We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and free”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Green's Windmill

Green's Windmill
Ranked #16 of 124 things to do in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Green's Windmill is a restored 19th Century tower mill, once home to mathematical physicist George Green. Turning again since 1986, climb to the top of our windmill and see how our sails turn grain into flour. In our interactive Science Centre discover the remarkable story of George Green, and experiment with light, electricity and magnetism. There's something for all the family!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great and free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Terrific free activity for children a real working mill / museum learn all about mills and science my 4 kids loved this you can leave a donation if you want too

Helpful?
1 Thank leeodams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    67
    20
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fab and free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

What an amazing free visit in the centre of Nottingham! Free parking just a few steps away, lovely setting in well kept grounds, fantastic views over Nottingham and the surrounding countryside.
The mill itself is well kept and has useful information on each floor. A very friendly member of staff was on hand to chat to and obviously loves working here. I bought some wholemeal flour in the shop and was sad I didn't have a child with me to enjoy the science centre.
Well done Nottingham for providing this free of charge! I did give a donation though!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LKB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great family visit and free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely for a family visit to climb to the top of the working windmill. Kids loved it and the small education centre. Really friendly, helpful staff. I just wish they had a cafe to make the visit complete - and to raise money for this great community project.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Greens windmill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a lovely place to visit, we looked around the windmill at our own pace. On each floor, was a short video about what we were looking at. The sails were not working which was disappointing . The view from the top window was beautiful. The science centre was great fun for the adults and children. Staff were helpful and friendly and made a good cup of tea (£1) The play park just outside made it even more fun. we bought the children a sheet (50p) where they had to find clues, went they handed the completed sheets in they received a packet of sweets. Free ,fun and educational what more could you want from an attraction. If you are in Nottingham make it a must see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and knowledge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We went there today and my son had a blast in the science center. The workers were knowledgeable about the science and mill. Sadly the mill sails were broken but there is a beautiful view from the highest room you could go in.

Helpful?
Thank af_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green's Windmill also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Green's Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing