We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hart's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hart's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here with my husband on Saturday evening, and had a very relaxing experience. The rooms are a little on the small side, but very well equipped with a comfortable bed and pillows exactly to my liking! There is a decent-sized bath for soaking in, and a powerful shower. A real plus-point is the room lighting - all too often in hotels it is much too subdued and not helpful when doing make-up and hair. In Hart's there is plenty of lighting!! Although we understand that the hotel was full on Saturday, we did not hear noise from any other occupants and were not disturbed by any outside noise. We use this hotel when in Nottingham as we like the quiet location in The Park, but appreciate the proximity to the city centre facilities. The staff were very helpful, arranging a taxi into town for us and allowing us to leave our car in the hotel car park until late on Sunday afternoon. We also spent some time relaxing in the bar with drinks and papers and I can highly recommend the Hambleton Bakery pastries!! My only niggle - could breakfast be until 11am on a Sunday? Being parents on a weekend escape from the kids, we really didn't want to rush down for breakfast at 10am!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaR-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to my staff. I will also discuss your comments regarding breakfast - perhaps you might take advantage of our room service next time? I hope to see you at Hart's again soon. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    171
    68
    28
    4
See reviews for
74
222
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed and ate at Harts 15/2/14. Had a great time, but a couple of niggles. Firstly, whoever designed the building - what were they thinking putting the bar at the back when there's such an amazing view over Nottingham from the reception window? It's really wasted there, it would be a brilliant bar with panoramic windows overlooking that view. The service was great though, as were the Caipirinhas! The room and general decor are decent, if a bit 90s. Breakfast in the room was a little disappointing - the bacon was a bit cold and tough like it had been sitting under a warmer for too long and the scrambled eggs were much too salty.

Again, we had an excellent time, and the service was very good, these are just my observations.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the city rather than the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spark32uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you found your breakfast disappointing but glad you enjoyed your stay overall. I have spoken to Adam my General Manager and he has already spoken to the Park Bar staff to ensure that in future room service breakfasts are produced to the high standards you would expect from Hart's. we hope to welcome you back to Hart's again soon. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The title says it all really. We stayed here on the gourmet package with a taster menu at the adjacent Hart's restaurant (wow! See separate review). Don't get me wrong, the room, ostensibly superior, was very comfortable and clean but had the same level of style and character as any other modern city centre hotel, lots of dark chipboard furniture, and was smaller than the average Ibis. The breakfast was great quality but if I had had to pay for it separately it would have been pricey. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful
As part of the package it was great, would I use it just as a hotel I am not sure from a value point of view and I stop in a lot!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonFKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review (and for the Restaurant review) - I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your accommodation during your recent stay with us. We do take all feedback on board and any workable suggestions for improvements are discussed at our regular meetings. I will make sure your comments are passed on for inclusion. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night whilst on business. Arrived in pouring rain and had problems finding a space in the tiny car park. Receptionist was very helpful and arranged for me to park in the "undercroft". Common areas very stylish and was booked in by friendly and efficient receptionist.

Room on second floor was well equipped, decorated with style and had great views over the city. Perhaps rather small but comfortable. Walls are rather thin and I could clearly hear the occupant of the next room using his/her bathroom facilities. Bathroom was also smallish but bath was deep enough to soak and towels were large and fresh.

Slept well in comfortable bed albeit pillows were on the soft side. Wifi worked very well.

Didn't eat here at all but believe it has a good reputation.

Would definitely return either on business or with the wife for a weekend stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 911prentonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My partner and I are regular users of hotels in one place or another, and this is definitely up there with the good ones!

From the moment we arrived, one of the staff came out to direct us in to a parking spot and ensure we knew where to go etc. Check in was friendly and efficient and our room was well presented and contemporary. All the facilities we needed for our stay were available in the well maintained and comfortable room. Rooms are not huge but are perfectly adequate for any traveller, and the adjoining bathroom was very smart and clean too.

The hotel is in a great location, just on the edge of Nottingham city centre (5 minute walK). Our room offered great view across the city from the elevated position and all the general surroundings are pleasant.

We stopped with friends and ate in the first class Hart's restaurant next door. This is also where breakfast was served - which was also really good quality. Throughout the stay, all the staff at the hotel were polite and professional in all aspects that just enhanced what a great experience it was. The hotel has its own bar (that also serves food) where you can enjoy a great range of drinks, wines and cocktails.

I can't fault this place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a city centre venue in the great city of Nottingham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay so much - we pride ourselves on offering consistently good service and food. I will pass on your kind comments to my Hotel & Restaurant General Managers. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I got a deal on the premium room which would normally have been £145.00. I was looking forward to my stay as I have dined at Harts before and found the quality in the restaurant fabulous so I was expecting luxury from the hotel. First impressions - reception was welcoming and cosy with a very friendly receptionist. Though I was 10 minutes early for the 3pm check-in (I think this is too late) she said my room was ready and handed me my key. As I walked to my room another member of staff (housekeeping) wished me a pleasant stay. My first thought was how tiny the room was and to wonder what size the standard rooms are if this was next stage up? I can only assume one pays for the views which, I imagine are splendid in better light and weather. The bathroom was very cramped and the bath was smaller than I expected. I went to the bar and ordered a cocktail which the bar staff said they would bring to me in my room. I was a little disappointed as I am a margarita connoisseur and this one was pretty lacklustre. After a night on in Nottingham we returned and had some drinks in the bar which has a fun and welcoming atmosphere. We didn't have breakfast so I cannot comment on that. I slept well. I thought a cafetiere was a nice touch and fresh milk was also appreciated. All in all- perfectly pleasant but not the luxury I would expect for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeybobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We pride ourselves on offering our guests the best possible quality and service and I'm sorry to hear you you were disappointed with your accommodation during your recent stay with us. We do take all feedback on board and any workable suggestions for improvement are discussed further at our regular meetings. My Bar Manager is working on his margarita and hopefully it will meet your expectations next time. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Having stayed at numerous hotels over the years, I can honestly say that this the best hotel from the moment of booking, welcome, stay and departure that I have ever stayed in. It was like staying in your own home.

The customer service was of such a high standard, nothing was too much trouble. Every member of staff from Housekeeping/Maintenance to the General Manager were polite, professional, helpful, friendly and courteous at all times.


The hotel food represents excellent value for money as the service and ingredients were of the highest quality. The hotel was immaculately clean, the bedrooms were so comfortable, there was a comprehensive welcome pack explaining all facilities available including the General Manager's contact details to how to get Sky Sports. The bedding was of exceptional high quality and a huge bath and the best shower going.

It is rare to stay in a hotel in a city centre where it is so quiet. I would recommend Hart's to everyone, as any hotel who are prepared to go that extra mile and who actually do value your custom deserves to have my business.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutley011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartsNottingham, Owner at Hart's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hart's so much and that you found the hotel and my staff so welcoming. I will pass on your comments to my General Manager, Adam - it is always nice to hear that you have got something right. Tim Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
2.1 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hart's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hart's Hotel

Property: Hart's Hotel
Address: Standard Hill | Park Row, Nottingham NG1 6FN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hart's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is perfect. A secluded courtyard, just a short stroll from Nottingham station, with a quiet garden giving glorious views over the city and beyond. Hart's light airy rooms are contemporary and comfortable. Top quality beds are equipped with goose down pillows and duvets, and Egyptian cotton bed linen. Since 1997 Hart's Restaurant has claimed the title of Nottingham's most successful up-market eatery, bringing to the city nationally acclaimed cooking at local prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hart's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harts Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing