We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turning back the clock!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turning back the clock!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great to feel part of the uni campus again after 32 years. Staff very friendly and room was excellent. Décor modern and chic. Access to Nottingham really easy - it really isn't too far to walk on a good day. Only down side was the incessant music playing in all locations. If an ex uni student there are special rates for alumni .. but didn't find this out until after we had booked and paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving some great feedback about your recent stay. The Orchard Hotel prides itself on ensuring guests leave with a memorable experience. I do hope you return for another stay with us very soon.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    518
    121
    32
    30
See reviews for
209
492
44
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Came to visit a friend studying at the university and a great base for this also found that most of the city centre hotels too loud so miss out on a good nights sleep . Quality beds and duvet room nice and warm as we'll good shower in the morning and parking and setting of hotel good

Room Tip: Great for parents with kids at the university
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frostn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback about your stay at the Orchard Hotel, great comments. The hotel is ideally located in 330 acres of rolling parkland on the University of Nottingham Campus, but yet only minutes away from Nottingham City Centre - aiming to give our visitors the best of both worlds.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a very large hotel intended primarily for conference delegates but it is newly constructed and, being close to bus routes into Nottingham, is useful for weekend visits. Very impressive high entrance atrium. Rooms much as you would expect for this type of hotel. Very clean. Useful bar, but evening meals very expensive . Breakfasts average. Plenty of parking. On university campus which is a fine area of parkland with well spaced buildings. Very quite outside, unlike most Nottingham City hotels.

Room Tip: Have executive room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnsden2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. All our guests are very important to us and ensuring your stay is one to remember is top of our priorities.

I do hope you stay here with us again soon

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Staff were really friendly. Made to feel very welcome on checking in. Room and facilities were superb. Came back to room on second night of a three night stay to find a surprise from the management team. Thanks once again to Katie. Both me and my wife were really touched. Bed very comfortable and shower was great. Good choice of channels on tv in room, including sky sports.

Free parking was good, as not many of the Nottingham hotels provide that. Will use the Orchard again when staying in Nottingham. Customer service was amongst the best have ever experienced when staying at hotels all over the world. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments about your recent stay here at the Orchard Hotel. I do hope you visit us again very soon.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

A business trip took me to The Orchard Hotel in Nottingham. Normally when I have been to Nottingham on Business, I stay in the Jurys Inn.

Initially I was apprehensive about the hotel being situated on a University Campus but it was very peaceful and first impressions of the hotel were great - great building, modern, all the creature comforts seemed to be there.

Check-in was quick as I had pre-paid online.
The room was great, but the air conditioning system is set to energy saver, which means the room became incredibly hot in the middle of the night. you have to get out of bed every 50 minutes to switch it back on.
If you, like me hate that most hotels in England no longer have an electrical socket for your phone to charge near your bed, this hotel does and its small things which make a difference.
Nice bathroom

I booked in with a 'sunday' deal which included dinner, bed and breakfast. I went and looked at the dinner menu which did not have a great deal of veg options and I was not that hungry. I asked if I could just have a bowl of chips by the bar. This apparently is not included in the deal (surely its cheaper) so I ended skipping dinner and ended up paying extra for a bowl of chips with my beer.

Breakfast was good.

The surprising thing is staff are not trained to ensure you are having a good time. the number of times on Sunday evening and Monday morning, that hotel staff walked past me and did not acknowledge me to say hello, ask how my stay is or if I needed anything - they just have a blank expression and walk past.
Even at checkout, they do not bother asking how your stay is.

All in all, the hotel is a lovely building and nice hideaway from the city centre.
Will stay again if work takes me back to Nottingham

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your recent stay here at the hotel. All our customers are very important to us and ensuring your stay is one to remember is paramount to us. Therefore, please be assured that your comments will all be reviewed.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed away for a while as last few stays have been riddled with poor service. Various examples.
Nothing changed - wine warm and not the cheap bottle, forgot about my main course and blamed another table for taking it. General service very poor - hotel looks good but always seems to let its self down employing what it appears to be students making up their beer money and not really giving a damn
Probably why I tend to stay in Crowne Plaza when possible
Shame as rooms are good std.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for our failures and shortcomings. We clearly have failed to deliver a service to you and for this i can only once again apologise.

Your comments are valid and we have made improvements following your stay with us. I really would like to welcome you back to us with my compliments.

I await to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

An imposing place with pleasant modern clean rooms, and a lovely big supremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was a joy to use, and the shower excellent, although I would not describe it as a Power-shower as it said in the brochure. We usually resort to Travelodges, but this was a real treat. Because it was a Sunday night, and we found the deal through a website like lastminute or similar, we stayed for £49, which was very good value. (Breakfast would have been £8.50 each, but we didn't stop as we were meeting family elsewhere for breakfast). We'll happily stay here again if we get a similar deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving some fantastic comments about your recent stay here at the Orchard Hotel.

I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing