We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an Amazing experience!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nottingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What an Amazing experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We visited Sat Bains Restaurant about 2 months ago for a birthday celebration, and we weren't disappointed the food was simply Outstanding!!! Well worth the Money, we look forward to our visit back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJSMacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    41
    17
    14
    11
See reviews for
34
245
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Impeccable service, wonderful food and an experience to live in the memory. Had the tasting menu along with the famous duck egg and dined in the kitchen at the chefs table. The staff are great, young and energetic and clearly enjoy working here, what an experience to sit in and amongst the chefs at a Michelin two star restaurant and watch them prepare our meal.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We visited back in July but only just round to posting the review.

All I can say is amazing!

We had the 10 course menu plus the duck egg course (if it’s good enough for the Queen we had to try it!) and also the paired wines which were fab.

The whole evening was a success and definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulUKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We don't really know where to start! What an incredible experience from start to finish.

We were greeted at the door by the most friendly face, presenting the most deliciously gooey infamous Sat Bains brownies. We were then guided through to our Superior room which was breathtakingly beautiful, and were so impressed by the coffee tray complete with freshly baked cookies - so delicious! The assistant manager (Sergio) even managed to somehow dig out a pair of brand new tooth brushes and tooth paste after hearing that we had forgotten ours!

We had the 10 course taster menu, which was truly a theatrical journey of just how mind blowing tastes can be. The menu is so well thought out, and we loved how they didn't give the details of each course away with their witty written menus. The restaurant were also kind enough to not only amend the menu for us (we don't eat meat but do eat fish), but they also printed the amended menus for us to keep.

The atmosphere is very intimate, and whilst being near other tables, you feel like you are in your world.

Although the room and the dinner was incredible, the staff really pushed the level of the establishment up a notch for us. Especially Thibaut, who showcased the true art of service to us throughout our entire stay. Although we were in a room with 7 other tables, we really felt like we were the center of the waiters' attention.

After our meal, we re-located to the bar / lounge area to enjoy some coffee and the 'Chocolate Log' - which is a selection of 5 distinctly flavored chocolate shards - be sure to make this part of your experience!

To top everything off, we had the best breakfast we've ever tasted in the morning before we left! Served in the conservatory, the french toast is to die for.

The lovely people at Sat Bains let you part with a "Something for your Journey" homemade flapjacks packet, which were again just beautiful.

Despite being pricey, the entire experience is MORE than worth the money. We will definitely be coming back, next time hopefully to sit at the kitchen table!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vajiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
223 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Had always wanted to visit this place...a few hints to my partner...was treated to dinner, bed, and breakfast for a rather special birthday.

We had a suite, room 7, which was just fabulous! As for the dinner, we had the 10 course menu with the wine flight. Could not fault anything. Food was just out of this world, and service impeccable! Worth the 3 hour drive there and back. Difficult to mention a highlight of the meal, but one of the 3 desserts did not look interesting, looked like a sponge cake! However, I think this was a sort of deconstructed tiramisu.....it just melted in your mouth, completely wonderfull

Yes, expensive........but worth every penny! As good as it gets!

Breakfast also extremely good, but still full from last night's dinner....could not do it justice. But my partner's scrambled egg with smoked salmon was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 7, which is a suite, is just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The tasting menu is excellent and a real experience. The raw and roasted scallops were my favourite. The service and atmosphere are also very nice. We passed our thanks on to the chefs the next morning when checking out and they were kind enough to show us around the kitchen and the development room which was very interesting.

I have rated 4 instead of 5 because we were sat at a table right underneath a heater and it was far too warm, like sitting next to an open fire. We asked to move but there were no other tables and they did kindly turn the heater down so it didn't continue to be a problem. In a place with 2 michelin stars though you really expect the entire experience to be perfect and feel utterly spoilt and not uncomfortable and have to complain.

The room was very cosy and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast is good too (but you might not have much room left after the night before).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lab86187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our best meal in a restaurant ever! Simply brilliant cooking and gracious, unstuffy staff. Amazing flavours and textures which were sensational in the true sense of the word. We had the 7 course taster menu plus an extra course offered. We savoured every part of the meal. A real experience in food and one we would want to have again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bintymatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
1.9 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.9 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms

Property: Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms
Address: Lenton Lane | Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Two Star Michelin restaurant serving modern British cuisine with eight bedrooms. Lunch on chef's or kitchen table Tuesday to Saturday From 12.00 Noon Dinner. Tuesday to Thursday 6.30 Pm - 9.00 Pm Friday 6.00 Pm - 9.30 Pm Saturday 6.00 Pm - 9.30 Pm Booking Essential. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Restaurant Sat Bains With Rooms Hotel Nottingham
Hotel Sat Bains With Rooms
Sat Bains With Rooms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing