We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite from check in to check out!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nottingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Exquisite from check in to check out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

What can I say? We're still reeling from such a fabulous experience. I booked a package for my hubby's Xmas pressie (suite, 10 course taster & breakfast) and it didn't disappoint. We were greeted with the infamous brownies and taken to our suite (room 8) which was stunning. The little touches like scented candles, board games and home made cookies all add to make the room that little bit special. Molten brown toiletries are always a winner with me and the spa bath was vast and luxurious. The bed is very comfortable and the lounge area is very comfy and catches the morning sunshine, a lovely spot for reading the papers. The restaurant more than lived up to the hype (see separate review) and the service was outstanding. In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast before we headed home. Whilst this hotel isn't located in the most glamorous of surroundings, once you enter the bubble of Sat Bains, you fail to notice anything but the amazing experience you're having! I fail to understand any of the gripes in previous reviews because this team go out of their way to make both the hotel and the restaurant an incredible and memorable experience. Put it on your bucket list!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank finchaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    41
    17
    14
    11
See reviews for
34
245
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We visited sat bains last night and I am still full! This was an amazing experience . Our last great food experience was at the hand & flowers curtesy of mr tom kerridge. This is a totally different experience . The food challenges you. Takes you out of your comfort zone . You go on a food journey. Dishes such as chicken muesli, horseradish panna cotta and rhubarb with rocket. Each dish on the 10 course tasting menu was a surprise . Textures, flavours, hot with cold. The thyme granita was a revelation. From the moment you enter you are made to feel so welcome,the service is warm and friendly . Every dish is explained to you. The staff move seamlessly, without hovering around and being over bearing. They are happy to answer any questions . The sommelier in particular was a revelation . Utterly charming and so knowledgable . The only dish that perhaps did not quite hit the spot was the sweetbreads with puy lentils. They just didn't taste of very much. But one dish out of 10 and it wasn't unpleasant just a little dull compared to the others . The chocolate cake more than made up for it . What a surprise! My only regret is that the rooms were fully booked and Nottingham is not great for hotels . We ended up in the very mediocre Nottingham belfry. We will have to return as the rooms look fabulous and goodness knows what Mr Bains breakfasts are like . Thank you to all for a memorable evening .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carryonregardless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

booked as a late xmas present for my husband, we arrived at 3pm and check in was swift and the staff lovely the little chocolate truffle on arrival was a lovely touch. We had room 4 it was elegant, clean and luxurioius.
We had the 10 course taster menu ,,, each course delivered a variety of tastes, flavours and textures, each one excellent I really cannot say more. We also went into the kitchen and met Sat he was really nice genuine man who signed a menu for us and we had photos
Breakfast again superb I had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg cooked to perfection.
Is it expensive ? .... yes. Is it worth it ? OMG 100% yes and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnybrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,048 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,801 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here with friends on a Friday night, we had a standard room & gave the last remaining suite to our pals.
Warm welcome with a homemade chocolate brownie to munch on while you registered in.
Room 6 was very comfortable, with big be & ample room. Nice decor, Mouton Browne toiletries & homemade cookies with your coffee making facilities. Exactly what you would expect from a Two star Michelin Starred restaurant with rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived by the friendly, attentive staff we immediately felt comfortable here. We chose the ten course tasting menu with wine package to complement each course and we were not disappointed! Each course was divine, packed full of flavour and with a couple of surprises along the way! The waiters explained a little information about each wine, where it was from, why it was chosen and the flavours, which for a novice was really informative and fun! To top off an amazing evening we were invited into the kitchen to meet Sat and his team of chefs! This was a real birthday treat and not just a meal but an experience from start to finish! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sat Bains with Rooms. A fantastic place, amazing food, fabulous wine and the nicest team I've ever come across in a restaurant! Thank you!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

A warm welcome set the standard for our overnight stay with dinner at Sat Bains famous restaurant. Our room was beautiful and a little unusual with the bath included just to one side. We had opted for the seven course tasting menu, knowing that 10 courses would probably be a bridge to far. This was delightful and complimented beautifully by the interesting wine pairing menu. Each course was properly explained by our waiter and the sommelier also gave us a short story about each wine, including an amazing saki with a little sparkle to it. The rating of each dish according to the five flavours was very interesting - Sat Bains is all about flavour. After a restful night's sleep, we had an excellent breakfast before leaving having certainly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaugherSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My stay here was great, the food was sublime. The place was easy to find and was very inviting. The warm atmosphere will be making me come back no end. The outdoor courtyard was really great - a really nice area for smokers.

5*. Well done!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillWallace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
1.9 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.9 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms

Property: Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms
Address: Lenton Lane | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Two Star Michelin restaurant serving modern British cuisine with eight bedrooms. Lunch on chef's or kitchen table Tuesday to Saturday From 12.00 Noon Dinner. Tuesday to Thursday 6.30 Pm - 9.00 Pm Friday 6.00 Pm - 9.30 Pm Saturday 6.00 Pm - 9.30 Pm Booking Essential. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Restaurant Sat Bains With Rooms Hotel Nottingham
Hotel Sat Bains With Rooms
Sat Bains With Rooms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing