We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of kathmandu delight

kathmandu delight
Ranked #422 of 1,434 Restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: Nepalese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Have been a few times now and have always eaten the Nepalese curry. Tonight we had a change and tried the Chinese - actually Indo-Chinese. And this was equally as good. Certainly a restaurant to be recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    4
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited last week on the basis of previous reviews. Had the Kathmandu lamb and the sea bass, which were both...OK. It felt like a bog standard suburban Indian which someone had decided to re-market as Nepalese by adding in a few non-standard ingredients (asparagus! mushrooms!). There was nothing badly wrong with the place, but I guess we're spoilt living in Hyson Green, where Desi Express, Kyber Pass, etc. do far better food at half the price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Kathmandu last Saturday evening. We were surprised to find we were the only diners on arrival. Not to be deterred we were seated and ordered our meal with guidance from the excellent staff.
Too many curry houses serve drab looking stereotypical food that seems to be accepted as the norm. Not the Kathmandu. Quite simply this was the best curry I've eaten in a restaurant. It looked fresh, home cooked and plenty of it. It was like a breath of fresh air. Keep it up. We'll be back soon. By the way, we weren't the only diners by the time we left

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank l5s1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic food and service!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We visited here 14/3/14 after being recommended to it. And I am pleased to say it lives up to all expectations! The food is simply stunning, the service was fantastic and the staff are really pleasant. I would highly recommend it and can't wait to go back again! 5*****

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is a great find. Small friendly, warm and with great food. We had a meal for two - poppadums, mixed starters, two curries, rice and naan. Great value, nicely cooked and tasty. Give it a try - they deserve to do well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelWNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed kathmandu delight also viewed

Stapleford, Nottingham
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
West Bridgford, Nottingham
 
Gunthorpe, Nottingham
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to kathmandu delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing