We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting worse!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clarence Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #46 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I was expecting worse!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

After reading the trip advisor reviews I was really worried about staying here after booking and not properly reading anything about the hotel. However, I didn't think that the neighbourhood was too unfriendly, the staff were nice enough also. The halls in the hotel did smell of smoke. The room was very basic but bed sheets and towels were clean. There were holes in the walls, the bed dipped in the middle and the hotel was very noisey all night. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anybody but if you do accidentally book it last minute without properly looking into it, don't worry it's bearable for one night!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate_168h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    11
    13
    38
See reviews for
3
6
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

i dont know what people are moaning about great hotel if youve had a skinfull when i pulled back the sheets there was a cracking stain it looked like someone had died and they had just made the bed again apart from that it was fine

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank craigee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Only stayed because we were late for a evening meet up. To advertise itself as a hotel is a misrepresentation. The Clarence is poorly maintained hostel.

Reception was grim and unreceptive. The room smelled of urine; the carpet was sticky and bald; no wardrobe; lovely view over semi-demolished buildings and rubbish; TV not working.

Sheets and towels were clean but did not dare look at the mattress as it was so soft and dipped - I dread to think ...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Where to start we stayed hear as a last resort for a weekend away with the girls due to everywhere else being booked up! It's awful I wouldn't even let my dog sleep hear! The people in reception barley spoke English there was a very strong smell of weed coming out of the reception it didn't even look open the room and everything in it was damp we wouldn't even walk on the floor without shoes. Definitely not worth the price at all intact u should b paid to spend a night there! Overall it's just shocking that somewhere like this can still be open!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I'll keep this simple because I could write pages on how awful this place was. If I had to give it a star rating it wouldn't get a pimple on the point of one.
The first room we were given wasn't finished, the builders stuff was still in it, the shower was in a box and there were no beds!
The room I eventually stayed in did have a tele with free view but the box wasn't connected to an ariel and the tele had a big hole in it.
The four light switches didn't actually switch anything and the sink in the bathroom had a huge crack in it so I couldn't use it.
The beds were ex MOD with plastic covered mattresses and I don't think the carpet had seen a Hoover this side of Christmas.
There were signs up saying what time breakfast would be served but when I asked where I should go for the morning grub the chap on reception told me they'd stopped serving, a month ago!
To be fair the shower was new and worked well.
I'd describe this as a hotel of last resort. Maybe in a few months when the ongoing renovations are finished it might be worth a look but only if everywhere else is full.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Yes its cheap.....if you want drugs or a hooker it will cost you more,but not much! Booked over phone without checking it out as in a hurry for a room.After parking on main road was asked twice if i needed any drugs in 200 yrd walk to hotel.Checked in for about 5 mins then walked out.Room was dirty and very unsafe with punch holes in door.Told them to keep money(card) and left,then rang bank and cancelled my card.Better safe than sore.Say hello to the cricket for me.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Rooms are filthy mould in the bathroom, toilet never been cleaned properly in years, carpets are so dirty you cannot stand on them, found a cricket of all things eating crumbs off the floor, drug use with owners consent in smoke area and in rooms, had to have tv changed over and noticed the wiring is a health hazard and illegal no wonder its hidden above the fake ceiling, full area is full if immigrants cant walk down the street and hear an english accent although they have no problem approaching you for money the area is in radford one of the worst areas in nottingham so be aware of this when booking

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thecontractor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
#32 of 50 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.8 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#33 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.0 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#9 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel Nottingham

Property: The Clarence Hotel Nottingham
Address: 284 Alfreton Road, Nottingham NG7 5LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarence Hotel Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing