We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great staff, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great staff, nice location”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

First, apologies for not writing this review sooner as we stayed just after Christmas to give a close relative a break after a bereavement.

The hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the whole experience was relaxing and reasonably priced. Rooms are pleasant and the restaurant nice though as it is all open plan, it may not be warm enough for everyone but I guess that is a feature of being a "green" building.

I have to say that breakfast was superb and well worth paying the pre-booked price when compared to going elsewhere for a cheaper alternative. The choice was excellent and the staff very helpful in finding a table for 6.

Being in the grounds of the university gave us plenty of nice walks around the lake and gardens, though we didn;t bother with the Swimming Pool as it was a walk away and being Boxing day we were not sure if it was open.

I am not sure what it will be like when the University is open to scholars, but in the summer holidays I am sure the grounds will be lovely and the hotel will be in its element, so I hope we will be back again to enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passion8aboutservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some fantastic comments about your recent stay here at the Orchard Hotel.

I do hope you visit us again in the near future.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    530
    122
    32
    30
See reviews for
211
499
45
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

If it wasn't for the fact that we got a deal as part of the Summer Lovin' campaign we would have felt ripped off. It was comparable to a Travelodge in room quality in that it was clean, tidy and not too cold. However, the mattress was hard, the thermostat seemed to be there more for appearance than functionality and the lack of a proper extractor fan in the shower room meant that it was humid in there all the time with a smell of manky towels. The shower was big but the bracket for the shower head was quite fragile and not easily adjusted for a tall person like me. Finally, we had an awesome view of...absolutely nothing. We were on the second floor and could only see the supporting steelwork for the front elevation of the building and happily returned the waves of people in the lobby who were sitting around and peering up into our room. As I stated, the place only gets three dots because at £20-odd a night it was about right but would not have been a happy bunny if I paid full price. We didn't use the restaurant - £12 for a burger seemed excessive.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. Opinions and comments that are levied on Tripadvisor are completely subjective and i feel that some of your comments do not reflect the quality of the service and ameneties we offer.

Where comments are justified and we have fallen short of expectations and delivered a poor service i am the first person to accept that improvements can be made. If your preference is for another hotel brand as indicated then this decision is entirely yours.

Wishing you the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

As soon as you walk into the reception area you can feel the warmth that this hotel offers.
The staff here are very professional and quick to get you checked in and to your room.
The rooms are spacious and very clean the decor matches the hotel throuout.
The hotel food is a1 and the bar and restaurant staff are always on the go but have always got a pleasant smile and are always polite.
I would recommend this hotel and will be staying here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ozzybear70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some great comments about your recent stay with us, it's always great to read lovely reviews, such as this.

I do hope you visit us again soon.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is our 5th time staying here and it is as good and inviting as always. We did have some noise coming from the room next door to the one we were booked into but no sooner had we informed the reception we were moved and upgraded to another room. We were here for 5 days between Christmas and New Year and all members of staff were warm and welcoming as ever. It is great to go back somewhere where they remember you and treat you as a special guest. That is what a lot of other hotels need to learn as it can make all the difference when you decide to revisit a city. I must congratulate the manager for the way he runs the hotel as it comes across with all members of staff. To be greeted with the smiling faces make you know that you have done the right thing in coming back again.

Room Tip: Look out for the special bargains out of season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelH330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about the Orchard Hotel, I am glad to read that your stay with us was one to remember. All our guests are very important to us, therefore ensuring a great stay is paramount to all here.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Excellent value - will make this my no 1 choice when staying in Nottingham.

We stayed in an executive room on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate.
The room had a big deep bath and we were supplied with dressing gowns and slippers.
The bed was a little hard for my comfort but overall a very nice room.
There was a large flat screen TV in the room with Sky (including Sky sports)
And the hotel offered fast internet service - which I did not use much.
The evening meal (we had a set menu) was excellent quality and value, the breakfast however could easily be skipped as the food was not well prepared.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGT_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving some great comments about your recent visit to the Orchard Hotel. All feedback in very important to us as it ensure our guests are happy with the service we provide. I do hope you visit us again soon.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stylish hotel in a lovely location but l had to take away a star because of upkeep. The bathroom door didn't close & the shower head hung limply from the wall as the fitting was broken. 3rd bed was faulty too & it kept collapsing as the leg kept sliding away. I could have reported this list to reception but quite frankly we weren't there long & I dont expect to submit a snagging list for the maintenance team. This is simply poor housekeeping.
Breakfast was good but I'd rather help myself to tea & coffee.
Enjoyed the books and pleasant seating and restaurant areas.
Would I stay again? Yes - but I will ask in advance for room to be in good working order.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. I do apologise that your expectations were not met with in the room facilities. We have a dedicated team on hand who would have been more than happy to assist you with any problems you had during your stay. All your comments will be reviewed further.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

upon arrival it was noted that we are returning guests, which was nice. Check in was speedy and efficient.

We stayed in an executive room on a dinner bed and breakfast rate. The room was spacious and the view over parkland was great. The room had a balcony door that could be opened (no balcony to step out on to though). Again we found the hotel very warm and actually slept with the balcony door open in February!

The food was a 3 course menu that was excellent and comparable to a number of Michelin recommended restaurants I have visited. Our main waiter was excellent, providing regular check in's to ensure the meal was going well. One waiter who brought our desserts was not as good, simply asking if we had ordered desserts and then standing looking bemused! Thankfully the desserts were excellent!

There is plentiful seating near the bar where I enjoyed and excellent cocktail named the "frisky bison".

Breakfast has great choices for a hotel if it's price/size. I am not normally a cooked breakfast fan when it's a serve yourself but I found the quality to be great.

I would return to the hotel especially with the special offer of D,B&B plus a bottle of Prosecco in an exec room for £100 - a bargain in my opinion!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank teacheroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to leave some fantastic comments about your recent visit to the Orchard Hotel. All feedback is very important to us, as this ensures we are meeting our customers expectations, if not exceeding them.

I do hope you visit us again soon.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing