We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 August 2014

What a great find. Needing just one more night away on our journey home from Scotland, we picked this hotel on the merits of price and distance. The location, within the university campus, is immediately relaxing. The hotel atrium has a real "wow" factor that is continued into the rest of the building. We had an executive room which had a huge, comfortable bed, and a clean modern bathroom with a walk in shower.
The hotel has free wi-fi access, which should be the standard for all hotels in the UK.
Treat yourself to a meal in the Brasserie, but allow for a wait if you haven't booked ahead. Although the wait in the very relaxing atmosphere is no hardship at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wadadliuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some fantastic comments about your recent trip to the Orchard Hotel. Feedback is very important to us here, as is ensuring our guests have a truly memorable stay.

We are unique in the facilities we have and also in location. Please do visit us again soon…

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

No complaint regarding the room, good size, great bathroom, very clean and quiet. It is located in a beautiful setting within the campus. Lake and garden walks are a must to be enjoyed after a long hard drive. The reception area reminds one of an airport terminal with lots of empty space.
Sadly it has a few let downs. Breakfast – we were met with a dirty plate, a large piece of what looked like paper attached to the bacon and worse of all from the table we could see beneath the partition below the cutlery and tea stand. This was thick with dust, cobwebs, fluff and was just not what we expected to see. As breakfast is self-catering we found the food layout to be very awkward and user unfriendly and became congested very easily, an accident we think is inevitable.
The evening meals at the bar we found to be rather expensive for what it is and the fish very, very greasy.
Must say we would stay again as we have relatives in the area whom we visit but we would not be keen to dine here.
Disability point – If you have a blue badge do not use the two bays in the lower car park as this means having to use steps and then a long zigzag to gain entry, park in the upper car park where you can access the hotel on one level.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. All feedback is very important to us here and all your comments will be taken on board and looked in to.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best.

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Orchard hotel and we were not disappointed! We bought a great deal on travelzoo which included dinner and a bottle of wine, the food was really good and the wine was also very nice. Rooms are on the small side but very clean and comfortable. Last time we had an exec room but this time just a standard double. We still had a king size bed/zip twin so we slept really well. Very quiet even though the hotel seemed to be quite full. I would definitely recommend this place for a break.

Room Tip: Choose an exec room, lovely bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank traceyGLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some fantastic comments about your recent trip to the Orchard Hotel. Feedback is very important to us here, as is ensuring our guests have a truly memorable stay.

We are unique in the facilities we have and also in location. Please do visit us again soon…

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Modern can be very good, or very bad.
This was great. Surrounded by the wonderful campus grounds - devoid of students this time, the hotel catered for our every need.
The reception was friendly and efficient.
The room was well appointed - a little small, but perfectly adequate (although no drawers!).
Plenty of good choice for the evening meal, and a massive choice for breakfast.
A wonderful place to relax - try it.

Room Tip: They are so helpful that a simple request should produce results
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nemero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. Our aim is to ensure all guests have a memorable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here towards the end of August for one night on the travel zoo deal. It was a last minute decision to just get away somewhere and we're glad we did.

All staff were friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and included everything we needed (our only gripe was that there were only 2 teabags provided, but we were provided with more without quibble once we asked at reception).

The meal in Bramleys was way better than we'd expected. The menu is limited on the travel zoo deal but we both found something to our taste on there. We both had the ham hock for starter and then I had the hake and he had the chicken and all were delicious. The portions are small so we paid for a side dish of buttered potatoes and felt nicely full after the 3 courses.

There is a nice ambience about the hotel and it made for a very relaxing short break from home. We would both definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kosiejelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a great review about your recent stay here at the Orchard Hotel. It's great to hear what our customers think about the facilities available, and I am glad your stay was a memorable one.

Please do visit us again soon.

Wishing you all best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We did have a little trouble finding the hotel, but eventually gave up on the map and followed the signs to the East Midlands Conference Centre. The outstanding thing about the hotel is the architectural design. The foyer is completely stunning: light, airy, wonderfully situated. The room and bathroom were spacious, and everything was spotless and seemed very new. The staff were very pleasant and professional, and breakfast on a Sunday morning for 230 people was coped with effortlessly. We gathered there were over 400 guests in all. Nothing ran out. A very modern and delightful hotel. Book early for the best rates.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Aardvark43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. Our aim is to ensure all guests have a memorable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is situated within the most scenic campus of Nottingham University, is ultra modern, yet totally comfortable in every way.
We first discovered it via a Travelzoo offer ( we did have a glitch - but this was eventually sorted by the manager)
So we returned just two weeks later with my elderly parents, as we knew they would love it too, plus the hotel and surrounding gardens are mobility scooter friendly.
Our second visit was total perfection, from check in, to our room request, and especially in Bramley's Restaurant, where the service was warm, informative and friendly (thank you Luke and Mag) and the three course meal was exceptional. My 82 year old Dad proclaimed it his best meal out ever!
Our beds were so comfortable, we all had really good night's sleep, helped by excellent sound insulation too.
Breakfast was a feast, absolutely delicious, and our special requests delivered promptly and with a smile.
We will return regularly, as this has become a very special place for us to visit for a relaxing, high quality break.
Thank you to all the team at the Orchard who made our visit so enjoyable on every level.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pires7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some fantastic comments about your recent trip to the Orchard Hotel. Feedback is very important to us here, as is ensuring our guests have a truly memorable stay.

We are unique in the facilities we have and also in location. Please do visit us again soon…

Wishing you all the best

Lasse Högberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,609 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Address: Of NOTTINGHAM UNIVERSITY Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £60 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing