We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the sublime to the not at all ridiculous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent the two days,before this at the Rockliffe Hall 5 star hotel, one of the trip advisor top 25....so we're expecting to come to earth with a bang. Not at all, the Orchard was a really nice place to stay over Christmas, it had a good atmosphere and very pleasant staff. The rooms are clean, the beds very comfy and the showers excellent (better than the Rockliffe!). It even has a small gym! The temperature of the room was easily controllable and the lighting, especially as it is an eco hotel was excellent. My only gripes were a very bright led light on the air conditioning control, which had to be covered to make the room dark enough to sleep and the bar food. (Our fish and chips was pretty tiny for £12, served on a wooden board and was served with cold mushy peas in a separate pot. We asked for them to be heated and by the time they returned there was half the quantity first served and our chips were cold!) Apart from this it was extremely good and cheap...and much to our surprise there was a Christmas stocking with some goodies in it left for us outside our door on Christmas morning...a lovely touch...thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boppsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback and comments about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. All feedback is very important to us and is reviewed on a regular basis, all your comments will be taken on board.

I do hope you had a fantastic Christmas and New Year, I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in 2014.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel surpassed our needs for a one-night stop-over in the Nottingham area. Finding the hotel by car is easy enough - provided you've understood that it is located within the University of Nottingham campus, so you'll need to drive onto the campus through the entry gates to get there (these were open and unattended on both our arrival and exit, not sure about other times). Parking was plentiful and the hotel cuts a striking impression from its elevated position, surrounded by attractive landscaping. First impressions were of a very unusual, modern building with lots of timber and glass fascias.

The lobby is bright and airy and there was a professional and fast check-in, where we were provided with all the information necessary for our stay. As we were staying at the weekend we were able to get a reasonable rate on an executive room on the 4th floor. This room was well equipped with a large king-size bed, two easy chairs, safe and his/her's robes and slippers. An individually controlled aircon system was installed, but this proved very difficult to operate (as other reviewers have noted). Even with advanced degrees in physics and engineering, I struggled to get the desired settings!

We noticed a door next to our room marked as "Executive Lounge" and briefly got our hopes up that this might be available for complementary drinks / newspapers etc for those staying in Executive rooms (as is the case with Hilton Hotels for example). Sadly however this room appeared to be out of action and set up for someone's business meeting. To be fair, this facility is not advertised on the hotel's booking pages, but I wonder why the signage refers to it as the "Executive Lounge" then.

We liked the modern decor in the room, which like the rest of the hotel, was bright and airy. The forest mural along part of one wall was a nice touch. The bed was extremely comfortable and ensured a good night's sleep, only very slightly affected by the corridor door outside our room banging shut.

The bathroom featured no bath, but one of those large walk-in showers and truly enormous fluffy towels. Unfortunately our shower was poorly installed and had very low water pressure (perhaps made worse as we were on the top floor). I also noticed that water did not drain away properly as the builders who'd installed the shower had failed to ensure the correct slope on the floor tiles down to the drain at the end. Consequently a puddle of cold dirty water was left after each room occupant had had their shower. This (and possibly the overly complex A/C) was the only significant shortfall of the property however.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant as we were rather tired and the weather was too bad to venture out. The service, food choice and quality was very good, though portions were on the small side. We thought the price (which was approx £110 for 3 courses each plus wine and tip) was excessive, and would not want to spend this much again if we returned to this hotel. Breakfast the next morning (for which we paid I think another £9 each) was fine, good selection of hot and cold buffet items but a very limited selection of bread (no rolls?). Coffee/tea was brought to the table and the staff were attentive in clearing away used items and re-filling the coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. All feedback is very important to us here and all your comments will be taken on board and looked in to.

Wishing you all the best.

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Last minute booking on Christmas Eve as our son was in hospital at the nearby Queens Medical Centre, and this was the closest hotel available on the day. For £39 I wasn't expecting a great deal, but boy were my expectations exceeded!

The hotel is beautiful, a wonderful building on the University Campus in Nottingham around 5 minutes from QMC. Architecturally stunning and modern, walking in one gets the feeling this is a five star hotel. The staff were really friendly (especially considering they were working at 8pm on Christmas Eve) and I was directed to my room on the third floor. The room was really nice, not the largest I've ever stayed in but modern and comfortable with a lovely comfortable super-kingsize bed, large flat screen TV and beautiful forest mural on one wall! Bathroom was superb, with large walk-in shower area and high pressure shower. Free wifi throughout the hotel with a fast 30Mbps speed made connecting very fast and convenient. Lots of plug sockets dotted around the room, something a lot of hotels fail to include.

Waking on Christmas morning I was surprised that every room had a Christmas stocking left outside, packed with sweets and a bottle of apple juice, as well as a Christmas card from the hotel management! Breakfast was great, very friendly staff and a delicious cooked full English breakfast, with everything you could expect and more (and including black pudding, not easy to get hold of at hotel breakfasts!).

All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel as the number 1 hotel in Nottingham, easily the best I've stayed in this part of the country and should I need to stay in Nottingham again I will make this my first port of call. For £39 a night, this hotel is an absolute bargain!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZYFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some fantastic feedback about your recent stay. Here at the Orchard Hotel each and every one of our guests is important to us, and ensuring they leave with a memorable experience is a must. I’m glad you liked the surprise gift – what better time to treat our guests to a little something special.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I really liked this hotel - it was so comfortable and the bar area was lovely. I ate in the restaurant with friends on one night and thought it was a bit expensive for what the food was, but the bar menu was pretty reasonable. There was a nice selection of wine and we got a nice bottle for a relatively good price. The rooms were fab though, and breakfast was very nice. I will definitely stay here again when I am next in Nottingham althought it is quite far from the town centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noplacelikehome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your recent visit.

The Orchard Hotel is located in 330 acres of parkland, yet only 2 miles out of the city centre, hopefully giving our guests the best of both worlds.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel complex is fully entitled to my 5 star rating:
1. Inspiring building which incorporates an airy & relaxed feel to the hotel. Whilst the grounds in which the property is set are charming and well worth a wander round.
2. As the hotel only opened in May you would expect first class facilities and they are. Rooms tastefully decorated with excellent wifi/tv facilities, coffee facilities with BISCUITS and beds to die for.
3. Restaurant nicely set out with breakfast answering all needs. Waiting staff please note empty plates/dishes do need collecting during the course of the meal( this really was the only minor drawback) but the bottle of Prosecco brought to the room as a birthday treat more than made up for this.
4. Staff efficient without been over intruding whilst housemaid ensured the room was always well prepared for my return.
5. Car parking plentiful, gym sufficient whilst outdoor seating would make the property well worth a stay in summer also.

If I haven't convinced you to stay here by now, it's your loss. Enjoy.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank HutchinsonI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some fantastic feedback about your recent stay with us. Here at the Orchard Hotel we thrive on ensuring all our guests have a great stay.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I was here for a work function, The staff are nice, The facilites acceptable.
all in all a pleasant experience. Very welcoming and met all our demand for the huge conference that we held there. Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickoli v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some great feedback about your recent stay with us. Here at the Orchard Hotel we pride ourselves in ensuring our guests have a memorable stay with us.

Wishing you all the best

Kind Regards,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed one night.
Check-in and check-out was a little slow despite all 3 desks operating. There was plenty of parking. The lobby was very large and nicely decorated - there was a huge (real) Christmas tree near the entrance which was nice.
The room itself comprised of a very comfortable 6-foot bed (it was 2 singles pushed together, although you couldn't really feel it) in a spacious room. There was tea/coffee facilities, iron, hairdryer, safe, toiletries (just one general hair/body wash) and a large flat screen tv. The curtains were black-out type which was ideal for me. The bathroom was very spacious with a lovely walk-in shower.

Although I had requested a quiet room with a countryside view, I ended up in the first room next to the lifts and a view of the hotel lobby (!). However, despite not hearing any noise from the lifts; in the morning the banging of the door outside (in the hallway) was quite loud - what with cleaners and people checking out.

We had a very late breakfast at the bar area of full English and bagel with smoked salmon/scrambled egg. The price was reasonable at £10 and £6 respectively, although the full English did not come with any toast, nor could they offer any as their toaster was now 'out of action' (it was 11:45am). The drinks were a little expensive at £3 each for a latte and cappuccino.
We didn't use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on it.

Overall, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the first room(s) after the lifts if you are a light sleeper as there is a door from the lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggsy_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your stay here with us. All of your comments have been taken on board and will be reviewed, as ensuring our customers leave happy is our top priority. I do hope you decide to visit us at the Orchard Hotel again.

Wishing you all the best and compliments of the season

Kind Regards,
Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
688 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £60 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing