We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant, shame about one staff member”

The Gap Inn Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery
Ranked #1,096 of 1,405 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Sizzling Pubs we believe the people of Nottingham deserve more from their local pub. And it's our job to give you just that. We're a friendly bunch and we pride ourselves on giving the warmest of welcomes. We're committed to seeking out the very best quality ingredients at prices that are honest and fair. We're a real part of the local community, proud to support local charities and projects and offer our function area to locals and groups. We're local to Bottesford, Allington and Sedgebrook so whether you're up for a party, watching sport, meeting with friends and family or just relaxing and taking the time to unwind, The Gap Inn is the pub putting the sizzle in Nottingham.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, shame about one staff member”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The last time we visited was April 2012. Up until then, we were frequent visitors. The Gap Inn is excellent. The carvery is superb and the ambience lovely. We do hope to visit again sometime very soon.

However, we are still put off by our experience with one staff member - June - at our last visit. Her attitude towards us was appalling. Really rude. We are a typical family of five (three young children). We are quiet, do not make a fuss and respectful of the premises, staff and other customers. June seemed to take an instant dislike of us because we were using vouchers that we printed off the website.

It really is none of June's business whether we are paying with vouchers or not. She made us all very uncomfortable and ruined our family meal. I did put forward a complaint about her to the Restaurant Manager - Kris. Whilst he was polite and friendly, I'm not sure he took my complaint seriously and discipline June appropriately for her appalling attitude to polite and respectful customers.

We would like to visit again in the next couple of weeks. Can we be assured that June will welcome us in a friendly and professional manner and not make us feel so uncomfortable as she did on our last visit?

If a customer wants to pay with a voucher, this is no reason for any staff member to look down on them. Is it, June?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    46
    25
    30
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gtown
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

On the way home near lunch time on the A 52 ,we both needed re fueling so swung into the muston gap car park ,7 mins later we were eating a carvery ,both opted for turkey which was ok if not a little tad crispy. The veg was ok as were the potatos, its all ok , it aint fine dining but its less than a fiver for a quick lunch and that s what we were after . To sum it up if your passing swing in ,its clean ,quick and fills a hole.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conemanGtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very basic restaurant- NO gluten free”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I appreciate this is a carvery however, they advertise outside that they do pub classics. As a gluten intollerance sufferer i thought i would find something i could eat- as i cant have yorkshire puds, stuffing or gravy. BUT the pub classics is only available mon-sat so i had to suffer with a very dry turkey and veg. They do a gluten free pud of choc and cherry cake- nice! but they didnt seem to have any help for any dietary requirements not just gluten free. Wouldnt go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“The 'legendary' carvery at Muston....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This place has literally reached legendary status with my nan and dad, so I was looking forward to eating there myself. We visited on a thursday luchtime, so the carvery was available for a ridiculously cheap £4.19! it was also heaving with pensioners of all shapes and sizes. OK, so fine dining it ain't but it was surprisingly good. Lovely tender meat - gammon, turkey and pork, great selection of veg and bizarrely baked beans! Only slight criticism was the roast potatoes just weren't quite crispy enough and the yorkshires were tiny!

The place was fairly clean and tidy, and if you're on a budget you can't beat it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sahloff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very poor menu”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I will confess that we didn't get as far as actually eating in the Gap Inn, but with the menu limited to food guaranteed to fur up your arteries, we turned and walked straight back out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tarkamerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gap Inn Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery also viewed

Underwood, Nottinghamshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Gap Inn Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing