We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blooming great breakfast”
Review of Hartleys

Hartleys
Ranked #30 of 1,456 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Hartleys is an independent cafe based in the heart of Hockley, close by to Nottingham city centre. Our aim is to cater for everyone regardless of diet including Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Vegan, Vegetarian and Halal. You can eat-in, or take away, a variety of Breakfasts, Jacket potatoes, Sandwiches, Salads and Cakes, with a range of hot drinks, Smoothies, and Milk Shakes. We are on the corner of Broad Street and Carlton street, close to the Broadway Cinema, with seating inside and outside, and we are open 7 days a week.
Reviewed 2 November 2018

If you need a harty breakfast that’s cheap and excellent both food and service this is the place. We had a fantastic full breakfast

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoPlaces44713951375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Tea came for us to make! Coffee was horrific. Asked for a espresso to see if they could pull a shot, and it tasted like bitter weak bean juice. No crema at all?! Madness. Panini was uninspiring. Bang some pesto on surely.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 1harryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartleysC, Manager at Hartleys, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, i remember serving you yesterday and the coffee you brought back did look weak, if the espresso was still the same i wish you'd of said at the time. We usually have really good feedback on our coffee. We serve the tea with the tea bag on the side as a response to lots of previous customer feedback, if you would like your tea bag in then please tell us at the time of your order.

With our food menu, what you see written is what you get, no hidden extras, we have a wide selection of condiments (including pesto) and salad items to add to anything you so wish, we make everything fresh and to order so you can get experimental with your ideas.

If you would like to give us a second chance pop in and ask for myself (Lauren) or Sophie and let us treat you to a free coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

The service is kind, but the food -at least "all day breakfast"- is terrible. Fake tomatoes, too spicy, good bread but too much meat untasty that I couldn`t finish my meal; also, the coffee is disgusting, terrible americano that seems water with colour. I do not know how can taste other plates, but what I order I strongly not recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Antonieta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartleysC, Manager at Hartleys, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review, im sorry that you were not satisfied with your meal, as you can see from our other reviews a lot of people enjoy our traditional English breakfast, can i just ask did you mention to any of the staff that day you were unhappy with your meal? if you had of done we would of happily replaced it with something else and same with the coffee, Especially if like you say it was so disgusting you couldn't finish your meal!
On our breakfast we use tinned tomatoes which you will find in a lot of places, if requested we can grill fresh tomato for you? We use 2 sausages and 2 bacon which is what most people expect, i find it odd that you say it was too spicy, we add no extra seasoning to our food so guests can season it themselves.

I have noticed that you reviewed other places on the same day as us and you were not particularly satisfied with any of them.
I am sorry we clearly didn't meet your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Caveat: I've only bought coffee here - no idea what the food is like but it looks tasty.

That said, I really like Hartleys. It's such a refreshing change to the big coffee chains. They've made great use of their corner location to allow the natural lights in and that combined with tasteful but high-key decor creates a lovely space in which to enjoy a morning coffee.

The coffee itself was really good. Not has harsh as Starbucks' super dark roast but fuller than Costa. It's different and it stands out, just like the shop. I'm keen to return and try lunch there next time I'm in town.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lauriecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartleysC, Manager at Hartleys, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thankyou for the lovely review!
We are really glad you enjoyed your coffee! It is beyond fairtrade and grown by farmers in their own backyards in Thailand!

We really benefit from our corner location and its lovely to sit outside on a nice sunny day
We hope to see you again soon for some lunch!

Thanks
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Brilliant place to visit/eat/have a coffee.I visited on the first day of the Test Match.Had full English breakfast which was excellent,well-presented,varied, hot and reasonably priced-particularly for the City Centre.It was served in good time depite the fact the place was busy.The coffee was excellent as was the service.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank neil k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartleysC, Manager at Hartleys, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hey, thank you for leaving a lovely review!
We had a lot of lovely customers in for the Test match and we saw the same people return the next morning for breakfast!
Really glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you soon!

Thanks
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hartleys also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Hartleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing