We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip this is where they put me :)”
Review of Hart's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hart's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Well after a 3 hour drive from London to Nottingham it was nice to get to the hotel, the room was smart and modern, mini bar TV all the normal items you would expect from a 4* hotel....

but..... No Air con it was 28c in the day and the room only had a 'Summer Vent' which made sleeping quite difficult, also the TV was in a position which meant you could not change the channel while sitting on the bed you had to get up.... really.

Breakfast was good range and full English I say full as that is what it said but there were no beans or plum tomatoes or fried bread :( and they charged you extra not included oh well.

Also charged for parking your car over night at the hotel while you were sleeping that was a shocker but seems to be the norm in Nottingham so there you go. All in all a nice place good staff just not quite a 4* in my book.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank He11hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We will take your comments on board – we make the time to review our facilities on a regular basis and guest feedback is an important part of this. Where we can, we will always look to make any improvements suggested, whether this relates to room layout or refreshments. Tim Hart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Booked for 3 nights but only stayed for 2, and frankly somewhat disappointed for what was portrayed as a smart 4 starr. The ground floor room was cramped, and you wouldn't be able to move if you had 2 full sized suitcases. My wife couldn't use the full length mirror on the inside of the wardrobe door because the door would open far as there was a radiator in the way. The breakfast room is too small, not enough seats for guests to sit down and the buffet breakfast featured rock hard bacon. 'Cocktail bar' did not live up to it's name. Setting and staff more like a Premier Inn than a 4 star. Must be better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We do pride ourselves on our levels of service and standards within the hotel and I am sorry that we have not lived up to your expectations on this occasion. We regularly review our facilities and will take your feedback on board. Tim Hart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a very pleasant experience starting with the initial booking then throughout for a 1 night treat. For us it was very expensive but we felt it was worth it. Staff were extremely lovely and helpful. An oversight meant our room was in the process of being cleaned on our arrival but it was all resolved and we were happy to wait in the bar with a complimentary drink for our inconvenience. A genuine mistake on their part. Room was lovely and well designed. Ate in the restaurant and although on the expensive side we both agreed the food was fabulous. We personally thanked the chef. All food was of a very high standard in the restaurant and at breakfast. Our only disappointment was the bar area. The leather seats were very comfortable to sit in for relaxation but too low for eating at the table for breakfast. We did not like the settee arrangement which dictated 1 to sit on that and the other on a chair. That was the only downside for us. There are cheaper, just as lovely hotels in the vicinity but for us it was an excellent choice for a special treat. We would return but feel the prices are a touch high for our circumstances. We felt the staff made all the difference. The staff could sway reviews either way so for us we can't praise them enough. A lovely time was had. Visited on 30/31 August '13

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel direct for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that the staff were so helpful - I will pass on your comments to my General Manager Adam. Tim Hart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We will remember this one night get away for a long time. From check in to check out all was faultless. Courteous staff throughout our stay without being pretentious, as you could machine a boutique hotel of this stature to be. You are genuinely made to feel very welcome. We booked a garden room, this enabled us to have a splendid view overlooking The Park estate. Gardens were well cared for, and with each room having its own secluded area, gave a useful extension to the admittedly smallish room.
We chose to eat at the neighbouring Harts restaurant, what a good decision this was. Starters of squid and chorizo, and prawn cocktail, followed by lamb (gnocchi, were exceptionally good) and beef Diane were all excellent. Again, excellent, attentive service without any stuffiness.
We will return, have already booked for a Christmas break.
We left feeling revitalised, even after one night away..........the reason you go away in the first place!

Room Tip: It has to be a garden room, sssshhhhhhhhhhhhh, don't tell everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebs7767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much - thank you for taking the time to post a review.I will certainly pass on your favourable comments to both hotel and restaurant staff. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Tim Hart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a bargain a garden view room for half usual price - we lookedg out over Nottingham for miles. I presume summer in Nottingham is their off season.
Lovely room and friendly hotel staff.

Restaurant was OK but had limited menu.

Room Tip: Get a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalesRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night and had a great experience. The location is great, close to the centre but up on an exclusive area of Nottingham. Decor is modern and clean. Rooms are good size and perfectly arranged. Bed was comfortable, everything was clean and my room had great views down the park. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolwich79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Should point out I stayed at a nearby hotel but attended my sisters wedding and saw several rooms taken by the wedding party and am very aware of the rates too

Although clearly a boutique hotel and in a nice spot there are (admittedly not quite as nice) hotels very close that are up to a third of the price.

I thought the rooms were small (the cheaper hotels rooms were much bigger) and comments from people staying there said their experiences with the staff were mixed. I have to say though the staff and venue as far as the wedding were concerned were faultless and very friendly and helpful

The views from the rooms at the rear are really nice (save for the power station on the horizon) and its quite central for nottingham itself but I dont think it justifies the price tag personally

Room Tip: Rooms without the view are much less expensive but still overpriced for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo-in-Toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
2.1 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 41 in Nottingham
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hart's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hart's Hotel

Address: Standard Hill | Park Row, Nottingham NG1 6FN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £62 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hart's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is perfect. A secluded courtyard, just a short stroll from Nottingham station, with a quiet garden giving glorious views over the city and beyond. Hart's light airy rooms are contemporary and comfortable. Top quality beds are equipped with goose down pillows and duvets, and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Since 1997 Hart's Restaurant has claimed the title of Nottingham's most successful up-market eatery, bringing to the city nationally acclaimed cooking at local prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hart's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harts Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing