We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Plaza Nottingham
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Nottingham(Nottingham)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
P and J Hotel(Nottingham)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Nottingham Centre(Nottingham)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre(Nottingham)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Nottingham West Hotel(Nottingham)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Nottingham South Hotel(Nottingham)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,086)
Filter reviews
2,086 results
Traveller rating
625
661
413
227
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
661
413
227
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschino latinomini bargood sizecentral locationsuperior roommarket squarean upgrademain roadsaturday nightbusy roadbars and restaurantscomfy bedfull englishstayed here for one nightcooked breakfastgood nights sleepncp
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,896 - 1,901 of 2,086 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Where to start? Ok, firstly it is fronted by a bus lane and is bounded by roads on the other two sides that have double yellow lines; the net result is that there is nowhere to set-down or pick-up unless you want to risk the traffic wardens. The nearest NCP Car Park is approximately 100m away across a dual carriageway.

On arrival we were hit by two things immediately - the smell of deep fat frying and the free-standing electric heaters spread arpound the lobby with four Spanish guests huddled around the largest one trying to stay warm. Looking behind the desk at check-in the leather-look wall looked loke it had suffered the attention of a glacier moving downhill at its peak! Oh, and the restaurant was closed until the New Year, something nobody had bothered to tell us about despite having booked in October.

The room was ready even though we were some two hours early but this was probably due to there being very few people in residence rather than any efficiency on the part of the staff (more later)!

Lifts were good and speedy. The room was large, smelt of something vaguely unpleasant but was well equipped though quite tired. The bathroom was very nice but let down by the fact that there were only three towels with no hand towels at all, no heated towel rail so damp towels were the only choice in the morning and a broken holder for the secondary shower attachment (for washing hair whilst having a bath). In the bedroom there was only a single pillow (small) per person and no other pillows or other supplementary bedding as is usually found in a 4 star hotel.

Following some sales shopping we arrived back at the hotel at around 4 p.m. The young girl on the desk was 'covering' for the duty receptionist and could not tell us where the bar was!!! When the receptionist did arrive we were then told that the bar was closed though we could sit in the lobby, with previously mentioned heaters, and enjoy a limited service; we declined.

Finally, after having dinner out and a show, we returned to find the reception unmanned and with no means of summoning a receptionist/concierge/security.

Breakfast was bland and warm rather than fresh and hot and the chairs in the restaurant were designed to be contemporary rather than functional resulting in me slipping constantly (60's retro shiny plastic egg-shaped).

The icing on the cake was that we had to pay £101 for the pleasure despite the fact that the cost had subsequently reduced to £81 since booking.

Having stayed in the Crowne Plaza Nottingham previously, I can only regret booking the Park Plaza on this occassion and hope that others will avoid.

The cost of this

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ihatebeingrippedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajoynes, PA to General Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Thank you for the comments on your last stay.

The car parks on arrival are literally 200 yards across two pedestrian controlled roads where we have negotiated a reduction with the NCP at a cost of £5.00 for 24 hours or if you are after a bit of luxury then we have a valet car park which adjoins the hotel.

The restaurants opening hours could be found on all travel sites plus the hotels web site however please accept our apologies if this caused any inconvenience to your stay.

Preferences for extra towels and pillows etc are down to the individual traveller therefore a quick call to Reception would have dealt with this small inconvenience.

The Lobby is heated by the normal means however to ensure our guests comfort through what I’m sure is one of the coldest winters in many a year we hired some large heaters and hearing on the radio of local shops etc closing due to heating break downs we were happy we had done so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I have stayed at many hotels throughout the UK and this is one that delivers a high standard everytime. I stay here approximately 2 nights every 3 months and the rooms are always excellent with excellent beds and good service form the staff (with only one or two very small exceptions).

Great Restaurant!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FylHaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajoynes, PA to General Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Thank you for the kind comments regards your regular stays at the hotel it’s really great to hear such positive remarks. Please do let us know if you require anything adding to your profile that may make your stays even more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Very nice hotel with nice rooms and bathrooms are better than average to. My favourite part of it is the Cocktail bar and Asian restaurant next door that was simply sublime and although was expensive was well worth the money. Cannot wait to find myself there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreddieCH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajoynes, PA to General Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Thank you for the feedback regards the hotels multi award wining Chino Latino restaurant I will pass your comments on to the Chef’s who I’m sure will be happy to hear them so thank you for letting us know your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I expected a good quality hotel, having stayed at other park Plaza hotels before, but it is rubbish.
Booked for 2 nights but left after 1.

Very hot corridors, rooms etc- at least 27 DegC. Very noisy city centre location.

Room AC not working- advised hotel and they said they would fix, but it was already 10:30 pm so we left it to the morning- almost no sllep as it was so hot in the room, opened the windows but very noisy even on 9th floor- lots of bars locally, police cars, ambulances etc.

Hotel tried to double charge us for breakfast and interrupted our meal twice to warn us we had not paid for breakfast and it would be charged to our room. Later they apologised, but only after we had to prove we had pre-paid for breakfast when booking the room. Complained about hot room in the morning and they said would fix. Got back at 5pm and AC still not working- complained and got an engineer in who then owned up that this was a problem in the whole hotel because of the time of year or some other stupid ridiculous excuse and offered to move us to a "room at the back" where we could open the windows where it was not so noisy!

Breakfast was garbage anyway- powdered scrambled egg, rusk sausages- no cook for other eggs etc

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pugshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajoynes, PA to General Manager at Park Plaza Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2010

Thank you for the comments on your last stay, I was really sorry to hear your stay was not satisfactory R0ughneck.

The air-conditioning turns to heat this time of the year however due to the unseasonably warm weather this has been switched back to cooling this was done before you left however it does take time for it to power back up once switched over . Please accept our sincere apologies if this caused you any discomfort during the night.

The hotel is situated in the centre of Nottingham which for most people means extremely easy access to the centre of Nottingham and the surrounding area and in fact the train station is only 12 minute walk from the hotel or a short taxi ride away. The hotel is not suited to all as everybody has different needs when it comes to sleeping eating and general appeal and most hotels receive complaints regards the personal choice of the guest.

The breakfast is mostly local produce and the sausages in particular are high meat content we also serve wheat free and vegetarian sausages. The eggs are also local and are fresh and are most definitely not powdered, Chef is happy to cook breakfast to order all you have to do is ask on the day if you do not like what you see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Excellent. We found that all of our booking preferences had been listened to, and our room and breakfasts over the 2 nights was more than satisfactory. There was one breakfast tray that wasn't tidied away until the end of the day, but to be fair to the staff it was not left in a standard location. Really enjoyed, will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pr0fS0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews