We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cranbrook House is a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cranbrook House Serviced Apartments
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cranbrook House is a dump”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

What a dump. However this apartment block stays in existence I do not know. To understand checking in you needed to be a college professor with various codes and instructions. If you can get past this stage then you will struggle to understand the poorly english spoken staff. The apartment was cold and smelt of damp, there was even the remains of uneaten food between the bed and the wallside cabinet. Fridge had not been cleaned and the noise from adjacent apartments was at times intollerable. Glad I was only there for a short stay. Will certainly not re-visit even if it was free.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    8
    3
    13
See reviews for
16
17
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The apartment itself was nice (modern decor and comfortable bed) and had a fully equipped kitchen. We felt pretty secure as you had to have a code to get into the building. The self-check in procedure was a little time consuming and can be confusing. You could clearly hear the water running through the pipes which was very annoying and the hallway smelled heavily of smoke but it was fine inside the apartment. Overall, we had a good stay. It was worth it for the price. We had our dog with us and were pleased to find that there is a dog friendly pub 3 minutes walk away "Bunkers Hill."

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katnmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Without doubt the most atrocious serviced apartments I have ever stayed in
Check in procedure is an absolute joke. You get an email with a set of codes on to walk through various doors and then another code fur a shared safe where your keys are located, when you check out you put your keys back in said safe.
Ask yourself this, if there are several ppl checking in on a weekend, what happens if someone takes your keys by mistake, or maliciously takes your keys? Not safe it professional at all
The block is a few years old and very tired most apartments are rented by students and there are a selection of services apartments for rent
The is no concierge and no staff after 5pm so if you need a towel or have an issue checking in, you have a mobile number to call for the on call staff - one day I called this number 9 times and was ignored on every occasion.
As its a residential apartment block, if you pay for parking don't be surprised if someone from the residential side parks in it trying their luck- a similar scenario with all blocks I think.
The room was disgusting no tea or coffee no toiletries no towels.
Bed was awful room smelled damp and there was a sofa in there that looked like it had been rescued from a tip, seriously it was hands down the worst apartment I have ever stayed in, the only average thing about it is the location is close to lace market which I needed
I have since stayed at premier apartments a hundred meters up the road which is head and shoulders above this dump
Don't do it you will regret it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

What a great weekend in Nottingham!! Shopping spree was fab, a wide variety of shops and the apartment was wonderful. The staff are helpful and friendly, our 2 bed apartment was lovely, nice and clean. Definitely book there again !! No hassle of waiting at a Hotel reception to be checked in. Self check- great concept.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We had a really good experience here, we booked through booking.com and the reviews there seemed very good. the apartment was well presented, clkean and the location is very central - goiod experience would recommend - see booking.com reviews as there are about 100+

Room Tip: book direct we did and we wrer upgraded to a 2 bed 2 bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186220Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We were visiting Nottingham to attend the Nat Schools Rowing and needed somewhere for 2 adults and 2 kids for 1 night. Check-in procedures were a little complex (not uncommon with serviced apartments) but worked fine. The apartment was good, nicely decorated, clean and well equipped. The kitchen was good, tea, coffee and milk sachets was a nice touch. Short walk to the town for food and then we chilled in the lounge making use of the free wifi and watching tv. Overall it was ideal for our family and better than some apartments we've used.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My partner and i planned to stay here xmas eve. We arrived around 6ish due to working and was looking forward to spending time with family at Christmas and staying in 4* apartment.
I feel our xmas was ruined has the apartment was disgusting! And nothing like the pictures on the website. It was dirty ,smelt funny, not been cleaned and plug socket was hanging off the wall!! We tried to contact all three numbers we had been given but with no reply we left a voice mail and a note back with the keys as this was a self service check in! And found a true 4* accommodation (just what we wanted to do late xmas eve!)
We never heard anything so tried to contact the apartments just to be told someone would be in touch. After weeks of not hearing i asked for the managers number myself, I have never spoken to such a rude selfish person in my life! He basically made us out to be liars and refused to give us our money back! Been a business owner my self I know i would treat my customers in this way, all he's bothered about is money. I could go on but i think I've made my point. DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CjT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 49 in Nottingham
1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranbrook House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbrook House Serviced Apartments

Property: Cranbrook House Serviced Apartments
Address: Cranbrook Street, Nottingham NG1 1ES, England (Formerly Nottingham Centre Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranbrook House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cranbrook House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing