We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galleries of Justice

Galleries of Justice
Ranked #2 of 24 Tours in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover Nottingham's horrible history at the Galleries of Justice Museum through engaging actor led tours, fascinating free exhibitions and free kids activities. Experience life as a prisoner as you are taken on a journey through time to explore original prison cells, caves, dungeons and original Victorian Courtrooms. PLUS! Why not try their After Dark Tours and experience a Ghost Tour or Terror Tour every weekend? The Galleries of Justice Museum has recently been voted England's Best Small Visitor Attraction of the Year 2014!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our trip here staff very passionate about their subject and the whole tour was of a high standard. Learned a lot and thought it a. Very reasonable price and combine with the caves tour and receive discount.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    336
    71
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredibly interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Was here for some TV recording and came earlier in the day for a cheeky look around. There's so much interesting history here it can be a lot to take it all in. The only downside is how unpromoted it appears to be as it is in a less-than-busy area of the city despite lots of signposts pointing in its direction. They also have an excellent coffee shop with friendly and attentive staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjstyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun yet thought provoking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Why is this museum so little known ? As a party of four adults our attention was held through out. At times the tour was amusing but behind the laughs you had to keep in your mind that all this was true. People were barbarically treated for the smallest of offences and their period of captivity was inhumane as sometimes was their execution. The actors leading the tour were really informative while keeping you entertained at the same time. At no time were we hurried along and the amount of information and exhibits were numerous. The only thing that spoiled it was there were far too many small children on the tour, all of them too young to know what was going on. They were bored so cried, shouted and ran around. How the three actors on the day kept going (with good humour and no reprimands) I do not know. This of course was not the fault of the museum but the parents. All in all though it was a splendid visit and unlike any other museum I have visited. Perhaps other museums should take note. Well done Nottingham.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykayLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ghost hunting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Have visited here a number of times throughout the night on ghost hunting tours. Being beneath is very scary and never disappointed with something strange and unexpected happening each time. Would recommend if you think you can handle it!

Helpful?
Thank dooglesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Memorable museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We took a tour that included actors. It was different from what we expected because we weren't really guided through the tour - one actor would present , then send us along. There would be some displays to look at individually and eventually we 'd come upon another actor - a total of three. It was a little confusing, to be honest, and would not have worked well if some in the group wanted to spend more time than others looking at the exhibits between actors. The actors were fun and knowledgeable, and the other displays also very interesting. We ended up running out if time although we had allotted the recommended amount of time for the tour - there is simply a lot to see. You should be aware that it really isn't (or at least wasn't on the day we were there) an "actor-led tour" but really a self guided tour in a group, with actors at intervals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaFamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galleries of Justice also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Galleries of Justice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing