We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed one night at the Waltons Hotel to see the Stereophonics, I was delighted with our stay there, the room has a nice old world charm, but was very comfortable with a super clean modern bathroom, two flat screen TV's, very clean and well prepared, Service from all staff was spot on, We also enjoyed an early bird mean in the resteraunt which was high quality as was the super multi course breakfast the next morning (incl smoked salmon on scrambled eggs with fresh lemon). All in all Id have been happy paying a lot more for this hotel and the meals. Would we stay there again? YES!!!!! It was perfect for us.

Room Tip: I have a favorite room, but I'm not telling as I may want it again and don't want to create...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    120
    64
    28
    37
See reviews for
108
163
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Main problem was the lack of any heating in my bedroom having returned at about 9.00 pm. from an enjoyable sojourn into town (quite impressed with my first visit to Nottingham) on a bitterly cold November evening. This was not to my delight particularly as I had been struggling with a nasty head cold all week. I adjusted the setting from 2 to 5 with little or no effect. I went down to reception to explain the issue and was offered that someone would take a look and the use of a 2-bar electric which I gracefully declined and headed into the bar area to procure a hot whiskey to try to warm up (being charged £6 for the privilege which I thought a little steep).
Checking with the reception lady a little later she indicated that someone had checked and there was now a little heat building up so all would be well. I had my doubts but decided to leave it at that, and after another brief interlude in the bar, my doubts were confirmed on returning to a distinctly frosty room with no heat. I did note on a toilet visit at some point in the middle of the night that hey presto we finally had heat on the radiator but even still it seemed to be struggling to raise the temperature in what was quite a big old room. I did mention it again on checking out the following morning to another receptionist who mumbled something about them still trying to adjust timing to the winter time change (over two weeks previously!) and showed a distinct lack of interest.

Other than that, pretty average, no more no less. Breakfast was ample but the quality and service was no more than adequate.

Will be trying somewhere else on my next visit which I hope won't be too long as the city seemed to be well worth another visit

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donaldmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for one night early November. Ample parking at the rear and good welcome on arrival with an easy check-in. Very comfy bed and warm douvet, although the room temperature was chilly when we arrived so turned up the radiator and it warmed up eventually. The shower cubicle was a bit tight and you couldn't run the water before stepping in because it would have gushed out over the floor, so be prepared. We had lunch in the bar area which was very nice. The breakfast was hot and cold buffet and very tasty and plentiful. Slight disturbance from the couple in the next room having a late night conversation in normal speaking voices but this is not the fault of the hotel. All in all would recommend this hotel if visiting Nottingham for a few days as it had lots of character and charm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had our Civil Wedding Ceremony and Reception at this beautiful place on November 1st 2013, everything from start to finish was faultless..
The Civil Ceremony was beautiful, the food was beautiful and the evening was beautiful , what more can I say.
Thank you to Pauline and the staff for making it a day that we will never forget.

Room Tip: The bridal suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Waltons Hotel has an old fashioned charm about it- the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We attended a wedding here and the food was delicious.

Located just on the outskirts of the city - a short walk will get you into the city centre or I believe there are buses which stop close by.

Lots of choice at breakfast.

One slight caution - the hot water in the bedrooms is extremely hot so you will need to take care.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProperOfficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks.
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here for one night in November. Requested a quiet room and that is what we got. Our room was beautifully decorated with an excellent bathroom. Plenty of space for unpacking. Great flatscreen TV. Table for my husband's laptop. Everything we needed really, right down to the kettle!

Breakfast was well organised, buffet style. Everything was hot and delicious. Toaster's performance was a bit hit'n miss, but aren't they always?

All in all we had a lovely stay. Will definitely come back here again when we are next in Nottingham.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairylightqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We really enjoyed all aspects of our stay. The décor was a refreshing change from the usual standard hotel room. A comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom including bath as well as shower, everything very clean. The breakfast were good and having dined in the restaurant the first night we were happy to do the same the following evening. We found all the staff very pleasant and extremely helpful. Would like to return sometime

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#36 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.8 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing