We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed in this Ramada Hotel for one night as I was attending a conference in the Crowne Plaza which was directly opposite. I chose the Ramada as the price was more in my price range than the Crowne Plaza so was expecting a fairly basic experience. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the Ramada was very welcoming, all the staff were friendly and cheerful, the bedroom was fairly small but a large bed and lovely hot shower. I was going to eat in the restaurant but it was a quite evening and didn't fancy sitting there by myself so I ordered food to my room (see pic). Lovely food, lots of good choice, I had the Mexican chicken burger with chips and salad and a cheesecake dessert. The breakfast was a help yourself buffet and was really nice, lots of choice. The only downside is the lack of onsite parking, but the talbot carpark is only round the corner (3 mins walk) and the hotel will give you a reduced price - I paid £9.50 for 24 hours!
Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyA1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
It was great to read your positive comments about the hotel.

The Bar and Restaurant is now fully open with the new menu.

Thanks Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    458
    200
    47
    22
See reviews for
149
392
87
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

All in all, a pleasant hotel for someone on a budget.

The rooms are a littled dated, and could use some modernising, however this doesn't stop it being comfortable. Nice big tv in our family room (of 3 beds), but the bed linen wasn't what I would call high standard... All 3 of the beds had crunchy plastic covers over them which was topped by a thin sheet, which caused for an fidgity (and noisy) attempt at sleep! One flat pillow provided on each bed and would have prefered a big plump one/two. The air con was pretty noisy, and didn't seem to make much difference to the room temperature, despite us leaving it on all night. The bathroom had two light switches, so you must remember to click both on unless you want to shower in the dark lol.

No room service after 11pm, even on a weekend..which we thought was a little poor. The hotel reception desk staff during the night were really appalling and unhelpful too when we called down and spoke to them.

I don't agree with having to pay extra to get good customer service, however in this instance, I doubt I'll be staying here again based on my review above.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pocket_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the review. We are constantly looking at ways to improve the Guest Experience so it’s great to get feedback directly from Guests.

After other feedback received regarding the Mattress protector we have moved to a different supplier and have received positive views so we will be rolling these out across the hotel.

Having such a great location in the centre of Nottingham and the wealth of Restaurants that offer delivery there hasn’t been a need for Room Service during the night. I am sorry if this affected your stay.

Regards Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The fabric of this hotel is best described as 'tired'. Although it's clear it's well-cleaned on a daily basis, some of it is just too old to look/seem clean and fresh.

Beds were comfortable, and the blackout curtains kept out the light really well. It's in the centre of town, so there is some noise from the street.

What shone through was the friendly staff. From check in, to the night staff who provide extra tea supplies, to the housekeeper that brought an extra towel, to the waitress at breakfast (who had our tea ready before we'd even served ourselves from the buffet and chosen a table!) everyone was genuinely friendly and keen to help.

The final and best service was after we had checked out when my husband disappeared to pick up the car from a nearby car park and got lost without his satnav or a map. I couldn't work it out from the hotel map, and Debbie Rider on reception (who'd warned him to be careful about getting lost before he left!) took my phone and patiently talked him through the Nottingham one way system from memory and navigated him back to pick up me and the luggage. She even offered to call him from the hotel if I was short of minutes on my mobile, which was really thoughtful. Thanks for going the extra mile, Debbie!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeToTravelAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ramada Nottingham.

It is through all of the reviews we receive that we get a real insight in to how the guests feel about the hotel and it gives us a wealth of information when planning how to improve the hotel in the future.

As you would have noticed during your stay we are currently refurbishing and up-dating many areas of the hotel including Bedrooms, Restaurant and Meeting area.

Cheers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights recently for a conference in Nottingham. The hotel is very centrally located for nightlife and shops, easy reached by tram from the railway station, or a 10 minute walk. There are pay car parking facilities nearby too.

It doesn't look like much on first approach as it's really just got an entranceway above other businesses, including a Chinese restaurant, but you never notice once you're in.

Staff at reception were helpful enough.

If the interiors are to be believed, this must have been built in the 70s, as the wooden door styles are typical of then, Rooms are fine, clean, spacious enough. Looked like my bathroom had recently been re-done.

Quiet enough at night when I was there.

Breakfast is perfectly good, buffet-style.

Very good value overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ramada Nottingham.

As you would have noticed during your stay we are currently refurbishing and up-dating many areas of the hotel including Bedrooms, Restaurant and Meeting area.

Cheers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 49 in Nottingham
1,172 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Address: 17-21 Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5FW, England (Formerly Ramada Hotel Nottingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
#10 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus® Nottingham City Centre AA 4* puts you right at the heart of bustling Nottingham. A short walk away from major attractions, you will be a matter of minutes from pillow to point of interest. Nottingham Castle, the Royal Centre and Motorpoint Arena are all nearby, and a wide variety of shops, restaurants and entertainment options are just moments away. Each spacious, air conditioned room provides the comfort you need for a relaxing stay, complete with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen televisions with Sky Sports channels. Our delightful Conservatory Restaurant and Bar offers spectacular views overlooking the city and our full English breakfast buffet is the perfect way to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Nottingham
Nottingham Days Inn
Citilodge Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing