We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend Break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Spalding
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend Break.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked a 2 night package with Dinner first night and two breakfasts, was also reasonable priced,
Check in was very efficent and the young lady very informative, over Bus timetables and what numbers we required for city centre,
Room was very clean spotless infact, nice toiletries, comfy bed, no complaints,
Came back for our evening meal after being in town, and well it was a total disaster, it was,nt even busy, but they just could not sort anything, goats cheese and pea starters the peas was frozen rock hard, husband had Mackrel, and said it was o.k.
Main was Lamb, now i know it can come served pink, but this was raw, and had to be sent back, so Husband eate alone and mine arrived later,alot later, still could,nt eat it and then we where suppose to pay £3.00 per person for some potatoes to go with the meal around 4/5 baby new potatoes,so you dont even get veg etc included in your meal, Ordered a Gin an Tonic and a pint and the young man came to me after in the lounge and presented me with a bill for drinks, I actually refused to pay and said i would see Reception over the service or lack of and unedible food, he tutted and walked away.I also reported the frozen peas to him and he returned saying Chef said they was fresh,(Never), do i believe that i actually tried them.Rock Hard and stone cold.
I did however report all this to reception and the young lady wrote everything down and said it would be passed on,When we checked out we had nothing extra to pay, So i think it was taken note of.
Both breakfasts in the morning was excellent, and we both thoroughly enjoyed,
Love Nottingham and found the Market Square with the Beach Theme fab and live music, sat out in the sunshine was lovely.
Would return to this Hotel for sure, but not have Evening Meal, would sooner go into town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trodyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. All feedback is very important to us here and all your comments will be taken on board and looked in to.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best.

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    530
    122
    32
    30
See reviews for
211
499
45
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First time that we have stayed in this hotel and were very impressed.

Hotel itself is very modern with plenty of parking.

Check in was smooth and quick. Standard room was decent size, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you'd need for a short stay. Bed was exceptionally comfortable. Nice to have a window that opens properly.

Breakfast was standard self service, but had plenty of choice and was fresh. Also staff went out of their way to provide a non standard item.

Only slight downside was water pressure could've been better in the shower.

Overall an excellent hotel for the money and would definitely both return and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irons69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some fantastic feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks wondrous as you approach and the reception area is stunning. Rooms are spotless but it goes downhill from there. The bar is very comfortable but service is slow and prices high and quality low. Flat beer is served in plain glasses.
We took one look at the limited restaurant menu and decided it was way too expensive and ate elsewhere.
We paid for breakfast next morning and it was nothing special at all,in fact rather poor.
A very flashy hotel but needs to improve in a number of areas.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 195719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments have been taken on board and the shortfalls addressed where we have failed to deliver.

I wish you the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at De Vere Venues East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel in July as being part of Rotary World cricket festival. The Hotel was clean and nicely maintained. the surroundings were very nice and it was easy to go for long walks within the university campus.The rooms were big and comfortable. The linens and toiletries supplied were of good quality. The check in and check out was fairly quick. The staff was cordial and helpful however they lacked information which we needed as tourist. It would have been great to have a travel desk at the hotel.

Even though each room had TV but major sports channel were unavailable in room. We had to watch FIFA world cup final in the hall down stair. the same was applicable about India v/s England cricket test match.

The Ac in the room used to get cut off in the night making the room warm. Nothing changed even after changing the settings in control panel. It was not rectified even after complaining to reception. Finally we had to keep windows open in the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gautam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a great review about your recent stay here at the Orchard Hotel. It's great to hear what our customers think about the facilities available, and I am glad your stay was a memorable one.

Please do visit us again soon.

Wishing you all best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This is a very good hotel in a great setting. We spent over a week here with a large group and really enjoyed ourselves.

The front desk staff were first class - especially the young after hours lady manager who acted on customer requests in a very timely and professional manner.

However if this hotel wishes to advance to 5 star status it must train/recruit first rate bar and restaurant staff. They are the window to the heart of great hotels and a major profit centre.

My critical observations - bar staff don't eyeball customers and try everything to avoid serving. This is a huge issue. Multiple complaints by guests to one another led to many voting with their feet and catching a cab to eat in town. Hotel has no way of discovering this discontentment.

The Last night was a real bummer. Approached restaurant early for dinner for two. We observed many empty tables and were told "we're booked out". I said it looked mostly empty. She said reservations were due soon. I said we had been here 8 days could they not find space? Same answer.

Was offered bar service. (Pls read previous comments again) I asked if it was from the same kitchen? Was told there were two kitchens. Not happy but took bar seat and waited over an hour for service. Was advised that kitchen was busy for restaurant. Didn't you say ...

I nearly forgot - when my meal "arrived" it was given to someone else. Sure mistakes happen but not when you have staff focused on their jobs.

Hence my thought that this hotel has a way to go to reach a satisfactory service level.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments on the bar do not reflect the experience of your colleagues as noted by Robert B from Adelaide on the 21st July.

Your feedback is invaluable and all comments are shared with the team and we evaluate and address any shortfalls that may have arisen.

Kind Regards,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Finding this hotel proved challenging as Tom Tom was adamant that we should use a non-existent road off the Derby Road. Clearly this was not the Hotel's fault as we booked through a well known online agency. However, ensuring that new guests know that the hotel is located within the university campus seems essential. All we had was a postcode and Beeston Lane which may not be enough even if your Sat nav maps are up to date.

We waited at what we assumed was Reception for 4 to 5 minutes whilst different people behind the desk ignored us. Beginning to wonder if it was Reception I caught one person and asked for reassurance. It was and we headed for our room which was ultra modern, extremely well appointed and absolutely spotless. Faultless in every way.

The registration card indicated that the restaurant menu could be found online - but not by me! Undaunted we went down to the bar which was not busy. Obtaining 2 straightforward drink, however managed to take almost 10 minutes. Four or 5 stressed staff were behind the bar but none of them seemed to know what to do or how to work the till. Smiles and friendly welcomes were not on the menu which was disappointing. Bar prices were, in our opinion, on the high side given the hotel's location.

Food menus were available for both the bar and restaurant - prices again seemed on the high side. Menu choice was ok. After waiting at a table for 15 minutes I asked a passing 'waiter' if someone would take our order and was told that meals were ordered from the bar. Although both the bar and restaurant were quiet it took over 45 minutes for our main meals to arrive. These were adequate rather than exceptional. As we and other guests waited for our meals we were entertained by the staff. Four times we were offered meals ordered by other diners as staff seemed unaware who had ordered what. One family received their order in 2 batches 10 minutes apart which really was bad form. One family was offered someone else's ice cream before their main meals and the chef even managed to get an order of a cheese sandwich wrong. In summary, lots of work needed here.

When I tried to put the bill on my card it was declined as I had not requested a 'tab'. Wrongly, I had assumed as in other hotels, the purpose of signing the room registration card was for this purpose.

This was our first visit to a De Vere hotel and I am disappointed that it will be remembered for the wrong reasons.

Looking at the contents of the guest evaluation card really sums up this hotel's priorities. Its main target groups are corporate conferences and business meetings - not leisure guests like us - and it shows. If it wants to attract leisure guests it will have to try much harder as leisure guests spend their own money after taxation has been deducted. Hence providing value for money and good service are pre-requisites for success. We also suggest that the content of the hotel's evaluation cards are amended in order to convey its interest in the views of leisure guests. Will we use De Vere hotels again? Perhaps once more but in another area of the country. Hopefully we will find out that our Nottingham experience was a-typical.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BizAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very honest feedback. I can only sincerely apologise for the service you received. I would very much like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and really would appreciate if you could contact me at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just a really nice hotel. Firstly what a pleasant surprise to walk into your room and it's better than you expected. A lovely breakfast, nice bar area and surrounding gardens, would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some fantastic feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing