We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Much better than expected.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was really looking forward to our stay here. Most of the reviews are good and the photos look lovely.

I wasn't disappointed, we checked into room 22 and the size of the room was good, well furnished and decorated. It was clean and had everything we required. The room overlooked the main road and patio area. I was a bit concerned about noise at night. We were fortunate enough to stay on a quiet night with no functions so had no problem and slept all night. We did go out into town for dinner and a show so got back to the hotel at about 11pm where we had a nightcap in the bar.

The bed was very comfortable. The only complaint was the room was hot, but the weather had taken a good turn and was a lovely day, we just opened the window so no problem really.

The staff are very welcoming, friendly and professional. The lady on reception gave us a map and directed us into town. Which is within walking distance so a great location for hitting the shops, bars and the arena.

Breakfast was lovely. Plenty of choice of cereal, fresh fruits, bread, pastries, etc. Then you get to choose from the menu for your hot breakfast. I had the haddock & poached eggs, hubby had the full English both were delicious.

Next time we are in Nottingham I will definitely stay here again. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    123
    64
    29
    37
See reviews for
108
166
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

It's always good at the Walton's. Service 100% and food fantastic. I'm with Shane smith who is very fussy with food but loved it. As I did too. I love the ambience and outside patio . Would definitely come again. It's a great place for functions and just sitting outside . They have a nice area to sit in the sun or just inside. I'd recommend it to everyone who likes a classy venue.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faithless13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I booked at this hotel as a result of many positive Tripadvisor reviews but we were, if anything just a bit disappointed. In one way it is a small thing that the T.V. set in the room did not have a adequate remote control and, although we asked for a replacement, the second one was also faullty - or was it the T.V.? The bed was comfortable but we were glad that we asked for a quiet room as noisy functions downstairs on both nights could have disturbed those wanting to sleep. Some of the noise drifted up to us. Breakfast was quite O.K. but it did not sparkle. So our stay was not as good as we had hoped and we would look else where another time. The bill however was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valueallreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Luckily I knew which hotel I wanted to stay at and this visit was better, if possible, than the last time. The room this time was stunning, but I wont tell which number as it'll always be full. The beds are luxurious , but at least I managed to get out in time for a very appetising but civilised breakfast , served by a polite young lady. And the lady on reception last night (tuesday) very friendly & chatty. Will come back & have already recommended to friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed in a beautiful cosy room right at the top of the hotel. The beds were extremely comfortable, furnishings unique and interesting and both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The inclusive breakfast was lovely with cereals, fruit, yoghurts, pastries, toast plus all the ingredients for a full English cooked breakfast. The staff on reception and in the restaurant were very welcoming and friendly. Looking forward to staying here again later in the year.

Room Tip: The room right at the top of the hotel was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Room 17 was allocated for us, but beware it really is tiny. The hotel was clean; the room was dust free and quite spotless. A massive up side to a tiny room is that it was beautifully warm and cosy which made for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was tasty, available was fruit, yoghurt, pastries, full English and cereal,all presented in a buffet style to help yourself to. Staff extremely polite and very helpful. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairy_hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Fantastically comfortable bed. Great view out of bay window at the front - facing the main road but NOT noisy due to double glazing. Authentically historical and quirky. Comfortable and reasonable Residents' Bar. Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast. Excellent drench shower. What more can we say? Would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#35 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing