We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
455 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“A relaxing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel and we were very impressed with all aspects of its operation. The reception staff were extremely friendly, the weather wasn't, so our stay at Walton's helped to compensate.
Our room was very big and at 80 Euros a night was great value. Breakfast was included and the breakfasts were enjoyable - typically English, if that's what you like.
The hotel is approximately 15 to 20 minutes walk to the centre of Nottingham, so location wise it is okay.
The hotel has a restaurant which we understand from talking to several locals, offers a very good menu at a reasonable cost.
Overall, clean, spacious, friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    123
    64
    29
    37
See reviews for
108
166
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

After checking the excellent reviews on trip advisor I thought I would book 1 nights stay at the Waltons Hotel bed & breakfast costing £88.00. Location is fairly good and is only a short £5.00 taxi ride into the centre. On arrival the car park was full being only tiny could hold 6 or 7 cars but this was not too much of a problem as there was plenty of street parking which the hotel would give you a pass for. When we arrived there was nobody on the reception we waited 5 minutes after pressing the bell and we were thenfinally checked in to (room 32) we were not given any information with regards to breakfast time, where to go for breakfast etc. We also asked for a taxi to be booked for us and were told that we would receive a phone call in our room to confirm this, this phone call was never received and I had to go and ask on reception only to be told they had forgotton. Room 32 was a fairly small twin room and really was very dull dark dated a small plastic tv, chipped china bowl, broken lock on the bathroom, broken toilet blush! I did not expect any of this after reading trip advisor reviews. Next onto the bar again no bar men we were stood waiting again not wat we expected. The bar had a very poor choice of beverage & only 1 real ale. Not somewhere we fancied staying for more than 1 drink. We did have a very good nights sleep though the bed was lovely as were the pillows. Breakfast the next morning was the biggest let down for me being a Chef we were sat down very quickly and received our tea and coffee straight away which was great but things quickly got worse we had milk sitting on our table before arrival this had hair floating in it, we then went to the buffet style breakfast service the plates were very cold and we then opened up each hot cupboard to find in the first one no bacon and a few sausages which were not even warm, the second compartment has some beans, mushrooms and scrabbled egg in again this looked like it had not been tendered to very often, In the 3rd compartment there was grilled tomatos terribly over cooked along with awfully dry black pudding again all this was cold. After 10 minutes 2 girls came out and had a look wat was left it was if they did not want to cook to much of anything as it may get wasted??? Well they then returned to the kitchen and came back 5 minutes later with some bacon which was very pale and fatty. Breakfast was a real let down and is normally the highlight of my day not at the waltons! On a positive the sausage and bacon were off a good quality.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pitchisshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just stayed for one night in November. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the centre of Nottingham. The room was quiet, clean and large and the breakfast was good. It is certainly a hotel worth considering if you're visiting Nottingham.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Situated in what looked like an area with a high student population, the building looks impressive outside, but inside is quite tired. The hotel car park is small, so a dash inside the hotel for a residents car parking permit, in order to park in the streets is needed.

We ate at the restaurant and had a delicious meal, which was a reasonable price. The restaurant was quiet, which could not be said of the rest of the hotel. We gained the impression that the hotel bar is used by locals as their local - which made it quite busy.

There was a noisy private function going on, in a room opposite the bar which seemed to go on until the early hours. Some of these guests eventually began noisily making their way to their rooms, to carry on their party - which I have to say, gave us a sleepless night.

We would not return to stay at this hotel. ( I accidently pressed swimming pool on my review and change it - this hotel does not have a swimming pool).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candylanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Have been trying for 18 months to get a room at waltons whenever I am in Nottingham, and managed to het in last Thursday night . Very welcoming hotel , great location for the city , we stayed in room 31 and it was a lovely bay windowed room , spotlessly clean. , bed was comfy , lovely bar and very helpful staff. Also car parking free . Would recommend to anyone . A pleasure to stay here .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We booked late as we had to attend a funeral. The staff were courteous and friendly, the manageress was lovely. We had a super room. and dined well in the amazing Monkey room. Lots of original features, tastefully decorated, lovely furnishings. Situated on the edge of the gorgeous Park estate. We shall return under happier circumstances. I hate to add a niggle but the Wednesday self service breakfast wasn't very hot and the waitress wasn't friendly. Apart from that it is 5 star!

Room Tip: We booked late and had a room at the back, which was lovely and very quiet, Nottingham rd can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Our visit was for a family (four of us) lunch, based on my wife's recommendation.
Walton's is a quiet, classical Georgian hotel and restaurant just out of Nottingham's actual city centre. Parking is limited, but there is on-street availability nearby.
We mixed the Special Two Course lunch with the a la carte desserts, as two of us wanted then Bailey's creme brulee.
For £10.95, (the Two Course Special), this really is very good value.
The mackerel pate starters were full of flavours - we'd definitely recommend this.
For the mains we had Fish of the Day (Sea Bream risotto) and Chicken stir fry on noodles. Both were excellent - cooked freshly, to perfection, and definitely using good quality ingredients.( I reviewed Yod Siam in Beeston recently and would say that the Walton's cook noodles as they should be. This is how to do stir-fry!). The stir-fry left that pleasant after-taste of spicy, tangy flavours - no bland, greasy lining in the mouth with this one.
The other three had cheesecake and Bailey's creme brulee - again the textures (not always achieved in brulees) and tastes were spot on!
The food then was faultless for taste and presentation and we all agreed that it was a 5 out of 5 for all parts of the meal.
Service was very efficient, attentive and prompt, - but maybe the waitresses could have smiled a little more and showed a little more enthusiasm in their work. (This doesn't apply to the guy behind the bar - he'd got it just right.) Okay, that is being "picky" but it's the small things that can make that big difference. (This is where Darley's in Derby, for instance, shade it over Walton's). 4 out 5 here.
The restaurant is a pleasure to be in (in terms of decor, cleanliness and setting) and when the weather permits has a lovely outdoor seating area.
If it was possible, we'd have given it four and a half out five - very close to excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#35 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing