We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Located within the university campus in a pleasant surrounding, hence a 15 minute drive from the city center. The staff are smart, courteous and helpful. The room was modern hence clean and well furnished. The view was pleasing. We did not eat here.

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you even better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a great review. I do hope that you choose the Orchard Hotel again when staying in Nottingham.

All the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    518
    121
    32
    30
See reviews for
209
492
44
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here one night for birthday celebrations and also to watch the test match at trent bridge. Price was less than £100 for a double room with breakfast. However the room we got was 003, which is a ground floor room and the only windows open to the front foyer and front entrance of the hotel, so zero privacy. But we checked in late and checked out by 9.30 am, so we left the curtains closed for the whole of our stay.
Check in and check out were quick and the staff were good in keeping some stuff of ours in the fridge since the rooms don't have a fridge although did need some prompting.
Room itself was ok. Shower was great and free wifi was good. Breakfast was self service and had plenty of choices.
It is not in the city centre since it is part of the University complex but is quiet and has free parking as well.
Overall good first impressions although a fridge in the room will be a welcome addition.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms particularly 001, 003 and 005.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for some great comments. Your feedback is invaluable to us and for this i am most grateful. We do not have fridges in our rooms as this does not comply with our Green Policy.

Wihing you the very best and i hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

All the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at the Orchard Hotel recently as it was near a training venue - no other reason. What I found was a really innovative design coupled with a quality restaurant and fabulous service.

The rooms are very nice and what you might expect from something like a city centre Radisson - well equipped and comfortable.

The lobby area was a brilliant design with its open plan and bags of glass bringing with it lots of light and attractive views of the outside world. Plenty of comfortable seating too and there is a very well equipped 'office section' providing internet access, fax and printers - excellent! But the office area is not shut away behind closed doors, it is also part of the open plan design.

Then there is the bar with bar-stools as well as nice comfy chairs and an impressive array of everything from a variety of beers to the biggest selection of whisky I have seen in a very long time.

Finally there is the amazing restaurant. Again it is very light and airy with blond wood furniture, light coloured walls and plenty of glass to let the light in. The food was fabulous. A nice menu with a well thought out selection to choose from without being overwhelmed. For me though the essence of the restaurant was the chef ... who should be offered whatever he wants and have his feet nailed to the floor. Whatever it takes to keep him because the food was fantastic. For our dessert I had the chocolate soufflé which, unfortunately, made our desserts a little late. My soufflé was not perfect and chef was not prepared to compromise so he did it again - I like that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d8acomRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank youf for a great review. I do hope that you choose the Orchard Hotel when staying in Nottingham.

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stop here regularly when visiting family in Nottingham. I don't review on every visit as there is not much to add. This weekend however was not the best and my sense is there is a deterioration in standards since we started visiting.
Room was fine and we did not eat dinner at the hotel so cannot comment.
We ordered lunch when we arrived but there seemed to be a stock issue. No corona, no Budweiser , no sparkling water and the French fries were not great - it looked very much like they had been fried in oil well overdue for changing . A nasty after taste and lots of dark bits from previously fried items on them. I noticed that a couple of ladies opposite had to send back their lunch as their sandwiches had some undefined lumpy bits in them.
I wonder if they have an issued with kitchen staff at the moment - I do hope this is sign of things to come.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank youf for your most recent review. I would like to personalise apologise for our failure to meet your expectaions. I have spoken with the team on duity and theyt were not made aware of your concerns as i am incrdibly passionate about service and when we get things wrong we will always strive to make correct a problem.

We did experience a problem with a delivery from our suppliers and for this i can only apologise. I do hope that you continue to use the Orchard Hotel when staying in Nottingham.

Wishing you the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst at the University for a meeting. The hotel is modern, clean, smart, stylish and very comfortable. Easy to find and park. Staff and service were great. Room was very quiet, clean and spacious. Ate here for lunch and dinner in huge restaurant - both were great. Unusual to have such a high quality hotel on a University campus. Would definitely use again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you or a great review. I do hope that you choose the Orchard Hotel when staying in Nottingham.

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
531 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,274 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Located in the pleasant grounds of the University, this is a very modern hotel. We only spent one night here, the staff were engaging and helpful.

The room was bright, spacious and spotless with a very large bathroom. The mattress on the bed was firm which is perfect for my dodgy back, can't do with the soft spongy offers found elsewhere Our experience here was pleasant and we encountered no issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobile_mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank youf for a great review. I do hope that you choose the Orchard Hotel when staying in Nottingham.

Many Thanks,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We as a family visited this hotel for a graduation in the university. The check in was slick by friendly staff. I believe the hotel has been open for about a year, it is very clean, well kept and in the beautiful grounds of the university! The rooms were well kept, very clean and comfortable. We had breakfast which was of a good standard and good choice.
I would highly recommend this hotel, it is kept to a high standard with friendly helpful staff. Thank you,

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tricky123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. All feedback is very important to us here and all your comments will be taken on board and looked in to.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best.

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing