a King sized bed! Nope - I got two singles pushed/zipped together and made up as one bed. Now I wouldn't buy that at home as it's not as comfortable as a proper double bed so why should I be less comfortable whilst at a hotel. Hoteliers - I know this gives you more flexibility but PLEASE - if I order a 'king bed' I want a proper King bed! Think about your customers comfort before your convenience and flexibility!

Then the quality of the bed... I was in room 1008 and the bed had a small, but noticeable sag in it, that made for an uncomfortable, sore back night with various restless patches as I tried to find a comfy position. Also the pillow were huge square things which actually made sleeping on them a big awkward - I've no idea why they have square pillows but it didn't work for me.

So all in all a bit of an uncomfortable, tiring night. The one substantial offsetting factor was that the room was just under £70 for the night (inc breakfast) so it was pretty cheap. Unfortunately I don't care how little I paid if I couldn't get a good night sleep... Hence the rating.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tott123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelT T, Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
I am sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important. Thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Kind Regards
Rachel Thacker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.1 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Nottingham

Property: Park Plaza Nottingham
Address: 41 Maid Marian Way, Nottingham NG1 6GD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nottingham
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Park Plaza Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing