We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Modern can be very good, or very bad.
This was great. Surrounded by the wonderful campus grounds - devoid of students this time, the hotel catered for our every need.
The reception was friendly and efficient.
The room was well appointed - a little small, but perfectly adequate (although no drawers!).
Plenty of good choice for the evening meal, and a massive choice for breakfast.
A wonderful place to relax - try it.

Room Tip: They are so helpful that a simple request should produce results
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nemero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. Our aim is to ensure all guests have a memorable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    530
    122
    32
    30
See reviews for
211
499
45
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here towards the end of August for one night on the travel zoo deal. It was a last minute decision to just get away somewhere and we're glad we did.

All staff were friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and included everything we needed (our only gripe was that there were only 2 teabags provided, but we were provided with more without quibble once we asked at reception).

The meal in Bramleys was way better than we'd expected. The menu is limited on the travel zoo deal but we both found something to our taste on there. We both had the ham hock for starter and then I had the hake and he had the chicken and all were delicious. The portions are small so we paid for a side dish of buttered potatoes and felt nicely full after the 3 courses.

There is a nice ambience about the hotel and it made for a very relaxing short break from home. We would both definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosiejelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a great review about your recent stay here at the Orchard Hotel. It's great to hear what our customers think about the facilities available, and I am glad your stay was a memorable one.

Please do visit us again soon.

Wishing you all best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We did have a little trouble finding the hotel, but eventually gave up on the map and followed the signs to the East Midlands Conference Centre. The outstanding thing about the hotel is the architectural design. The foyer is completely stunning: light, airy, wonderfully situated. The room and bathroom were spacious, and everything was spotless and seemed very new. The staff were very pleasant and professional, and breakfast on a Sunday morning for 230 people was coped with effortlessly. We gathered there were over 400 guests in all. Nothing ran out. A very modern and delightful hotel. Book early for the best rates.

Green Features: The hotel ticks all the boxes on environmental concern.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aardvark43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. Our aim is to ensure all guests have a memorable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is situated within the most scenic campus of Nottingham University, is ultra modern, yet totally comfortable in every way.
We first discovered it via a Travelzoo offer ( we did have a glitch - but this was eventually sorted by the manager)
So we returned just two weeks later with my elderly parents, as we knew they would love it too, plus the hotel and surrounding gardens are mobility scooter friendly.
Our second visit was total perfection, from check in, to our room request, and especially in Bramley's Restaurant, where the service was warm, informative and friendly (thank you Luke and Mag) and the three course meal was exceptional. My 82 year old Dad proclaimed it his best meal out ever!
Our beds were so comfortable, we all had really good night's sleep, helped by excellent sound insulation too.
Breakfast was a feast, absolutely delicious, and our special requests delivered promptly and with a smile.
We will return regularly, as this has become a very special place for us to visit for a relaxing, high quality break.
Thank you to all the team at the Orchard who made our visit so enjoyable on every level.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pires7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some fantastic comments about your recent trip to the Orchard Hotel. Feedback is very important to us here, as is ensuring our guests have a truly memorable stay.

We are unique in the facilities we have and also in location. Please do visit us again soon…

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is 15 mins by cab from Nottingham city centre and on the leafy and green university campus so was delightfully quiet at the weekend. Rooms are comfortable with a touch of Scandinavia chic. Breakfast was good with the usual fare for this standard of Hotel.........rooms were a bit on the small side but all in all and at £59 per room at the weekend a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUARDSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some fantastic feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The room and bathroom was perfect, the staff were kind and listened to any problems, the cleaners did an outstanding job. The bar looked amazing lit up at night. The full English breakfast went down as a treat! I would love to go again, me and my family felt well looked after

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nj1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. All feedback is very important to us here and all your comments will be taken on board and looked in to.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best.

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West SussexUK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife & I stayed for 2 days in an Exec room. Usual extras , bathrobes & slippers . very nice room, big TV and decent bathroom, Wifi also works well. Hotel is on Univ Campus, so taxi into town is required. Swiming pool is a walk across campus , but agaiin very good, plus grounds are worth a walk about. We had an evening meal , food was really very good, not sure why starters took 35 mins to arrive !! Breakfast again nice food , self help with coffee top ups by the staff. Wife waited 10+ mins for some fried eggs on second morning . Seems daft some of basics are sometimes lacking , So hotel is good , but little things matter , so its just not perfect. But really could / should be

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deannewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a great review about your recent stay here at the Orchard Hotel. It's great to hear what our customers think about the facilities available, and I am glad your stay was a memorable one.

Please do visit us again soon.

Wishing you all best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing