We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil Partnership - wonderful memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We held our Civil Partnership ceremony and reception here on 23rd July 2011. Pauline and staff were always on hand both before and during the actual day to help make it special and we cant thank them enough. The BBQ and evening buffet were excellent and guests also commented on the food. The Bridal Suite was lovely and other guests staying in the hotel commented that their rooms were nice especially the bay windowed room. We found it to be an excellent venue for such a special occasion and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamDevito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great little hotel with parking in Nottingham - walking distance to restaurants. Had a great nights sleep in a lovely four poster in a quaintly decorated room with massive baywindows. Outside chairs and tables for the odd sunny day and the bar is very light. Friendly staff. The rooms have character but wouldn't have the modern edge. Overall absolutely fine for a night away - it wouldn't be top on my list but I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay_hend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed with my wife at The Waltons for my sister-in-laws wedding. The wedding service was very well organised and the staff were extremely accommodating.

The hotel organised a bbq buffet and the food was excellent! There was so much of it, we were able to have more towards the end of the evening.

The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean, and the wedding suite the Bride and Groom stayed in was lovely.

I would also like to say that Pauline, the General Manager, was extremely organised and nothing was too much trouble for her, including ensuring an issue of the music for the Bride and Grooms 1st dance was sorted out straight away.

The only downside I would say is the lack of parking spaces. Although we got parked, there were a few others who had trouble finding somewhere.

I would certainly reccommend The Waltons as both a wedding venue and hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkDickson186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Went for a meal on Friday night, always suspicious when you see a long menu - usually means most of it is straight out of the freezer and into the microwave ! Plastic menu holders and flowers don't fit with the ambience that they are trying to create at this restaurant. This could be a great place to eat with a little effort - the food that we had was ok - nothing special, the pricing on the menu is all over the place - some mains come with veg, some you have to order at an extra couple of quid per portion - so if you want potato and a green veg expect to a fiver to your main course price. Staff were very friendly and helpful although had no knowledge of the menus ingredients !

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
3  Thank Vic1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Very friendly staff, small and nicely different from the chains - comfortable rooms, well appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtle5954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We held our wedding reception at Waltons and it was perfect, a big thank you to Pauline the manageress and her team.

Despite having lived in Nottingham all our life we only heard about Waltons when searching the web for a wedding venue. The other reviews on tripadvisor were great and one visit to the hotel and we were hooked...

The hotel was originally built as a hunting lodge for Nottingham Castle and is packed full of original features, our family booked up the whole hotel for the wedding so I got to see in many of the rooms and they were all tastefully decorated, some have a separate little dressing area or a balcony. Our guests all said how nice their rooms were - and suprisingly the ones who went to bed early didn't get woken up by the disco etc going on below which is good to know!

The reception itself was really well organised by Pauline who greeted us on arrival with a drink and made sure everything ran to time. The food was excellent and I am especially impressed that they managed to get 70 meals out, all at virtually the same time and to such a high standard.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and our guests really enjoyed themselves, we were a bit worried about where we would have the photos but thankfully it didn't rain and the terrace made a nice area where we all fitted comfortably.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue. In particular we liked how flexible they are about everything, they offer a 'bespoke' package where you can choose just what kind of meal you want (sit down, buffet or bbq) and don't make you order an expensive drinks package. This makes it feel like its really 'your' special day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buttercup26_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

A truly excellent small hotel, well situated for central Nottingham and for the University.
At £89 for a double room, we were not expecting luxury. But we were wrong. It is close to perfection.

A small car park, but enough space even though we arrived at 8pm : plenty of safe parking on the private road outside if we had missed out. A superb quality-furnished double room, with a huge and hugely comfortable double bed on a large mezzanine,. Sitting area, with plenty of room and a decent-sized flatscreen TV. A luxuriously-fitted bathroom with new bath and shower over. Big, fluffy towels and dressing robes.

We stayed for a full meal in the informality of the bar, rather than the restaurant – and enjoyed an outstanding meal at a very reasonable price, plus a good rosé served in professionally-chilled glasses. Really pleasant and professional staff made it all a real celebration, in surroundings that set high standards of style. Management that took the time to talk, yet clearly ran a very efficient and happy team with great pride and devotion.

We enjoyed our stay so much, we returned the next day for a pub lunch – and that was equally fine, with great soup served to top restaurant standards with outstanding fresh breads, plus duck paté and a mix of fresh toast. If the weather had been warmer, the big terrace would have been most enticing.

There was a wedding reception under way after lunch, so we took the opportunity to check out the function room, a very stylishly furbished Savoy Room which cam up to its title. Clearly, they can cope with a great range of functions, as well as providing a great welcome for the night-stop traveller.

Not everything was perfect. The breakfast, although copious enough, was a little tired – but with a breakfast buffet up to 10.30 at weekends, that was more compensated. But so much was right that we cannot give the Walton’s Hotel anything less than a top score. If you’re visiting Nottingham, stay at the Waltons. And if you’re not, go out of your way to give it a try. It’s a welcome exception of stylish individuality in this increasingly-average world of chain hotels. First class.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StygerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 41 in Nottingham
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#7 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £83 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing