We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No where better”

The Cods Scallops (Bramcote Lane)
Ranked #29 of 1,410 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My sister mentioned the Cod and Scollops some weeks ago. So we had to visit. We were so delighted with their fish and chips, simply the best we ever tasted. It’s been our regular since. Even when it’s busy the food standards never drop. Highly recommended

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank P1177UGstever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018

We like our fish and chips - and we definitely enjoy coming here to dine on this British classic.
What separates the Cods Scallops from the standard chippy is not least because cod and chips are only the start - they have an array of freshly caught sea food and know how to prepare it.
We love the tiger prawns but will be moving through the various array of fishes available in due course.
Worth a visit - it can get very busy so if you're hoping for the sit down option it's probably worth phoning and booking ahead.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dryut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

So after hearing how good this place was , myself and my better half finally paid a visit, we arrived at 1130 so everything was fresh , we ordered x2 good large chips with peas and gravy , and thought we'd give steamed sampfire a go.... and the whole lot was absolutely fantastic, so full of flavour and good value...definitely worth the hype

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Stevenorton363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately the quality of the food has gone down. The chips always seem overcooked and the fish is often dry. Service is still efficient though.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank crumpscastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

I had to queue from out the door and even when inside, it was rammed full of people waiting for their takeout order which worked on a separate order and collection point system. Because of this, you don’t see them prepare your meal and so I didn’t notice that they missed the salt and vinegar despite me making a point of asking for lots of salt and vinegar at the order point.

Having said that, the food was very tasty and they gave us extra crispy bits of batter on the side, which my wife loves.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 481stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cods Scallops (Bramcote Lane) also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Cods Scallops (Bramcote Lane)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing