We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding”
Review of Colwick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wedding”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

A huge thank you to the staff from reception through to bar and restaurant staff also the cook lee, kitchen staff who must be on the ball to serve up so many hot meals the lovely lady and son who cleaned our room the gardener working to the last min to make sure the entrance looked tidy and of course ian the secret historian. Anything you need to know about the history of the amazing building ask him.
A perfect weekend and wedding thank you mandy

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quirlys116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selva M, Owner at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear quirly116
It was a immense pleasure for all the team at Colwick Hall to make your big day so special. We are so blessed to be a host for varied functions ad spectacular weddings and each and every one is so different to the other. From us all a big THANK YOU and no doubt see you again. Remember Valentines Day is just round the corner so you can take a look at our social calendar.

Sam and her son send their best regards as does our very own Prof of History, Dr Ian. Our chef Lee is busy launching the new menu in Georgetown.

Kind regards
Selva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    125
    72
    36
    37
See reviews for
126
235
18
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Went to colwick hall for our family chistmas lunch,sat in the georgetown room.The whole day was very good from start to finish,friendly staff good food in a lovely setting.Thank you.Would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selva M, Owner at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear William759

I am so glad you had a wonderful Christmas at Colwick Hall. I have passed your delightful comments to all the team and it was a pleasure to serve you.

We have a host of events on this year so be sure to check out our social calendar on our website - an Abba Tribute night to a horse racing day out!

Btw let us know when you are ready and we can get you booked in for this Christmas too - its never too early! Wish you a very very Happy New Year.

All the best
Selva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We chose to stay at the Hotel as we were attending a friends wedding and had 300 miles to travel. Although the wedding was excellent and the food very good, the room was completely the opposite in so many ways.Where to begin..There was, as the advert says, a shower and bath, however the shower curtain had a dingy yellow stain at the bottom. The "attractive mirror light" may have been more attractive had it worked.The skylight in the bathroom didn't let much light in due to amount of cobwebs covering it.There was a knob missing on the wardrobe door and although there were two robes in the wardrobe which was a nice touch, one had a black mark down the arm and make up on the collar.The bedside lights were on the verge of collapse and it was only the dust that was keeping them together I think. We had an uncomfortable night due to the stifling heat and could find no way to turn the radiator in the bathroom down (the bedroom one didn't come on at all). There was a fan which was handy under the circumstances but had a noise not unlike an F1 fighter jet. Although the advert suggests the room we stayed in can be for a single or couple, there was only one bottle of water and one sachet of chocolate. On returning to the room a few times during the day, there were the same trays of used pots, crockery and the remainders of someones room service on the landing outside the room until early evening.To be fair, the historical side of the Hall takes a back seat when the basic requirements are not met. Cleanliness is paramount to most travellers I would of thought.Will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selva M, Owner at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Su H
I am glad you enjoyed attending the wedding and dining at Colwick Hall. I am very sorry that the bedroom did not meet your expectation. We do pride ourselves on the quality and facilities offered within our uniquely individually designed superior, executive and signature bedrooms. We have addressed the points you raise and would welcome you to visit again to a true taste of the luxury we offer. Many of our bedrooms are second to none and we do indeed get many guests raving about them and staying time and again.

I kindly request that you contact me direct on your next anticipated visit to Nottingham and assure you we will surpass your expectations.

Regards
Selva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

I have to acknowledge some previous reviewers' comments about Colwick Hall being geared up for functions/weddings/parties etc.

Our wedding was held here last weekend, and I cannot fault the staff, the service, the amazing food cooked by Chef Lee. The whole day was perfect. We stayed in Lord Byron. A huge room, perfect for the bridal party to get ready in. Tad on the expensive side for the rooms, but great comfy beds, and a fab bathroom. It's quite warm, but being a listed building aircon was refused. The windows open plenty to let the air in.

I know my husband and I will be regular visitors. It's the perfect wedding venue!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lermer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selva M, Owner at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear lermer100

I am so pleased you had a fantastic wedding at Colwick Hall hotel. Thank you for your wonderful review of the food, facilities and impressive bedrooms.

I have no doubt passed your kind words to CHEF and we eagerly await your return. Please bear us in mind for all your forthcoming celebrations - birthday, anniversary or just a reason to splash out.

From all the team here at Colwick, we wish you a very happy New Year.

See you soon
Selva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My wife and I visited Nottingham and found Colwick Hall on the Web. We checked all types of Hotel, for our stay and decided on this one for its History.
We were not dissapointed
A warm welcome from the staff on arrival and departure. Plenty of free parking, one thing most other hotels didn't have, and lovely grounds.
The room was at the top of the Hotel with only a small window,though it was spacious and well equipped,(Robert Burns) Hey we were only staying for one night.
The breakfast was fantastic! The chef having set it out on the plate with military percision,( as an ex military man) I could not fault it.
We had a small tour around the rooms in the morning which was very nice and imformative.
All in all a very nice stay at a very good price, £49 with breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selva M, Owner at Colwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Wayne L

It was a pleasure to meet you and thank you so much for your fantastic review of Colwick Hall.

I am so happy you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every aspect of your short time with us. We hope to see you again soon and maybe even spend a few more days this time. We will feed you well (Promise!) and there is lots to see in the area, not to mention our very own Abba tribute night on Sat 19th Jan.

Take care
Selva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I have been staying at Colwick Hall for several years when I visit the Nottingham area.
I travel a lot with my job and can quite honestly say it is one of the best places I stay.
The staff are always friendly and courteous, the rooms are large and unique, the food is excellent and the service impeccable.
What more can I say apart from keep it to yourself, I don't want my room to be booked out and have to stay at the Jury Inn!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clivetay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We arrive and all was good, room was fab, but as we explored, the place lost its charm. We asked about menu and could only have a 3 course Christmas meal! We can't eat 3 courses. The bar lacked atmosphere, then party guests began to arrive. At 10:30 the piano was so loud, we turned tv back on and increased the volume, we had an early start and needed sleep, so this was a shame, also rock hard pillows. The car doors were still slamming at 05:30 and broken sleep all night. As we checked out, we was asked to pay again! We had opted to pay the day we arrived and it was not recorded, we stayed in the beethoven room, on the 13/12/12 not the best experience. We felt the place was for events and not really an every day visit to the area.

Room Tip: Check for special events, if you are not going to it, then steer clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.1 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwick Hall Hotel

Property: Colwick Hall Hotel
Address: Colwick Park Colwick Road | Racecourse Road, Nottingham NG2 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Colwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Country House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Colwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colwick Hall Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing