We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel ; value for money”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel ; value for money”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I agree with Philfromhull's review. Visited Nottingham to watch cricket match. Slept very well every night. Vegetarian breakfast enough that I did not need to eat again until early evening. I don't want luxury ; am uncomfortable with it and thus suited me perfectly. I don't spend much time in a room so as long as I sleep well, can make a cup of tea and have a decent shower, I am happy. I see there are critical remarks re the shower. I found hot water took a long time coming through but was good once it did.

I came by train and there is a good bus service three minutes walk from the station. The vicinity is short of good eating places I found. A good Indian restaurant 10 minutes walk away but otherwise all takeaways . After enjoying two Indian meals, I ate in the centre the other two days and got the bus back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesP257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    32
    21
    22
    109
See reviews for
49
37
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hull, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

There are so many positives about this little place. I came alone to help our daughter decorate and was given asmall twin room as a single at a great price. Room was warm, clean, nicely decorated with nice little ensuite. I had a good, quiet night's sleep (Thursday night). The breakfast was better than many big hotels we've stayed in with food cooked freshly but quickly to order. There is parking on site. Staff were courteous and aimed to please.
I do not understand some of the critical reviews of this hotel and similar on Tripadvisor. Some people seem to be completely deluded and think that an attractive priced, little hotel like this should be like the Cafe Royal. There must be some negatives here but, not looking to find unnecessary problems, I didn't come across any. We will stay here again next time we visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank philwfromhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights over Christmas and was very disappointed,,,it started off well,,nice welcome shown to room and was given another hair dryer because the one in the room was broken and I'd forgotten mine,we made tea/coffee then went to visit family as it was Christmas Eve
Woke up Christmas mornin made a drink couldn't have a shower because there was no hot water then went back to family came back later in the evenin and the room hadn't been touched,no tea/coffee or milk and no shops open,,,woke up boxin day enough hot water for my shower poor husband was a quick in out then we went out again,returned later and room still hadn't been touched but we did manage to buy coffee and milk from the shop,,,Friday we woke up went down for breakfast and that was when I managed to tell them about the room and we were shown a phone number stuck to a wall and was told to ring it if we needed anything but as we were about to leave it was too little too late
On a plus side the bed was comfy the 1 breakfast we had was nice and it was cheap considering the time of year

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and was I glad it was only 1! Where do I start...
We had a triple room and I moved all the beds together to make one big bed, there was what could only be described as nail cuttings behind the bed, thick layers of dust on the skirting boards and a lipstick under one of the beds! The curtains didn't even fit the window-there was a large gap!
To be fair, the shower room was clean and the landlady was very attentive at breakfast.
I wouldn't consider this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starwarsquarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Newcastle uopn Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was a very good price (£69 for 3 people) so I didn't expect 5 star surroundings and I didn't get them. It was okay though. The room was clean, nice clean bedding and comfy beds and breakfast was not too bad at all.
Around the edges of the bath was grubby but nothing to make a big deal of.
Good location fro central Nottingham where we were attending my sons Graduation, ideal for the purpose

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Group of 7 of stayed here for one night ahead of rowing event (20 min drive to Holme Pierrepoint). We booked two rooms - family room and triple. The price given on website for the family room was for three people staying in it - so although there are beds for four people we had to pay a £15 supplement for the fourth person. On average the price was just over £19 each for bed and breakfast for the seven of us and at that price your expectations should not be high!

So the decor was a bit dated and parts could do with modernising and sprucing up but overall the room and bathroom were clean and we had no disturbance from other guests and as our rooms were in the back annexe we did not have any road noise either. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was fine - buffet style cereals, muffins etc and cooked breakfast to order so perfect for rowers!

Staff - friendly and helpful. On booking, the receptionist offered to bring time of breakfast forward by an hour from usual time so we did not miss out which was kind and helpful.

Parking was in the hotel car park at the front and felt reasonably safe.

So if you are looking for a luxury, romantic get away this is probably not the place but if you are looking for just a cheap bed for the night then this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoodleStroodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlesey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here last night, we were going into town for a family party. When we checked in we were giving a warm welcome and shown to our rooms and given good instructions of where everything was and what to do if we needed anything. The rooms were very basic but clean. For us this room was just used I sleep in so was perfect, we had tea and coffee facilities for the morning and when we went down to breakfast the service was above and beyond what I would expect for the price of this hotel! We were given a full English which was lovely, juice and tea and coffee which was constantly being refilled. There was a choice of cereals, fruits, pastries and yogurts! This room cost me and my boyfriend £45 for this you should expect a basic room, and for the service and breakfast I would say well worth it for an over night stop

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,318 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beeston
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#32 of 49 in Nottingham
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
1.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: 432 Nuthall Road, Nottingham NG8 5DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing