We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably not again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, Jamaica
Level Contributor
1 review
“Probably not again”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

the staff were very helpful both at the time of booking and my arrival when I could not find my way through the rush hour traffic in an unfamiliar city, a lovely gentleman talked me through the directions over the phone. I had everything I had asked for a quiet room (well on the quiet side of the hotel as it is a busy nightlife area) not near the lift and a booked parking space on site. All was great in the room. however, as a lone female traveller I did not like the fact that there seemed to be a large number of men staying here and when I returned to the hotel after dinner with a friend felt the need to ask the porter to escort me to my room due to the large number of leery men hanging around at one end of the corridor to my room. The porter was very kind and reassuring and possibly due to his presence the men left the corridor area and I was able to access my room without them knowing which room I had gone to. this is not the fault of the hotel but I would not stay here alone again-it very much unsettled me.

Room Tip: ask for a room on "the quiet side of the hotel and away from the lift"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1waggaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    435
    189
    43
    19
See reviews for
135
367
83
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews on here I requested a quiet room which they said would be fine- it wasn't. The noise from outside is unbearable- dont come here if you want a decent night's sleep.

And the food is crap.

Definitely wouldn't recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dippy_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Nottingham is such a vibrant City and as such weekends are often very busy, unfortunately we have no control of noise made from outside the hotel.

I have checked with the Restaurant Team and Duty Manager and there was no mention of guest feedback regarding the Restaurant. If you could contact the hotel with the issues you had and I will of course look into them.

Cheers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Having stayed in various Ramada hotels in the past (Bristol and Swansea to name but two), we were very disappointed with our choice this time around in Nottingham. We had paid extra for the Executive Room but the room itself was much smaller than expected. No doors on the wardrobe. One dressing gown and one pair of slippers between two. The only excellent aspect was the shower room. Absolutely gorgeous and in pristine condition. Free Wi-Fi advertised and a separate code for each piece of equipment to be used - neither worked so I used my own data time. Will not be returning to Nottingham Ramada in the near future. Very disappointed. Our mood wasn't changed when we dealt with the staff on Reception - very curt when spoken to. Last but by no means least, the walls are paper thin - we heard a full conversation between the couple next door even though we had our television on. And the banging/knocking on someone's door at 6am is not our idea of a relaxing break. Sorry Ramada but in this case, could definitely do much better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Diddleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Kept up half the night as it was so noisy outside. Plastic mattress protector under sheet, felt like I was sleeping on tarpaulin, was horrible and the beds were so hard. When I checkout out I informed the receptionist that we were staying in tnottingham for the rest of the day and asked how this would affect the carpark charge. He said we just had to pay the 24 hr rate of £9.50 and that would cover us. When I tried to leave the car park after our day in nottingham I had to pau another £8.50 to leave. I asked for a reason. If I knew I would be charged extra I would havr re- parked in a cheaper carpark.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great location, can walk to everything from here. To ensure a parking space you need to book in advance. On arrival we were upgraded to the "apartment", great, two bedrooms, huge bathroom (enormous double bed) on one level, up some stairs to the sitting room and kitchen diner. What spoilt it for us was the fact that there is a nightclub across the road which rocked until the early hours, lots of noise, needs some secondary glazing to alleviate this. Got to sleep around 4am, bottles crashing into a skip three times from somewhere. Woken at 6.40am with a machine cleaning the pavement outside the nightclub/bar.

All staff we encounted were great, breakfast really good, if you book try to book a room at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaniusw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed quite a few times. Staff are pleasant and helpful, Food is good quality. Rooms are average but kept clean and presentable. One time I stayed and was kept awake most of the night as someone was crashing bottles into the bin, I spoke to reception who advised it was the restaurant next door and this was deemed as acceptable by the hotel. Since then I have requested to stay down the other side of hotel. Could offer more discounted rates on parking for hotel customers as parking is additional to room cost. This hotel is over priced for what it is 3 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Address: 17-21 Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5FW, England (Formerly Ramada Hotel Nottingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
#10 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus® Nottingham City Centre AA 4* puts you right at the heart of bustling Nottingham. A short walk away from major attractions, you will be a matter of minutes from pillow to point of interest. Nottingham Castle, the Royal Centre and Motorpoint Arena are all nearby, and a wide variety of shops, restaurants and entertainment options are just moments away. Each spacious, air conditioned room provides the comfort you need for a relaxing stay, complete with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen televisions with Sky Sports channels. Our delightful Conservatory Restaurant and Bar offers spectacular views overlooking the city and our full English breakfast buffet is the perfect way to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Nottingham
Nottingham Days Inn
Citilodge Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing