We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How to run a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“How to run a great hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I have travelled a fair bit and stayed in a few great hotels. So why on earth am I posting a review about a run-of-the-mill chain hotel in urban Nottingham? Well I think a lot of people in the hotel business could learn from the team here.
Eleven of us descended on the Premier inn for a weekend of Poker at Nearby Dusk til Dawn. From the moment we arrived Corinne on the front desk was smiley and upbeat and took a genuine interest in our plans. Throughout our stay she chatted with us about how we did and what we were up to next.
Another star member of staff was Amy who, despite having her arm in plaster, ensured we all had food, drink and a smile on our faces.
There was a real team spirit throughout the hotel and people genunely seemed to enjoy doing their job.
The rooms are exactly what you would expect in this price range, the food is good quality and the view over the canal from the dining room can be positively serene. The hotel is a £7 taxi ride from Dusk till Dawn, making it ideal for visiting poker players.
No matter if your hotel is part of a budget chain, or if it is the most expensive in the world, if you dont make your guests feel welcome, you are in the wrong business. If you want an example of a team that truly understands this (and poker!), visit the Premier Inn at Nottingham.
Thanks to all for a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us and received the great service our team here are committed to giving all our guests. Your feedback is very much appreciated and our team especially Corinne and Amy will be thrilled that you had a good time. Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    303
    82
    41
    28
See reviews for
201
332
53
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed for one Saturdey night with friends. Great reception staff compaired with other budget hotels. Clean throughout the building. Just a short walk to city centre good bars in hockley more upmarket then some areas. Nice and quite hotel just far enough for a good night out, but away from maddening crowds. Reception staff arrange to save our luggage while us ladies went shopping,which we then collected on way back to train station just across the road.Perfect weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Thanks for your review, at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and it is really important to us that our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. Your review is very much appreciated as your feedback is so important to us in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers needs We are delighted that you and your party enjoyed your time in Nottingham we look forward to welcoming your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Firstly the positives. The room is pretty good for a budget chain. The bed was comfortable (although less so the pillows). There's Freeview TV. The hot food at breakfast was pretty good, although it took a long time for it to arrive once we had ordered - something to bear in mind if you have to get away by a particular time.

Now the negatives. We were staying on a Friday and Saturday nights. This is a city centre hotel. So I should have realised that the quality of our sleep would not be determined by the softness of the duvet or any such thing: it would depend on the other residents in the hotel. And unfortunately the people who were staying on both nights were clearly party animals - stag nights, clubbers, etc. In the middle of the night there would be doors slamming, shouting in the corridors, even vibrations through the concrete floor (audible even with earplugs) caused by - I guess - people jumping up and down in their rooms.

Premier Inn's slogan is a guaranteed good night's sleep. They can do all they want with the beds and the linen but the real issue is the people who choose to stay in their hotels.

It wasn't that cheap, either: about £150 for the two nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0gwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Thanks for your review it is good to hear that you were happy with the comfort and quality of your room. At Premier Inn it matter to us that our guests have a comfortable stay and we are very sorry that your were disturbed during your time with us. Our Good Night Guarantee is in place and if you have not had good stay we will refund your money, on receipt of your booking detail we will investigate fully the disturbance you have noted. Your feedback is very much appreciated it really is important to us that all our guest have a good stay and we are continuing to improve standards and meet our customers needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Once again, another great Premier Inn, staying here on business. This one appears quite newly refurbished and has a pleasant bar/restaurant area by the river. It is in a great location for Nottingham arena (which probably takes it toll on them when something's on!).

Nice stay, enhanced by the friendly staff, staying on business with two other colleagues. Comfortable room, with quite a decent view due to the tall nature of the building.

Breakfast was to the usual great standard, with whatever you want cooked up for you, plus loads of extras from the buffet (fruit, juices, cerials, pastries, etc.).

Central location. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king_of_muffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thanks for your review of our hotel. It is great that our clean hotel and facilities met your expectations and your stay was a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Please be assured your comments regarding our team members will be followed up by the Management Team at our Nottingham City Centre London Road hotel. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Couldn't fault this hotel. Clean, friendly, and stayed on the meal deal which was superb value for money. Our first experience of a Premier Inn and we would have no hesitation in booking again. Very close to the Arena, where were to see Michael Buble, so the room price was not discounted. But even at the full price, it proved great value for money. And the beds . . . just so comfortable and roomy. And the room was not cramped.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Stayed for one night with a friend and had a very good stay. Very large free carpark was excellent but it is also walking distance from the station and the town centre.

We had a twin room which we were told was not one of the refurbished rooms. We would not have been able to tell though as it was large, clean and comfortable so no problems there.

The room was very hot but we opened the window and there was a fan in the room so we were still very comfortable.

I would definately stay again and have no problem reccommending this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank net-olalobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This was our first Premier Inn and we are very impressed!
The location is very good, it's a walking distance to the railway station and city centre, most excellent. The area is quiet, so walking feels safe.
Our room was of a very good size and furniture was nice and comfortable.
The price of course was quite unbeatable.
We dined once at the restaurant and though short-staffed, the service was OK and we liked the food.
We will definitely come back here, if ever in Nottingham and we will certainly try out this chain elsewhere as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
2,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 54 in Nottingham
1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel
Address: Island Site | London Road, Nottingham NG2 4UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nottingham
#2 Business Hotel in Nottingham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself bang on the spot for all the top shows, shops and sports at our Nottingham hotel. Just minutes from Nottingham centre, you'll also have all the city's main business destinations right at hand. If you're here for the high life, Nottingham Arena, Rock City and a huge choice of bars and restaurants are close by. Or if you're getting down to work, you'll be well placed for the BBC, NHS and BioCity. After a busy day, relax and recharge in our fantastic restaurant, and get a great night's sleep in one of our super comfy new generation bedrooms, with an impressive 40" flat screen TV, freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Nottingham Arena (London Rd) Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing