We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nottingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We visited sat bains last night and I am still full! This was an amazing experience . Our last great food experience was at the hand & flowers curtesy of mr tom kerridge. This is a totally different experience . The food challenges you. Takes you out of your comfort zone . You go on a food journey. Dishes such as chicken muesli, horseradish panna cotta and rhubarb with rocket. Each dish on the 10 course tasting menu was a surprise . Textures, flavours, hot with cold. The thyme granita was a revelation. From the moment you enter you are made to feel so welcome,the service is warm and friendly . Every dish is explained to you. The staff move seamlessly, without hovering around and being over bearing. They are happy to answer any questions . The sommelier in particular was a revelation . Utterly charming and so knowledgable . The only dish that perhaps did not quite hit the spot was the sweetbreads with puy lentils. They just didn't taste of very much. But one dish out of 10 and it wasn't unpleasant just a little dull compared to the others . The chocolate cake more than made up for it . What a surprise! My only regret is that the rooms were fully booked and Nottingham is not great for hotels . We ended up in the very mediocre Nottingham belfry. We will have to return as the rooms look fabulous and goodness knows what Mr Bains breakfasts are like . Thank you to all for a memorable evening .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carryonregardless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

booked as a late xmas present for my husband, we arrived at 3pm and check in was swift and the staff lovely the little chocolate truffle on arrival was a lovely touch. We had room 4 it was elegant, clean and luxurioius.
We had the 10 course taster menu ,,, each course delivered a variety of tastes, flavours and textures, each one excellent I really cannot say more. We also went into the kitchen and met Sat he was really nice genuine man who signed a menu for us and we had photos
Breakfast again superb I had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg cooked to perfection.
Is it expensive ? .... yes. Is it worth it ? OMG 100% yes and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnybrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here with friends on a Friday night, we had a standard room & gave the last remaining suite to our pals.
Warm welcome with a homemade chocolate brownie to munch on while you registered in.
Room 6 was very comfortable, with big be & ample room. Nice decor, Mouton Browne toiletries & homemade cookies with your coffee making facilities. Exactly what you would expect from a Two star Michelin Starred restaurant with rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived by the friendly, attentive staff we immediately felt comfortable here. We chose the ten course tasting menu with wine package to complement each course and we were not disappointed! Each course was divine, packed full of flavour and with a couple of surprises along the way! The waiters explained a little information about each wine, where it was from, why it was chosen and the flavours, which for a novice was really informative and fun! To top off an amazing evening we were invited into the kitchen to meet Sat and his team of chefs! This was a real birthday treat and not just a meal but an experience from start to finish! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sat Bains with Rooms. A fantastic place, amazing food, fabulous wine and the nicest team I've ever come across in a restaurant! Thank you!

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A warm welcome set the standard for our overnight stay with dinner at Sat Bains famous restaurant. Our room was beautiful and a little unusual with the bath included just to one side. We had opted for the seven course tasting menu, knowing that 10 courses would probably be a bridge to far. This was delightful and complimented beautifully by the interesting wine pairing menu. Each course was properly explained by our waiter and the sommelier also gave us a short story about each wine, including an amazing saki with a little sparkle to it. The rating of each dish according to the five flavours was very interesting - Sat Bains is all about flavour. After a restful night's sleep, we had an excellent breakfast before leaving having certainly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaugherSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My stay here was great, the food was sublime. The place was easy to find and was very inviting. The warm atmosphere will be making me come back no end. The outdoor courtyard was really great - a really nice area for smokers.

5*. Well done!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillWallace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I should start by saying that I'm no restaurant luddite. I love paying a lot of money for a fantastic dining experience, having enjoyed multiple visits to places like The Fat Duck, Hibiscus, Joel Robuchon and Northcote Manor, but my meal at Sat Bains was far from fantastic. The rooms are beautifully appointed and make for a brilliant, romantic, night away. The little touches that make for an enjoyable night's stay are also well thought through. I'm just afraid that the food was ordinary and the service was more focussed on up-selling like a shoddy telemarketing effort that it was on ensuring a two-star dining experience that merited the £350 a head that we paid. We were already on the top-end tasting menu with wine matching, so did they really need to work so hard to get "Sat's signature poached egg" and a cheese plate added as courses 11 and 12 on the bill? And why did so much of the food need to be small, brown, non-descript pate.... served on large, brown plates? As Chef Michel might say on the telly.... "but is it fine dining".

I don't know. Maybe I went on an off night. But if I conclude by saying that the culinary highight for me was the beautiful sausage and mushroom breakfast, then that probably encapsulates my opinion perfectly. Disappointing.

Room Tip: The one with the big 4-poster and the vaulted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.8 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
1,531 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
1.9 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 41 in Nottingham
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
668 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms

Address: Lenton Lane | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £129 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Two Star Michelin restaurant serving modern British cuisine with 7 bedrooms. Lunch on chef's or kitchen table Wednesday to Saturday From 12.00 Noon Dinner. Wednesday to Thursday 6.30 Pm - 9.00 Pm Friday 6.00 Pm - 9.30 Pm Saturday 6.00 Pm - 9.30 Pm Booking Essential. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Restaurant Sat Bains With Rooms Hotel Nottingham
Hotel Sat Bains With Rooms
Sat Bains With Rooms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing