We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed one night.
Check-in and check-out was a little slow despite all 3 desks operating. There was plenty of parking. The lobby was very large and nicely decorated - there was a huge (real) Christmas tree near the entrance which was nice.
The room itself comprised of a very comfortable 6-foot bed (it was 2 singles pushed together, although you couldn't really feel it) in a spacious room. There was tea/coffee facilities, iron, hairdryer, safe, toiletries (just one general hair/body wash) and a large flat screen tv. The curtains were black-out type which was ideal for me. The bathroom was very spacious with a lovely walk-in shower.

Although I had requested a quiet room with a countryside view, I ended up in the first room next to the lifts and a view of the hotel lobby (!). However, despite not hearing any noise from the lifts; in the morning the banging of the door outside (in the hallway) was quite loud - what with cleaners and people checking out.

We had a very late breakfast at the bar area of full English and bagel with smoked salmon/scrambled egg. The price was reasonable at £10 and £6 respectively, although the full English did not come with any toast, nor could they offer any as their toaster was now 'out of action' (it was 11:45am). The drinks were a little expensive at £3 each for a latte and cappuccino.
We didn't use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on it.

Overall, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the first room(s) after the lifts if you are a light sleeper as there is a door from the lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eggsy_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your stay here with us. All of your comments have been taken on board and will be reviewed, as ensuring our customers leave happy is our top priority. I do hope you decide to visit us at the Orchard Hotel again.

Wishing you all the best and compliments of the season

Kind Regards,
Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    505
    118
    32
    30
See reviews for
208
486
42
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay
Level Contributor
155 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stay for two nights for a long weekend. Check in was pleasent with chatty friendly staff. The room was minimalist ie no draws of any kind and when you are staying two nights, with winter coats it became a challenge to share the 5 fixed clothes hangers and no draw space to store clothes. We ended up living out of the suitcase which is not satisfactory. We suffered some noise from adjoining rooms, hearing them talk, hearing their TV, children noise and noise when they used the bathroom.
Everywhere was new and clean but apart from the lack of storage and thin walls the shower was a disappointment. I like to get wet in shower and not run around to get wet.
Plus points, pleanty of free parking, friendly and helpful bar staff (except they do not sell snacks- crisps, nuts etc ; a missing sales opportunity). We only ate in the hotel for breakfast and in line with numerous other hotels that provide buffet 'hot' food it was luke warm at best.
Would I stay again? probably not.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your latest stay at the Orchard Hotel. Our aim is to ensure our guests have a truly memorable stay, please accept my sincerest apologies for our failure to fully meet your expectations.

All feedback is very important to us and all your above comments will be reviewed.

I wish you all the best and compliments of the season
Kind Regards,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed on Friday night with my husband. Arrived after work to a warm welcome. Although the hotel was busy with many setting out to Christmas parties there was plenty of room for everyone in the lobby and bar area. Our room was lovely- super bathroom with great walk-in shower. Great to have power points next to bed to charge mobile phone. Ate dinner in the restaurant- the food was AMAZING. Enjoyed a few drinks in the bar area. Great breakfast too. Lifts always available. Best hotel stay this year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CNMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us.

Your comments are fantastic.

I wish you all the best and compliments of the season

Kind Regards,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great service, lovely room, would definitely recommend. Just a shame I didn't know about the special rates for parents of Nottingham Uni students until it was too late! Even so, it was a good value stay.

Room Tip: If you're a Uni student parent don't book online - phone the hotel direct for special rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit, I do hope you decide to stay with us again.

Wishing you all the best and compliments of the season

Kind Regards,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here with my partner the last weekend on November. I wanted to be near the Queens Medical Centre as I was taking part in a clinical study.
Reception staff friendly and efficient. Our room was a standard double and our room looked out onto trees so very peaceful and quiet. The room was very clean, the bed was bigger the a double, probably king size which was fab as we're used to a big bed at home!!
We ate in the restaurant, the food was good for a chain hotel too.
In the morning we had the buffet breakfast which was again faultless, all the food hot and stocked up, nothing running out.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be in the middle of Nottingham as well as in a very peaceful part of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynieo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave some fantastic feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that your visit was a memorable one.

The Orchard Hotel is ideally located on the University of Nottingham campus in 330 acres of parkland and still only 2 miles from Nottingham City centre - giving our guests the best of both worlds.

Wishing you all the best and compliments of the season

Kind Regards,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a Saturday night with my partner on 7th of December. Hotel is very impressive from the outside and it doesn't disappoint on the inside either. Friendly, warm and efficient check-in, very large and spacious lobby with bar and trendy seating. The room was lovely and modern with a 'nature' theme that was very relaxing and calm. The bathroom had a large bath that easily accommodated 2 people and the oversized towels were a nice added touch. Very comfey beds and pillows made for a great nights sleep. Breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel, buffet style with a vast choice and again attentive yet friendly service from staff.

We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel, instead against our better judgement decided to walk to the Nurseryman on the A52 about 20 minutes away. One word DON'T, we ended up at Toby Carvery but only because the menu at the hotel did not have anything that we fancied either on the main a la carte or bar menu.

All in all a great nights stay most definitely recommended, with Nottingham just a few minutes away in a taxi.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hedkandiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review and comments about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. I am delighted that your visit was a memorable one and I do hope you visit us again very soon.

Wishing you all the best and compliments of the season.

Kind Regards,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for a weekend trip being significantly more reasonably priced than many of the inner city hotels and seemed like it would make a nice change from the often noisy and cramped rooms in some I've stayed in.
We were quickly checked into our executive room (which as requested was on a high floor and away from stair wells and public areas). The room itself was a bit of a surprise - not standard hotel decor - quite like a high end Ikea display which made a pleasant change. The room itself was airy and spacious with plenty of natural light, nicely kitted out with a large TV and desk. The bathroom was equally spacious with a walk-in shower and all the usual things you'd expect with robes waiting in the wardrobe. The bed itself was incredibly comfortable and we both slept very well, no noise at night or in the morning and nice heavy blackout curtains meant we weren't woken prematurely.
We didn't really get to make full use of the hotel's facilities as we had to head out for most of the day and then only stopped by briefly before heading out for the evening. The staff were very polite and helpful - we'd never stayed in this area of Nottingham before so needed a bit of help in getting in to the centre - which was provided by reception.
Overall an excellent stay the only very minor niggle I would say is the lack of drawers in the room - there is ample wardrobe space but if staying for a few nights it may be a bit awkward, other than that couldn't fault our stay here and it will be first choice when we return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. The comments you have made are fantastic and hopefully upon your return you will have the chance to enjoy the rest of the facilities available. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

I wish you all the best and compliments of the season.
Kind Regards,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.2 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing