We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Spacious and modern”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A beautiful modern hotel. The entrance hall is awesome. The rooms are comfortable (I wanted to take the duvet home!) Rooms have coffee making facilities (with biscuits), safe, iron/ironing board, and free wifi. Bath products provided (although those little plastic bottles are not eco-friendly). Towels are soft and fluffy. Downside? It's out of the centre - OK for University visitors or conference delegates, but not so convenient for general visitors to Nottingham. I got a bargain deal, so it was excellent value for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you fort a great review. I do hope you choose the Orchard Hotel when you are next in Nottingham.

All the best,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    531
    122
    32
    30
See reviews for
212
499
45
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night in August. Both alumnae of the university, we thought it was a great choice, as we could have a look at our old campus!
The hotel was more than affordable, as we stayed on the mid-week rate of about £40 for the room and parking is free, unlike many other hotels in Nottingham. I honestly could not say anything bad about the hotel rooms or the service we received. The only thing that could possibly be improved is the quality of the breakfast. The selection is fantastic, rivalling that of Premier Inn's, but I think the quality of the bacon and sausage could be better.
Other than that, an absolute gem of a hotel in the East Midlands!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch4rlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your comments have been noted.

All the best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Beautiful location on campus grounds. A short taxi ride into town.

Hotel is brand new so modern decor throughout. Friendly staff. Bar was hotel expensive but nice and within a large lovely lobby area. Comfortable room and bed. Nice bathroom with great shower. Sky sports available on TV. Free wifi.

My only problem and the reason I have given 3 stars rather than 5 was breakfast. I don't know if this was a one off occasion due to them being unusually busy that morning (monday 23rd) or whether its new hotel teething problems but breakfast appeared very disorganised and lessened an almost perfect stay.

First a queue to get a table, we then had to clear the table ourself and get our own cutlery, no glasses to get juice, some hot food items ran out mid service, coffee was promised but did not arrive, we asked again but after I had eaten I had given up and went to sit in the lobby while my friends waited for their's until it eventually came. I felt quite sorry for the staff, they appeared to be trying their hardest but running around like headless chickens! They seemed to be either very shortstaffed that morning or everyone was on their first day!

Due to other reviews being good and my otherwise perfect stay I can't imagine that this was a typical breakfast morning so I would give this hotel another chance when next staying overnight in Nottingham.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevnffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very honest feedback. We had a very large conference taking place over the 25th and 26th September and the group descended on the Brasserie on both days earlier than expected which had a knock on effect on the high standards of sevice we usually have. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the poor service on this occassion.

Thank you and i wish you all the best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Just had a 5 night stay, for a conference. Apparently this conference filled the hotel to its capacity for the first time since it opened in Nov 2012. But, it never got too busy or impersonal - the reception staff in particular we're very friendly, remembering my name after only a brief interaction.

I had a room service meal for my first evening: fish finger sandwich, bottle of white, room service surcharge came to £26. Bit steep, but still quite a filling meal. Next night I ate in the hotel brasserie: starter, main, glass of white - came to £28. The dishes were attractive, but absolutely tiny: the previous night's meal was more filling, cheaper, and had 3 times more wine. I think the portion sizes should be increased, or to include a side plate of veg, or advise that most people will need a side of something.

Nice seating area in reception, very popular with the delegates, easy to socialise.

Didn't see the hotel gym, but residence in the hotel entitles you to use the university's 25m pool, an 5 min walk away, through the really attractive grounds.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a great review, comments on the food have been duly noted.

Wishing you the very best,


Lasse Hogberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Pretty basic rooms (Holiday Inn Express standard) but with good wifi! Nice large shower. Comfortable beds and nice bar and restaurant area. We had some bar nibbles which were very nice and breakfast was very vast and lots of choice. They do need more plugs in the work area behind reception however as finding somewhere to plug a laptop in what somewhat challenging but otherwise very good, brand spanking new and shiny!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorisandthehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your very positive comments. We maybe many things, but Holiday Inn Express, i do hope that and you come back and stay with us again.

Wishing you the very best,


Lasse Hogberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stylish modern but you have to like ghastly music constantly piped into all public area. And it's really loud. In fact the open areas and harsh surfaces only serve to amplify this. Bar is techno-impersonal

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and review. I fully understand that you were not happy with the choice of music, which ofcourse we can change at any time, if we are asked to. Not sure i understand what your reference to the bar is.

I wish you you the very best,

Kind Regards,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

As a group of four friends (all lads) who meet up around four times a year for a night out, this Hotel was ideal for us. Located a short taxi trip away from the City Centre, free Wifi throughout the hotel, Sky Sports TV in the room and we got it at a cracking rate booked through Booking.com, would highly recommend this place. Ample parking, quality comfortable modern accommodation and a tasteful, spacious bar area add to the experience. The Hotel offers a help yourself buffet breakfast which at £8.50 is pretty reasonable. All in all, this hotel ticked all the boxes and if stopping in Nottingham agin I would look this place up.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darren1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review, i do hope you come back and choose the Orchard Hotel when you are next in Nottingham.

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing