We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nottingham
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
P and J Hotel(Nottingham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
331
42
17
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
331
42
17
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse tasting menuduck eggchef's tablewine flightsigned menuwine waiterchocolate browniematched winescandy flossa michelin starred restaurantmemorable eveningdressing roomwhole eveningwalk in wardrobebirthday treatmain buildingtea tray
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were bought a meal at Restaurant Sat Bains as a Christmas present. We got to pick out ingredients that made up the menu and one of the chefs rang in the morning to go through things with us.

The food was unbelievable and the service was excellent.

We subsequently went again ( I lost a bet) and we had the wine tasting menu. The wines were fantastic (and I'm not a wine drinker) and the sommelier was helpful and witty. After the meal we got to meet Sat and chat with him in the kitchen about our favourite dishes and how they got the flavours into the food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Fozzo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

You have to try this amazing restaurant, it truly is a culinary delight. The whole experience from start to Finish was totally amazing. The food was delicious, the staff very attentive and some of the best house champagne that I have drank.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Leicestertaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Ate here at the beginning of November having booked two months previously. We had promised our daughter that we would take her there for the 10 course tasting menu when she graduated, which gave us four years to save up our £2 coins and 50ps!

Right from the off the food was sensational. Our first canape was a cube of horseradish ice cream with a shortbread crust! This was followed by a tiny pannacotta with spinch soup in a little glass. Distinct flavours which really stood out. Boded well for what was to come.

The 10 courses comprised: Scallop, black; Spelt, turnip - cepes; Crab 'satay'; Chicken muesli; Roast roots -bearnaise - dashi; Hare 'Yorkshire Moors' cauliflower - pear - stilton - chocolate; The cheese course (extra course); 'The crossover'; Rice pudding - plum - sake; Chocolate - cherry - mystery flavour (which my daughter identified); Blueberries - pine - cobnut.

The menu doesn't give much away! But I can say that everything worked beautifully together with surprising taste explosions and bursts of the unexpected!

The Spelt and Chicken 'muesli' courses were my favourites as was the Chocolate course - in fact it was all incredible; as were the wines my husband chose, which were surprisingly reasonably priced for such a high-end restaurant.

All the waiting staff were brilliant. Just the right balance between friendly and professional.

We all had a fabulous evening. Definitely worth saving up for! 10/10

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank fairylightqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Definitely one of the highlights of our married life together & that includes spending 7 years living and working in The Algarve. We had one of the packages that includes an over night stay with breakfast. The room was comfortable & stylish, the food was unbelievable and the service was outstanding. We were lucky enough, because it was our anniversary, to be invited into the Kitchen to meet Chef Bains & his team, which only enhanced our experience even more. Overall we would recommend trying the food at this marvellous restaurant & stay over too if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Possibly the best restaurant experience we've ever had. Despite the unpromising location near a motorway, this place is special from the moment you walk inside. The food was a tasting menu and all courses were small mouthfuls of unbelievable tastes and textures. Staff are knowledgeable and strike the perfect balance of being attentive but not overbearing. We were invited into the kitchen after dinner and met the man himself who couldn't have been more welcoming. The whole experience was fantastic. We've eaten at many wonderful restaurants around the world, but as an overall dining experience - food, wine, staff, atmosphere - Restaurant Sat Baines sets the bar to a new high.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews