We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tywford ,England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel the night before the National schools regatta at Holme Pierpoint (about 20 mins away). The hotel is spotless, the rooms excellent and the restaurant really good - which with 5 young rowers to feed useful! The breakfast was really good . The best bit was the lovely lady at breakfast bring the children a small goody bag with a bit of fruit in . We will be back and will share with the rowing community (actually maybe not so we can get a room next time!). The location in the grounds of the university are also lovely, a shame we didn't have time to explore

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonxEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Great review with wonderful comments. I do hope you choose the Orchard Hotel when you are next in Nottingham.

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    536
    125
    33
    30
See reviews for
216
504
45
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

New modern minimalistic hotel, large airy and spacious. Bedrooms are a good size and very clean. Only negative would be the slow service in the restaurant and bar. We went in to the restaurant for dinner about 6.30pm and no one was in there, order taken quickly, food arrived quickly then we were left with no drink re-fills, dirty plates and no one asking if we wanted anything else. Went to the bar to get our own drinks and the service was really slow took over 10 minutes to get 2 drinks. Reception were very efficient on check in and check out but the hotel is let down by the poor service in the restaurant and bar areas. The staff obviousley need some training.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your comments are valid and i realise we have some improvements to make in the Brasserie. All feedback is a gift and is most welcomed. Your honesty is refreshing and will be used to improve the quality of the service.

Thank you,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Service is professional and efficient but still very friendly and the restaurant is very good and inexpensive for the quality of the menu, though the staff could be more professional there. It's a little far from the city and the hotel assumes that you are probably staying for a conference or business on the University campus and do not offer much information beyond the campus. The setting within the campus is very nice and relaxing with gardens and parks and lakeside paths to enjoy. The bedroom was comfortable though too warm and the bathroom was spotless and stylish.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolaoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback. The Brasserie is an area we need to work on and your comments are duly noted.

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A new and fresh hotel, with modern facilities.
A good choice for breakfast but when busy it can be slow to find a clean & empty spot, so go for breakfast early.

Being co-located it's ideal for the Conference Centre.

The hotel is within the Nottingham University campus so ~20 minute walk / 10 minutes drive for offsite restaurants & entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalHSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Great comments, thank you.


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Crisp clean and striking in a peaceful setting. Its a beautifully simple hotel which despite its size is extremely welcoming to the weary traveller.
We were very impressed with the warmth of welcome at reception which was professional and informative.
Our room was small but perfectly functional with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The full size window works really well for enhancing the space.
The bar is reasonably priced with friendly staff although the open plan seating might not be for all.
We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were elsewhere however the breakfast was excellent with great choice especially the full English. If I were to be pernicitty I would say the coffee was weak and lacked early morning punch.....but with nothing else to bump my gumbs about I can only recommend this new hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingElsewhere1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Great comments, for which i thank you. I ams sorry that the coffee was not to your liking.

Welcome back when you are next in Nottingham.

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Organised an event at the Conference Centre and decided to stay overnight at the Orchard Hotel on site ... even though we only live 5 miles from the venue. Great welcome, lovely spacious room with uninterrupted views stretching across the campus to as far as you could see. Comfortable beds big bathroom with eco friendly toiletries plus a well stocked tea/coffee tray. Big upside was the buffet breakfast in the morning - really well cooked and presented; great choice - in fact so good I complimented the Duty Manager! If you are coming to Nottingham and looking for somewhere to stay away from the bustle of the city, do give the Orchard a try.

Room Tip: go for a superior room on one of the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Great comments and thank you for being such a positive advocate for the hotel. Our hard worj as a team is paying off.

Once again many thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This was our first visit to Nottingham and the Orchard Hotel was lovely, although I did feel out of place with my two noisy children! Check-in was slightly late but the staff were very friendly and kept us up to date.The hotel room really surprised me. It had great views, was so spacious and clean (minus a few hairs!) We only stayed for a night so didn't get to try the food but I would love to come back here again with my partner and experience Nottingham for a little longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pershie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review, i do hope that you come back again, we have a wondeful childrens menu for your kids for next time.

Thank you,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
611 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing