We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay, great place”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It is such a stunning hotel. We expected a travelodge-style place but found something much better! The rooms were immaculate, the bathrooms huge and spotless. The was a massive window in our room looking over the grounds of the uni which was lovely! The breakfast in the morning is well worth is as it a scrumptious buffet full of all you could want for breakfast, which was replenished often and with very helpful staff. BONUS, the give discount to alumni of the university of Nottingham! This is a great hotel served by bus routes into the city no more then a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some fantastic comments about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. I do hope you visit us again soon.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    556
    130
    35
    30
See reviews for
227
522
47
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We attempted today to use a valid Bramleys Brasserie:Bar voucher taken from a magazine that the Hotel makes available -the magazine being called Aspiration which is in the hotel bedrooms. We acquired the voucher when we stayed at the hotel a couple of weeks ago. It required pre-booking a table and the voucher needed to be mentioned on booking which we had done, albeit that we had a snotty response to our booking phone call. The voucher is valid until 14th March, it states its valid for lunch and evenings and alleged it gave 50% off the food bill for up to 6 people when all ordering a three course meal. I invited my parents to join us as we had been impressed by the hotel when we had stayed there recently. The voucher was not honoured as De Vere staff said it applied only to meals off the bar menu and that it could not be used in conjunction with any other offer. The voucher does not state this nor was there any other offer that we were trying to combine it with - there is only one brasserie lunch menu to choose from. The waitress tried to state some consumer law to me which was utterly embarrassing. I am a Solicitor and used to dealing with the small print and conditions. It was clear that she thought a bit of legalistic speak would put me off . The waitress also said the De Vere marketing department had put them in this situation. All in all it was embarrassing and an acrimonious encounter, badly handled frankly. If we had wanted a bar meal we wouldn't have needed to book and the voucher appeared to want people to use the brasserie. It was a poor show De Vere and none of us will be back. My parents had hoped that this venue could be a meeting point for friends and family but left disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank breakwellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I can only offer my sincerest apologies. A junior memeber of the Brasserie Team dealt with your concerns and were 100% wrong in their actions, manner and approach. Please contact me directly on the main hotel number 08443461216 and i will persoannly address this with you.

I look forward to hearing from you.


Kind Regards,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not bad modern clean and tidy .
Food and restraunt on the other hand was terrible.
Food came cold or Luke warm tried to rectify on three occasions still no joy . Spoke to one of the staff he tells me we have had this problem for some time .

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Clearly we got it wrong on this occassion and for this i sincereley apologise. i wish you all the very best.

Kind Regards,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed here attending a conference at the East Midlands Conference Centre which is adjacent to the hotel - very handy for popping back to the room for papers or to do some emails (free wifi). Nevertheless it is clean modern hotel with good sized rooms and bathrooms.

N.B. - other than breakfast did not eat in hotel but breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel, all customer feedback is very important to us.

I do hope you visit us again soon.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The Orchard Hotel
We booked this hotel as we were going to see Miranda in the Nottingham Arena. We arrived on a lovely sunny afternoon to this hotel, good first impression. Check in was smooth although the receptionist insisted on taking payment upfront and told us nothing about the hotel. She said we did not need to book the resturant as we were eating early. The room was lovely, beautifully furnished and fabulous bathroom with huge walk in shower. We went for a walk around the grounds which were lovely. We were 1st in the resturant at 6pm although the manager made some mumblings about not booking and the resturant getting busy! We told the waitress we were on a time scale. The wine came but was not cold. The starters arrived and although small ( 3 scallops for £10) were delicious. The main course was a joke my husband ordered Gunard which was served in a starter plate and consisted on 2 tiny pieces of fish no longer than 3" and 4 tiny pieces of potato. luckily we had ordered a portion of french fries. The bill came to £71 and we were starving! After complaining about the portion size we were eventually offered a free desert and a free glass of wine. The manager suggested that they price match their food to restaurants in Nottingham city centre. That may be the case but we are sure that the portion size will be bigger in the city centre restaurants. On looking back through earlier Tripadvisor comments, it is clear that food portion size has been a problem at the orchard since the middle of 2013. Whilst our food was very tasty, it did not make up for the lack of food. We do hope that the restaurant management will learn something from these comments otherwise they are going to alienate a lot more diners in the future! Would return to this hotel - yes, but would never eat in the restaurant again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malliblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I can only offer my sincerest apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable to the team to ensure we take on board all comments raised and use this in a constructive way to improve the product offering.

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed on business. Rooms are really excellent, bar and communal areas are also great and staff efficient and friendly. I do think that the restaurant is the real let down, they struggle with volume, have poor menus and the food we had was terrible.

Parking can be a massive issue on conference days but good location within the university.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 170606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies in the restaurant not meeting your full expectations, all the comments you have made will be looked in to and have been taken on board. All feedback is very important to us, as is, ensuring our guests have a truly memorable stay.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is situated adjacent to the East Midlands Conference centre which made the hotel ideal to stay at. It had a lovely green, eco theme and the staff were friendly. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were clean and very modern - I was particularly impressed with the shower. The food at the hotel is of a good standard and I would honestly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also conveniently located on the university campus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenou89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your honest feedback about your recent visit. Ensuring our guests have a memorable stay is paramount to us. I do hope you choose to visit the Orchard Hotel again.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
644 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing