We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“takes the biscuit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I am not one for complaining, but for this i'll go the whole 9 yards. Breakfast is a gloomy affair of lard-laden bacon drowned in sweaty fat (guaranteed to clog your arteries or your money back) tired hash browns, and dried up baked beans that have seen better days, entertained by a singing waitress who is at least a tone and a half out of pitch. I have milk allergy so the remaining options is to go hungry.

The walls are so thing you can hear all the business going on next door, the music in the bar, or the guests above your head, the hobos in the street and the bl*** doors banging shut at 5 am. Best of all, no one has explained the green stuff in the kettle in my room, though it was changed when I left a great big sign in capitals over it (thank goodness for small miracles). Dinner brought no cheer either. The waitresses, bless them, are overworked between serving the food, taking payment, and from what I hear, also washing dishes in the meanwhile.

I did not expect much from this place, but how much can it cost the owners to have one redeeming grace? to rustle decent breakfast (I've had cheaper at the hilton), paste a smile on the staff's face, or even a decent kettle for a cuppa.

Tired, Dated, and no value for money. I am not afraid of backing up my comments. I haven't left yet. I am in room 212.

Good location if you re on business. And that s about it!

Room Tip: avoid like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englishman3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, Business Development Coordinator at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, we are sorry to hear that your stay was not an enjoyable one. Your comments have been passed onto all departments and we thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Michelle Bonehill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a small, cramped and claustrophobic room. As soon as we arrived in the room we asked for a fan as there was only one side window that let in minimal light and air and there was no air conditioning. We were told there were no fans available despite the temp being approx 20 degrees and the staff telling us the heating had been put on a few days before. Do not expect a good night's sleep with the window open due to the noise from the busy road and general drama going on all hours of the night outside the hotel. Our bed was squashed down one end of the room very close to the radiator and wall making it difficult to get out of the bed without smacking your head on the overhanging plasma screen. We did enquire about a slightly bigger room as my husband is 6ft 2 however we were told we would need to pay an extra £20 per night to upgrade.There was also virtually no water pressure in the shower, just a very slow trickle so if you enjoy a power shower to wake you up in the morning this is not the hotel for you! The only positive comment I can make is the cleanliness of the room. The room was cleaned everyday to a high standard and the housekeeping staff is the hotel's only saving grace.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, Business Development Coordinator at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us; we are sorry to hear that your time with us was not a positive one. All of your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments and we thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Michelle Bonehill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a 2 night stay in this hotel. The location was good and pretty close to the city centre but it was extremely noisy due to being on the main road. The room we stayed in was very stuffy and warm and had no air-con but with the window open, it was difficult to sleep.

The room was a decent size, as was the bathroom and was also very clean. The staff were nice and helpful. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food but there were plenty of places to eat nearby.

I would stay there again but I would request a room at the back of the hotel as it was just too noisy where we were.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, Business Development Coordinator at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us; all of your comments have been passed onto our team here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Michelle Bonehill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Only stay here if you like:
Noisy rooms facing a main road
Creaking corridor floorboards
Paper thin walls so you can hear conversations and TVs from the next room
Sullen receptionists
Poor breakfast with stale croissants

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, Business Development Coordinator at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us; we are sorry you felt your experience was unsatisfactory. We have passed on your comments to all relevant departments.

Kind regards
Michelle Bonehill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Good sized double room, with two chairs, hoorah, plus a computer desk and small coffee table with large TV.. Really comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. All was very clean with plenty of tea and coffee plus hot chocolate. Arrived after dinner so could not sample the food but will do so next time as there was plenty of choice at reasonable prices.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GBOK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, Business Development Coordinator at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here. All of your comments have been passed onto our team here and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Michelle Bonehill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

AMAZING !
Got a late deal last year booked an executive room !.
32" tv bar bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms .
more space than our house
great value -good food a hotel i guess missed when looking at the external photos . but great inside !

Room Tip: upgrade to the executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, Business Development Coordinator at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us; we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Kind regards
Michelle Bonehill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Excellent value, clean comfortable room, if a little small. Staff were very helpful and professional. Breakfast was very good, but a little over priced. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julielazarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminsterhotel, Business Development Coordinator at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Westminster Hotel; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle Bonehill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,567 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
1,243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel

Address: 312 Mansfield Road, Nottingham NG5 2EF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £42 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 mile from Nottingham city centre, The Best Western Westminster Hotel offers both modern and traditional rooms. There is free on-site parking, free Wi-Fi and a free internet booth in reception.Beautifully converted from Victorian homes, each room is unique and features a flat-screen Freeview TV, free toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. The Carrington Bar and Restaurant prides it's self on home cooked food and is regarded as a favourite amongst locals and regular guests. 24 hour room service is available.We are linked with a local gym, swimming pool and golf courses. Health and beauty treatments are available on site at hotel every day, including massages and manicures.Nottingham Rail Station is an 5 minute drive away. Trent FM Arena and Nottingham’s main shopping areas are within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nottingham
Nottingham Best Western
Best Western Westminster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing