We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here on a De Vere offer £29.00 per night. The hotel is as described very light, airy, modern and new. Bringing the outdoors inside is a great idea, loved the green carpets and earth colour decor.
All staff were friendly helpful polite, we did not eat here, so cannot comment on restaurant etc.
Our room was extremely clean and bright, lovely view of the University grounds from our window.
We will be returning.

Room Tip: We asked for a top floor room away from the lifts to avoid possible noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for a great review and i hope you will choose the Orchard Hotel, when returning to Nottingham.

All the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    531
    122
    32
    30
See reviews for
212
499
45
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for one night on short notice as was attending a conference. (The previous night I stayed in the Halls of Residence which is not recommended).

The building itself looks wonderful and the reception is really nice and bright. Staff very helpful on arrival and throughout.

Rooms are lovely - I had a standard twin - with everything you need. Bathroom decor is very nice too. Bed comfortable and plenty of space.

Breakfast was very good too, with a pretty wide variety. The chips available as a bar snack must be up there with the best I've had. Just add salt n vinegar!

Excellent value overall. Would definitely consider if in Nottingham again.

Room Tip: Not aware of any bad ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for a great review and i am so pleased you will choose the Orchard Hotel, when returning to Nottingham.

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

stayed here for a few days while our Daughter was in the nearby hospital.
first impressions are good, light airy & modern,(no information about the hotel offered by the front desk, or even where our room might be!) room reasonable size , as was the bathroom. though lack of space for clothing really betrayed the reason for the hotels existance, business customers from the next door conference centre.
food was of reasonable quality and tasty enough, unfortunately, apart from the first night the bar staff seemed quite new to the job and their manager downright rude.
the worst part of the hotel is what appears to be a total lack of soundproofing between rooms. luckily my wife was very tired, so wasn't kept up till the early hours by the 4 people partying in the next room! she wasn't so lucky the next night after i had left, she was kept awake until 2 am by the american woman in the next room describing what she was going to do to her boyfriend when she next saw him!!!!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs, and stay away from the lifts, all the doors are very noisy when closing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. Reviews are used by customers to post valid comments for other travellers and i would like to the chance to respond.

We clearly failed to meet your expectatoins and for this i can only apologise. Service and the quality of customer care we instill in the the team has driven the sucess that we have already experienced since our opening 6 months ago.

Your comments about the sound proofing in the bedrooms concern me for a number of reasons. Firstly all our bedrooms are DB rated and checked prior to opening and have a achieved a score of 43db bertween rooms and we would not have been allowed up to open if this was not met by the buidling regulations imposed on us. Secondly there was no indication in your review that you contacted the team on duty to asssit you in controlling the noise in the adjacent room, surely i can not be held responsible if this is the case.

I wish you the very best,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst working in Nottingham and found the hotel to be excellent. It is situated within the University of Nottingham and not far from the city centre. There is plenty of parking and check in was quick and easy. The room was of a very good standard with good quality toiletries and towels. I decided to eat at the Brasserie from the bar menu, and this did seem a bit strange having a table that was effectively in the reception area. £11 for burger and fries may seem a bit expensive but it was very good, The problem was that it was served on a board (damn you Jamie Oliver), and as it was quite juicy there was nothing to stop the juices spilling onto the table. Check out was also quick and efficient, and as I got the room for just £29 on Laterooms I was delighted with it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Great review, great comments and please come back and visit us again.

All the best,


Lasse Hogberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

A well appointed hotel with fantastic decor. Although you'll have to be patient if you want a drink at the bar. The light are airey feel to entrance area is carried on into the rooms. The woodland decor in the rooms is rather special.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review and your comemnts are noted.

Wishing you the very best,

Lasse Hogberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed at the hotel in April 03 during a conference on the Prophet Muhammad pbuh. We found it to be a perfect setting, modern clean rooms, big shower, friendly and accommodating staff, nice breakfast, plenty of parking and a stones throw away from the conference centre. Not sure why it's not attached to the hotel, perhaps for noise prevention. I loved the design of the hotel.

The only downside being you're a bit of a distance from any food outlets.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r3vi3w3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Great comments and thank you for these. I am glad yo enjoyed the conferenece you attended.

All the best,


Lasse Hogberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

A very good hotel for the price I paid. Had put my parents here for a night. The room is modern, clean and comfy. The hotel is beautiful. The room was a little small and one could hear the sound of people talking in the neighbouring rooms. Also the wifi, though free did not work in the room. The staff was not helpful either. We had an ironing board but no iron, so called downstairs, but they never bothered to get it. Its a classy hotel in a very beautiful location.



Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sow90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for another great review. I am concerned over the comments about the team as we are all passionate about service and it is never our intention not to deal with issues. I would apprecaite a call to discuss the wifi and iron if you have a moment.

Wishing you all the very best,


Lasse Hogberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing