We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent service”
Review of Arunothai

Arunothai
Ranked #25 of 1,456 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$34
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Arunothai means the rising of the sun, it is the new way of dining experience brought to hucknall, in our restaurant you will feel the warm welcoming atmosphere truly making you feel totally relaxed and at homeArunothai proud to present the delicious cuisine, freshly cook from fresh ingredients including the quality meat from the award winning local butcher (Barlows Butcher Main Street Newthorpe) which offer you a top quality food to indulge your dining experience in a warmth and homely atmosphere. Thai cuisine is freshly cooked with fresh herbs and spices making for a more healthy way of dining resulting in a truly good feeling.Arunothai also offers tradition Thai beers (singha on draught) and a wine list, with wine sourced from around the world to accompliment Thai food catering for all tastes.Our team are fully enthusiastic and passionate to bring our Thai culture into your dining experience. Our service and traditional Thai welcome will make you feel homely and close to Thailand’s “Land of Smile”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've eaten here a few times now and are never disappointed. The approach to it is a little odd but don't let that put you off. Once inside it's cosy, welcoming and the service is excellent. I've tried quite a few dishes and never been disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SherbutFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Adjacent to an out-of-town medical centre and alongside a housing estate is perhaps not the most likely location for a decent Thai restaurant, nor is the exterior of the building especially encouraging. Venture inside, however, and you'll find a cosy, well-appointed dining room, in which a friendly maitre d' and his welcoming staff serve reasonably authentic-tasting Thai food.

The talay tord starter was delicious: a generous serving of fresh fish and seafood in a beautifully light and crispy batter, accompanied by a piquant sweet chilli sauce. There was similar praise from the other side of the table for the tord mun kao pod (vegetarian deep-fried sweetcorn cakes).

On to the main course and the beef pad khing was pretty good, although the beef was maybe a little tough and could have benefitted from just a touch more flavour. The pad Thai was generously bejewelled with king prawns and topped with a delicate and lacey egg net.

Main course options for vegetarians were a little limited and this is largely due to the presence of shrimp in most Thai curry pastes. The house special vegan curry, however, didn't disappoint and the accompanying brown rice made for a substantial pairing.

If you have an appetite for a dessert then don’t skip the house ice cream. It’s not an exercise in technical brilliance (too many ice crystals and air pockets) but the flavours are great, especially the Thai whisky. Whilst we’re on the subject of drinks, if you’re a regular visitor to Thailand and feeling homesick, the warm familiar flavour of SamSong rum is there to see you through.

Some Thai restaurants undoubtedly offer greater sophistication and more precise technical execution but in this location and at this price point (£54 for two starters, two mains, a dessert and two drinks), it seems churlish to pick fault.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JDW-TKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2018

Where else would you go for such a welcome, delicious, well presented Thai cuisine in such comfortable surroundings.
If you've never been to the Arunothai I urge you to go and once you have, you'll return.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank trudy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Arunothai is a little hidden gem in Hucknall.
Restaurant inside is really cosy and nice.
Staff really friendly and helpful.
Sunday lunch club was perfect - we had so much good food ! shame there is no prawns in the menu ...
Loved everything ! My friends fancied a dessert but it wasn’t listed as well in the Sunday club menu.
Portions small but luckily you can order more dishes - which is fabulous !
Anyway we shall surely come back to have some more food in future !

Little advice I think you need some more high chairs in the restaurant - one is not enough .... there were around 5/6 baby’s in the restaurant at the time we had our food - and I could feel and see that some people were looking at me and my family in a rude way that we had the only high chair - and it wasn’t them ... this was a bit awkward ... as they children were crying - it’s not my fault you only have one high chair and they would like it as well ...

So I was a bit disappointed and stressed with this situation ... as i felt awkward with my family.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank alfikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

This place is the crowning glory of Hucknall! Staff are very attentive, food is delicious and surroundings although compact, it is lovely. I would recommend the Massaman curry and coconut rice, but hubby loves the jungle curry. They also do takeaway, a little bit more then a "normal" takeaway but they do offer if you collect yourself 15% off...

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank GemmaWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arunothai also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Arunothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing