We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does well given limits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Does well given limits”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Location is convenient but this is more a guest house than a hotel. Staff are friendly and the hotel is clean; bar and patio are very nice also. We also had a good meal in the restaurant. However the rooms are very very small, although cosy. There is no late bar - you are left getting drinks from the night porter's fridge - even red wine! Parking is very poor also - a result of the location. The hotel is ok for a very short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beahive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Walton-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.
We have a range of rooms on offer from our Doubles to Superior and King size, and we have different rates depending upon the room type chosen.
I'm sorry you had difficulty parking, we are currently in the process of an exciting redevelopment program which means we sometimes have skips occupying spaces in the car park. We do however have plenty of parking in the private street alongside the hotel.
One of the enhancements of our upgrade program is to install minibars in each room with a comprehensive range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and snacks.
We do hope you decide to visit the hotel again in the future and see many more improvements in action.
Regards
The Walton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    127
    65
    30
    37
See reviews for
108
168
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Walton for one night in July 2014. We were a little apprehensive after reading the recent reviews here, but we had a really positive experience.
We stayed in room 26, which we think must have been renovated, as it looked freshly painted. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, and shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion and hand wash were all provided, which was a nice touch.
Another bonus was that the free wi-fi actually worked - so many hotels promise this but then have a connection so poor it's unusable.
Breakfast was great, with lots of hot and cold options - we had the eggs benedict and eggs royale and they were delicious.
All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful.
At the time we booked, our room was only a few pounds more expensive than Travelodge, but the experience was far better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frawhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Charming hotel in good location with great breakfasts, nice patio and bar, pleasant staff and comfy beds. However, the room we had was very small (though we were told it was the bridal suite!) and there are many steps throughout the hotel - even within our own room! No elevators. Antique furniture varies between tired and oppressive. Old wood windows, generally very much in need of an update. Car park only big enough for 8 cars max.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marannstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Was not expecting much as Nottingham is a bit of a sad case as far as cities goes. But from the minute we arrived we were impressed with The Walton. Average sized room but adequate. But the bed, I want to buy it. So comfortable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank oldskool1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had my wedding reception here on return from my wedding in Italy. We paid roughly £2000 for rental of the rooms and food which i thought was a great price and the place was so beautiful and ornate inside - i was impressed. The wedding planner at the time was Pauline who was really helpful and the staff in the evening were always polite and smiling. The food they laid on was lovely and plenty of it.
Having said that the bridal suit could have done with some updating and the room was so unbelievably hot it was uncomfortable. The bed as well was solid and not good if you wanted to chill out at the end of the evening.
The only thing that really spoils this venue is the fact that it is on a very busy main road and the terrace over looks probably not one of the most lovliest areas of Nottingham. Its sad news to think that what could have been a really good venue is now in the hands of such prats!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sazza1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Went here for a Sunday lunch, slightly apprehensive after the recent mixed reviews however our meal was excellent. Thought the lunch menu was good value for money. Staff were friendly and attentive.
The hotel area is looking a bit tired but hopefully this will be included in part of its refurb.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blwalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and did have a quick look on here before hand which showed quite a few bad reviews about wedding cancellations which was a worry!
Having stayed here however I thought the place was excellent, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the wedding reception was spot on. Room was nice and clean and comfortable and quiet.
Ok it appears they want to move away from weddings which is fair enough, its not a big hotel so I think its much better suited as a bar/restaurant venue if they renovate it (which they appear to be doing judging by the signs in the car park).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandallJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#33 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing