We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clarence Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #46 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have never been to such a disgraceful hotel! There were holes in the ceiling, damp marks, broken bed springs, holes in the door where someone has punched it. We had two rooms and both were just as bad! Dirty hotel and needed a good clean out!

Only plus side of hotel, close to town centre by bus/taxi.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geary87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    11
    13
    38
See reviews for
3
6
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

i stayed here last night with 2 of my girly mates and from the reviews i was a bit anxious b ut when i got here i instantly relaxed the staff were warm and welcoming and directed me to my room it was large with a double bed and 2 single and honestly the most comfortable beds iv ever slept in :) there was a bar downstairs in there morning we were offered a continental breakfast where fresh toast was made the shower facilities were clean the room was clean the hotel secure really if your looking for somewhere to stay if you going on a night out or stag hen do this is your place near to town only 4 quid in taxi which was rang for us really fantastic thanks graham your a star we will definitely come again :)

Room Tip: stay in room 20 its fab :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Booked on recommendation of a freind. Shame last time they stayed was 3 years before. Floor in fron of shower missing floorboards. Dirty substance in drawers, broken electrical sockets and shower held up by cable ties. Went for my stag weekend lukily others who came still talk to me. Gives best man speech just on state of hotel.

Please do not stay here you'll feel unclean afterwards and wash all items you have taken to hotel if not bin them instead.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Came to join my friends hendo and it happened to be the same weekend as the graduations. This was the only hotel left we could get in party hotels. It is in a bad area, but you get bad areas wherever you go. It's not the best hotel but the bed sheets are clean and breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badlydrawnkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Well having payed £30 per night i never expected much, when i arrived it was in a run down area even the taxi driver said not to leave the hotel at night, I tryed to enter but the door was locked had to ring a bell to get in didnt feel safe at all. The rooms are very basic and old looking not been decorated in awhile! but the bed sheets were clean. Place is more like a hostel than a hotel only good point about my visit was the female on reception who was lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falkirk_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

dirty place dodgy area stay away.filthy catrpet dirty sheets,horrible staff rip off stay at ttavel lodge

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a cheap hotel. Very cheap. It stinks of smoke, it's in fairly poor condition and isn't in the best area. However, the owner is friendly, the bed sheets are clean and the breakfast is pretty good. Ideal for stag dos I'm sure, given that you can't leave it in a much worse condition. Basically, if you're after a nice hotel, pay more.

Room Tip: Some are non-smoking so probably smell less
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robselway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
#32 of 50 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.8 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#33 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.0 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#8 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel Nottingham

Property: The Clarence Hotel Nottingham
Address: 284 Alfreton Road, Nottingham NG7 5LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarence Hotel Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing