We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay in room 21!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“do not stay in room 21!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the waltons in early march, initially we thought the hotel seemed nice, but after looking around decided it was stuck somewhere between 1980/1990! The hotel itself needs a bit of love and attention, and certainly a lick of paint, particulary in the room we stayed in. The bathroom was nice, although the taps were not fixed properly and had a life of their own! At around 12am we were woken by a constant droning noise, possibly a dishwasher or air vent. the noise continued all through the night and considering I sleep with earplugs in,it was extremely loud. Then, around 6ish (I believe, because by then I had lost the will to live), the horrendous noise of tables being dragged around below us! I gave up all hope of getting any sleep and put the telly on. We went down for breakfast which was a pretty mediocre affair. Upon checking out, we were not asked initially if we had a good stay, the receptionist knew we had room 21, and seemed to be avoiding the question. When she finally did ask us if we had a good stay, we told her no. She seemed shocked,( although there are lots of things on here with regards to room 21, and they are proud to show their ratings certificate with trip adviser in the hall way)! and offered us a comments form to fill in. So, 7 weeks after no contact from them i've decided to write my review! I feel very let down by this hotel, they were very keen to take our money, but do not have the decency to sort out a now very disgruntled customer. Shame on you 'The Waltons'.

Room Tip: avoid room 21 at all costs, if no other rooms available go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Walton-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to hear of the problems with your room but I can assure you they will be actioned by our management team. This will include ensuring that our staff are fully aware of room occupancy so that guests are not disturbed by any unnecessary noise from our restaurant or kitchens.

Since the change in ownership, we are working hard to ensure our guests have the best possible experience when they stay with us, and there are significant improvements being made both in the hotel, bar and restaurant. I hope that you are able to see for yourself if you ever need to book a room in Nottingham again.

Regards
The Walton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    127
    65
    30
    38
See reviews for
108
168
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had a lovely stay here staff very helpful carnt wait for my next visit Owen in the restaurant was our waiter a charming young who made our stay very welcoming wish we had stayed for more than one night

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding booked here, the hotel sold to new owners and with 3 months to go before our wedding the new owner increased prices massively amongst other significant changes, forcing us to cancel. She wouldn't speak to us to discuss it, insulted all couples with weddings booked there on her Facebook page, calling us all 'chavs' and generally the whole things has been handled disgustingly. I would not recommend this venue, a shame as it used to be great but she has single handedly ruined the feel and the service at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
27 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I booked a family room in March 2013 to stay August 2014 the price quoted was £70:00. However, since the hotel has been taken over by new management the prices have rocketed. We were advised that the new price for the same family room is a massive £160:00, which is a increase of between 120 and 125%. With such a huge increase we have had to cancel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
45 Thank Traysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Walton H, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the new prices having not visited the hotel. The old room tariffs had not been reviewed for a long time and were out of line with competitors in the area.

Since the change in ownership, we are now regularly reviewing our rates and special offers to check they are in line with our competitors and the market as a whole. You may also find last minute discounts through third party booking sites and the soon to be implementing booking engine on our website.

We are working hard to ensure our guests have the best possible experience when they stay with us, and there are significant improvements being made both in the hotel, bar and restaurant. I hope that you are able to see for yourself if you ever need to book a room in Nottingham again.

Regards
The Walton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was torn when given this hotel a rating because one the one hand I would give it a 2, on the other hand I would give it a 5, so I have settled pretty much mid way. To start with the positive, we were in room 20 and were pleased with the cleanliness and the layout of the room. We also enjoyed the food at the hotel, although we were expecting a better choice for breakfast on Sunday. According to my brother-in-law there was an additional menu on Saturday, and breakfast was altogether better ( however, that was his opinion, not mine). In addition the waitress on duty at Sunday breakfast appeared to be rather miserable- but then we are all entitled to "off-days"! All the rest of the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The downside of our stay was the noise from either a party, private function or disco. It started about 9pm and continued until after midnight. We might as well have been with the revellers such was the level of noise in our room. If it had not been for the fact we were there to attend a family celebration the following day, we would have packed and left. I appreciate that hotels such as this do use their function rooms, and that people should have the right to enjoy their parties - however, for those not "invited" it is sheer misery, and we had very little sleep.
Would we stay again - possibly because we did like the hotel and the location was great - but we would not chose to stay at the weekend again.

Room Tip: Very noisy in room 20 when there are functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

What a lovely place just stayed one night with my mum and sister .had a good nights sleep ,the early bird was very nice a good value Owen and Zoe who served us in the restaurant were very good at they job ,had a lovely breakfast plenty to choose from will stay again when down that why .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loftus-sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a lovely stay here when going to the glee club for our anniversary in 2012. We upgraded to the suite and we were not disappointed! Gorgeous!! The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was yummy with plenty of options. The parking is a little limited but the staff provided us with street parking permits so that was no problem. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer and make the most of this beautiful hotel. Hope to one come back one day and try the restaurant too.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katewolf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 49 in Nottingham
518 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#17 of 49 in Nottingham
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing