We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning room and lovely atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning room and lovely atmosphere!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a lovely stay here when going to the glee club for our anniversary in 2012. We upgraded to the suite and we were not disappointed! Gorgeous!! The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was yummy with plenty of options. The parking is a little limited but the staff provided us with street parking permits so that was no problem. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer and make the most of this beautiful hotel. Hope to one come back one day and try the restaurant too.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katewolf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    127
    65
    30
    38
See reviews for
108
168
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I travel quite a lot for work and am often put up in the usual suspects, which while good, often lack character. This hotel makes up for some slight deficits by having a charm of its own. Set in a Georgian house in a Georgian district, it has some interesting spaces, including a good size terrace occupied on the evening I was there by a large group of students from the nearby university. Bedroom was small but efficient and had character and charm. We ate one night in a private room and the food was ok (if a little pretentious in a 90s, literary way - deconstructed steak pie and cheesecake). Service was friendly and helpful. The car park in an experience but there is ample street parking with a permit from reception. I would definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Where do I start! Well we stayed in room 25 which was meant to be one of the 'better' rooms. Upon arrival we were checked in and told where our room was, as soon as we entered the room that was when our faces dropped, we didn't even start unpacking and there was no chance we were spending the night in that room.
We decided to take photos of the many faults with the room and as you can see from them, the room was full of bubbling wallpaper, damp and cracks. along with this the bath had a patch of rust and the TV and bedroom light did not work! on the whole the room was unclean and dust could be picked up off many of the surfaces with my finger.

After a short discussion we complained to reception, but this was to no avail as they were no help at all. We stayed in February and only a few days ago did the manager of the hotel say that our complaints were due to personal preference! Well if anyone's personal preference is an unclean room with damp and cracking walls then id like to meet them!
A complaint handled very poorly in my eyes.

We ended up staying at Best Western Westminster hotel which was in another league compared to the Waltons. Also please note that the rooms do NOT contain DVD Players which is clearly stated that they DO on the website.

Overall the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Would not recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
41 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Walton H, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry for your recent experience regarding the condition on your room during your stay with us.

Since the recent change in ownership, there are significant improvements being made throughout the whole hotel including the rooms. We are working hard to ensure our guests have the best possible experience when they stay with us and I hope you will see this transformation should you decide to book with us again.

Regards
The Walton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Upon arrival we found the hotel clean, tidy and the staff very pleasant. The location was good with the City Centre only a short walk away. Our room was a good size with all that was required. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and I can honestly say it was one of the finest meals we have had, the whole experience was excellent. The only down side to the stay was being woken at 0600 with music coming from from the kitchen area otherwise it was very a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have to admit it didn't start well when the sat nav kept sending us round in circles and then the receptionist sent us down to Sainsbury's to buy our own soya milk but I was soon won over as the hotel staff are friendly and helpful and all the rooms were warm and cosy. Free wifi everywhere in the hotel too which was great. Fabulous breakfasts - I had something different every day from the menu and it was all excellent - and beautifully presented too. We would definitely stay again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaymanEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews we booked this hotel for a nights stay to celebrate our anniversary. We had a lovely time. The location is great, on a hill but this is not a problem if mobile, only a short walk to town and the castle. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, booking us a taxi to take us out for dinner. We enjoyed drinks in the hotel, after returning from dinner, in the hotels bar sat by the fire. The room was clean and the bed was cosy, a quiet and comfortable nights sleep. The hotel is old and quirky, with brilliant history - some of the imperfections adds to its character! The breakfast in the morning was fabulous. Would recommend to all and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed at Walton's hotel when visiting my so who is at Nottingham Uni and living on Raleigh Park student village. Good location not too far from Raleigh park and fairly short walk into the city centre. Lovely comfortable bed. Nice room. Very helpful staff. Enjoyable breakfast. Other reviews said the road was noisy but we didn't find it too bad at all and our room was at the front of the hotel. I will stay there again next time I visit Nottingham.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 49 in Nottingham
517 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#17 of 49 in Nottingham
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing