We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very comfortable Premier inn. Car not really required as a City centre location excellent for visiting Nottingham Trent Uni or the shops. Staff friendly and helpful. We arrived early and found parking in the hotel car park, but car park is very small for the size of the hotel. Only downside is that being in the centre of a university town, the hotel is quite noisy. I would recommend requesting a room at the back on a high floor. Service a little slow in restaurant but staff friendly and food okay. Will stay here again when visiting the centre of Nottingham.

Room Tip: Front of hotel noisy so request quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    477
    169
    55
    37
See reviews for
308
373
76
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

A good location for a stay to explore nottingham . The trams run right outside and drop off a short distance away. Enjoyed our stay very much and hope to return. Very good standard of room , bed very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The title sums it up really. I had tickets for a gig at Rock City and had to be in the area next day for work so booked a room at the Premier Inn. Miracle of miracles it was actually one of the £29 advertised rooms that you see advertised but rarely ever find when you need one.

Plus points :

Good location for Rock City and Trent University
Rooms clean
Bar/restaurant what you expect and need

Cons :

Parking area is small and realistically you will be in the Q Car Park in Talbot Street which is a few minutes walk away
There is little control over room temperature. When I got to the room I noticed the window was open and closed and then went out. Mistake. When I got back the room was up to 24degC and no easy way of cooling it apart from opening the windows but then you get woken early by noise outside.

If you can get a £29 room then you can't really complain but be aware of the parking and leave the window open in the evening when you go out!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We chose this hotel because it is just a 5 minute walk from the venue at Rock City. It is in fairly quiet location, right next to the buildings of Nottingham Trent Uni. It is in a road that is primarily used as a tramway. Although we chose this hotel because it has a parking lot - we arrived on a Saturday and there was no space . The parking is inadequate.

The experience at the reception was poor. When we arrived, we waited patiently at the front desk for a few minutes before a staff member rushed out of a back office with a harassed expression on her face. It seems that we had inadvertently disturbed her lunch break.

Although the hotel was booked via the Premier Inn website several weeks before - the agent said she could not find our reservation. She asked to see ‘proof‘ that we had made a reservation. Luckily, we had the reference number on our text message (sent by the Premier Inn). This information did not seem to alter her lofty attitude. She made some noises that sounded like she was suggesting we had arrived at the ‘wrong’ hotel. When I pointed out that the text message was sent from the Premier Inn and gave details of this hotel, she (reluctantly) “found” our booking - but without a trace of apology. She just completed the registration process silently before finally pushing over the tiny printed form and declaring, testily, “Sign here and put your country of origin on it ... “

Rooms at the Nottingham City Centre are not new - these are the ones without air conditioning or a large flat- screen TV. A portable fan is provided if you think the room is too warm. And you will think it's too warm! We have stayed in the newer Premier Inn's property recently - so this seemed like a ‘downgrade‘ to us. The rooms are clean and tidy, though, and the place was quiet and comfortable.

We did not have a meal in the hotel and decided against breakfast too (this decision was influenced by the hostile attitude of the reception staff) but we did go back later for a drink at the nice hotel bar. The bar staff were much more friendly than the ‘superior’ reception staff and managed to restore our faith in Premier Inns.

The biggest negative is the price, however. Nottingham is not a cheap city to stay in - this room (nothing special) costs you £79 for the night- but when you compare the rate - it is not a cheap alternative. We would not go back to Premier Inn City centre - this decision is based on the cost, the inadequate parking ... and the poor reception.

Room Tip: All rooms are too warm - all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmach_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from a 2 day stay in Nottingham, the hotel is about a 10 min walk to the city centre where you will find all the normal high street shops and more, plus plenty of places to eat.
One word of warning when you approach the hotel you can only go so far on the tram lines ,there are no entry signs to the trams only area ,as you face the front of the hotel the car park is down the side to the right ,when we got near the hotel using the sat nav there were road works and diversions , we could see the hotel from where the road was closed off so we went right and came down peel street turned left at the traffic lights and immediate right down the side of the hotel to the car park £5 a day to park.
The hotel is in a nice area across from the university , also on peel street there is a lovely wetherspoons called the gooseberry bush, one of the best we have ever been in, 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

we went to a concert at capital fm arena so rather than getting a taxi home we stayed here for a night.
check in was easy.
staff were so friendly.
great location.. in the city centre and 15 min walk from the arena.
bed was so comfy!
bathroom clean.
room perfect temperature.
can't fault the place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nickye34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Clean room and friendly staff. However, the hotel is not well sign posted making it very easy to end up in the tran lane with no way of getting out, the room was very hot and the window would not open, the car park is very small meaning that we had to park in a public car park about 5 - 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is close to town centre so has easy access to bars and restaurants, but i would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#20 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel
Address: Goldsmith Street, Nottingham NG1 5LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Nottingham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#6 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside Nottingham Trent University, walking distance to the city's best theatres and concert venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith St) Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing